Journey Above The Swiss Alps : A Day in SchilthornsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

Today I want to share another place that we went in Switzerland called Schilthorn; where you get the stunning view of the swiss alps.

Schilthorn is a mountain located in 10,000 ft .We started out again from our bed and breakfast in lauterbrunnen.( I wish I had pictures from the place that we have stayed , the name is called valley hostel, it’s in one of the traditional swiss cottages style.)

We got our tickets to Schilthorn at the tourist information center in the town.

Our journey started off with a short bus ride in the valley.The bus arrived at the village, called Stechelberg. The journey to Schilthorn was with a series of gondola ( cable car) rides. We started off the first gondola ride from Stechelberg , of course.

It was pretty steep and was packed with lots of tourists.I have to say it was a bit scary , going up the steep mountains. I knew that I wanted to get a view of the mountains, so I managed to squeeze in. Just don’t be in the center if you are short, as you probably won’t be able to see anything.

We then arrived to Murren, which is the cutest little village that I have seen. We wish we stayed a night at Murren. From there you can choose to visit the town first or later on your way down. We were very lucky with the weather, clear sky and sunshine.


From the cable car ride from Murren , we arrived to Brig.

Our final stop was at the top of the Schilthorn. It is also called as Piz Gloria . Schilthorn is famous for its movie scene from an old 007 James Bond movie. This photo was the proof I guess.The top deck of the glass building you see in the above photo is a 360 rotating restaurant. We were inside for a while, but didn’t notice anything though.

They have a very nice open deck area where you can admire the beautiful.

Apparently you can also view mountains from France and Germany from here. But it's hard to even know which is which. We also had a stunning view of the famous jungfrau mountain.

It seemed like it snowed on the previous night . The Schilthorn is also surrounded by deep valleys other than the Alps. It's a very dramatic view that you can't get on other mountains. So we decided to walked down near by area.A few area was fenced but most of them didn’t have, so be careful if you are heading there yourself.

There are also other places in Bernese overland that we wanted to go but fellow travelers we met on the cable car told us this is so far the best view compared to other cable car rides that they went. So I am glad that we went to schiltorn.


Listening imagine dragon while looking over these insane views

I take it in but don't look down
Cause I'm on top of the world,
I'm on top of the world,
Waiting on this for a while now

Is it worth visiting Schilthorn?

Visiting mountain peaks or attractions in Switzerland were very expensive, for e.g a return ticket to schiltorn cost around 100 CHF whilst jungfrau ticket cost around 200CHF.So, I highly recommend to research first on the places that you want to go and narrow it down to save the cost. This was my first experience of witnessing such mountain view , so it definitely is worth the money and I didn’t get regret doing it. But if I were visit again Switzerland in the future, I will just go for some cute villages and hike around the trails that are absolutely free and equally beautiful.

Thank you for reading.. I hope you enjoy it ..let me know in the comment of what you think of this place , I really appreciate the up-vote if you like it and resteem with your friends who might enjoy reading this.

Check out my other Switzerland Travel articles here

Sort:  

So great place...nice choice...uniq location..impreessed....thnks by @technicalgurujee

I envy you seemingly you had a nice tour in Switzerland. Great caption of pictures

glad you enjoy them. Thanks for visiting

Nice post

Wow, so pretty there!!

Love the pictures. I will hopefully be in Switzerland very soon. Looking forward to your future posts.

thanks a lot, I am sure you will get to visit there very soon!

Those mountains are so huge!! images.duckduckgo-1.png I wish I could climb them all. Thank you so much for sharing your photos. They make me hope that someday I will be able to go climb a peak in Switzerland! images.duckduckgo-2.png

you surely will have a lot of choices to climb! I hope you make it very soon.

I enjoyed reading your post. There is a lot of good stuff.

The last picture it is so cute and beautiful. I can imagine myself living on that village in the middle of the mountains ❤ it looks amazing 😍 this one is getting a resteem

thank you, although the last picture wasn't personal fav though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31