The local gem safari #7 - Museum Tinguely [English]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel-local8 years ago

Welcome to a new episode of the local gem safari ! In this series you can send me out to places of your choice and I will report back to you what I stumble upon!

This is how it works: At the end of this post you´ll find the perimeter within which you can send me around once every week. Grab the coordinates or the name of the place of your interest from google maps and post it to the comments. You can either specify what you want me to capture at that location Or you simply leave it up to me to decide what I find worth reporting from there.

The proposal with the most upvotes after the first payout will send me to the next destination and will be rewarded with 25% of the earnings of the first resulting post!

And the winning proposal after the last local gem safari came from: @pollux.one !
Congratulations! 🍾 :-)

And so I geared up and set out to where @pollux.one had sent me:

Coordinates: 47.5593217, 7.6117996

So let´s go to the Museum Tinguely in Basel...


The Museum Tinguely is a gift from the F. Hoffmann-La Roche Holding for the citizens of Basel and was opened in 1996. The exhibition highlights the work of the Swiss artist Jean Tinguely. Tinguely became world-renowned mainly through his machinery art.


The area of the museum is directly adjacent to the campus of the F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG. Opened in 2015, the Roche-Tower houses the headquarters of the swiss pharmaceutical giant and is the tallest high-riser of the country with its 178 m. When I had arrived, the top of the tower was still hidden in the morning mist.


The collection of the museum is largely based on donations from Niki de Saint Phalle, the second wife of Tinguely. Niki de Saint Phalle is maybe best known for her Nana sculptures. One of these can be admired in the museum's park.


The Nana is looking towards the Tinguely fountain, a water-spouting, mechanical creature.


The westward face of the building with the main entrance. The building was designed by the swiss architect Mario Botta. He had also designed the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.







The current exhibition highlights Tinguely´s music machines. These machines are actually set in motion at certain time intervals ...


... and then create an acoustic ocean of different sounds and noises. Absolutely fascinating!


I did not enter the exhibition, but after a short conversation with the receptionist, I was kindly allowed to photograph the exhibits of the first hall out of the foyer.



Tinguely has also built several painting machines. Here you see machine No.10!
In the next post you can join me when I put this automat into operation!

So don´t miss out my next post, in which Tinguely´s painting machine No.10 will create an original piece of art exclusively for the Steemit community! :-)

And let me know in the comments where you want me to go next! This is the perimeter that I can cover for you:

15 km max from downtown Basel, Switzerland (47.560696, 7.586765):

  • Go to google maps -> using this link <- and browse the map within a maximum distance of 15 km to Basel, Switzerland.
  • If you find something that catches your interest, right click on the location and select ´What's here?´from the context menu to obtain the latitude and longitude coordinates.
  • Add the coordinates and/or the name of the place to the comments. If you wish you can further specify what exactly you would like me to report from there. I will use my GPS to get there as close as possible.

Don´t forget to also check out the previous posts of the local gem safari:

Please note that the imitation of this format using your own perimeter is HIGHLY APPRECIATED! The goal is to eventually achieve global coverage with the #localgemsafari tag - and I can´t make this alone ;-)


Follow me at @shaka


This is a 100% SP post!


All images were recorded on October 27 by myself with a Canon EOS 7D and a Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 lens and published on Steemit first.


Sort:  

47°28'05.5"N 7°32'14.0"E
I hope you can find a gem in that general area ( forrest ) - I just looked for trees on the map :)

Good luck !

Alright, I´ll check it out :D
Thanks for participating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56