The local gem safari #1 - The Vitra House

in #travel-local8 years ago (edited)


Dear Steemit community! This is the first post of a new series where you can send me out to places of your choice and I will report back to you what I find there!

This is how it works: At the end of this post you find the perimeter within which you can send me around once every week. Grab the coordinates or the name of the place your interested in from google maps and post it to the comments. You can either specify what you want me to capture at this location Or you simply leave it up to me to decide what I find worth reporting from there. The proposal with the most upvotes after the first payout will be my next destination and will be rewarded with 25% of the earnings of the resulting post.

I hope this will be fun for all of us!

Obviously, I have to start this series with a choice of mine: The Vitra House !

Coordinates: 47.602833, 7.617868

Vitra is a famous Swiss furniture manufacturer. The Eames Lounge Chair is maybe one of their most well-known pieces. The Vitra House in Weil am Rhein (Germany) serves as the showroom for the current Vitra Home Collection. The building was designed by Jaques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron and opened in 2010. Aside from the exceptional collection it comprises an inviting cafeteria and a well-assorted museum shop.

While you enjoy your coffee and a piece of cake on the terrace, little family fellows will enjoy their time in the elephant´s enclosure ;-)

I went there today at 8 am to capture some morning light and to have an unhindered view on the architecture. After the opening of the building at 10 am the site gets crowded quickly.

The silvery camper trailer is a little bistro where you can get tasty sandwiches and refreshments during the warm season of the year.





One can easily spend the entire day shooting the outside of the building but still capturing only a fraction of all the interesting angles of that extraordinary architecture.







I hope you enjoyed this first tour with me. I would love to do more of these for you, so please let me know in the comments where you want me to go next!

This is the perimeter that I can cover for you:

15 km max from downtown Basel, Switzerland (47.560696, 7.586765):

  • Go to google maps using this link and browse the map within a maximum distance of 15 km to Basel, Switzerland
  • If you find something that catches your interest, right click on the location and select ´What's here?´from the context menu to obtain the latitude and longitude coordinates.
  • Add the coordinates and/or the name of the place to the comments. If you wish you can further specify what exactly you would like to see from there. I will use my GPS to get there as close as possible.

Depending on how this series evolves I may be able to expand my action radius over time. Let´s see :-)

Follow me at @shaka


All images were recorded by myself on September 12, 2016 with a Canon EOS 7D and a Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 lens.











Sort:  

I don't know why, looks like a nice park or something.

https://www.google.com/maps/place/47°31'43.2"N+7°35'33.0"E/@47.5286756,7.5903213,17z

Hi Jam, thanks a lot for participating! The destination you are proposing is the "Wasserturm Park" in Basel. Would love to go there and capture the scene. Let´s see...

I suggest the freight rail yard!
It's huge but anywhere in there should be good for photos!
You might need special permission for access but you can say you're on assignment for Steemit!
This point is just in the middle, doesn't have to be right there!
Rail Yard

That´s a very interesting one. Might be a challenge to access this area indeed, let´s see. A Steemit press card may help;-)
Thank you for participating @mweich!

I would like you to travel 8.12km to Schloss Birseck
47°29'31.5"N 7°37'42.5"E
47.492088, 7.628471
There is also Apollogrotte near by which may like a visit from a few dinosaurs.
47°29'28.2"N 7°37'40.0"E
47.491166, 7.627772

I love the photos in this post too!!

Great choice, Schloss Birseck is in fact on my list already since quite a while :-)
Glad you like the photos!

Thank you, happy to hear that!

Just gorgeous arhitecture and design a wonder for the eyes @shaka !

Thanks a lot @cynetyc. A special architecture ineed! Glad you enjoyed it :-)

What a funny idea and very cool first location.

Thank you shortcut! Yes, it´s a great location and even worth a weekend trip. So much to discover on the Vitra campus.

May I inquire if this place has an extra room? ... Just kidding ... Looks beautiful and thank you for sharing! :)

A room to rent you mean? I couldn´t think of a better place to move in - at least if I could close it for the public afterwards ;-).
Thank you for your kind feedback!

Looks like a wonderful place to live. Was partially joking or hoping for a yes, haha.
You are most welcome! :)

Wow!
This was featured in one of the tv series here.
They've shown what's inside.
Would want to go!
Will be looking forward for the next one!

Thank you very much! Yes, the inside with the furniture collection is absolutely amazing, too! Unfortunately, they don´t allow taking photos from inside.

@shaka really? Oh that's sad...
I saw some of the show rooms on that tv series but not all of it
anyway, Germany is one of my favorite places in Europe
would love to see new places featured.
Keep posting!

good tags :D

congratulations !

Thank you @felixxx for making me aware of the already exisiting #travel-local tag! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51