The local gem safari #6 - Zoo Basel (Part 1)

in #photography8 years ago

Please note that this is a post with declined payout! If you wish to support my contribution please upvote the german version of this post which I submitted earlier today. I´m very thankful for the appreciation that I got already and wouldn´t like to be rewarded for (almost) the same piece of work twice.

Welcome to a new episode of the local gem safari ! In this series you can send me out to places of your choice and I will report back to you what I stumble upon!

This is how it works: At the end of this post you´ll find the perimeter within which you can send me around once every week. Grab the coordinates or the name of the place of your interest from google maps and post it to the comments. You can either specify what you want me to capture at that location Or you simply leave it up to me to decide what I find worth reporting from there.

The proposal with the most upvotes after the first payout will send me to the next destination and will be rewarded with 25% of the earnings of the first resulting post!

And the winning proposal after the last local gem safari came from: @opheliafu !
Congratulations! 🍾 :-)

And so I geared up and set out to where @opheliafu had sent me:

Coordinates: 47.638073, 7.668553

Let´s go and visit Zoo Basel...



The circuit starts with the so-called Vivarium.





The dorsal fin of the fire fish (Pterois miles) is interspersed with poisonous spikes. The poison contained can trigger extreme pain yet isn´t live threatening for humans.





Everybody knows this fish, the Piranha (Serrasalmus altus)! The South American predator fish fulfills the role of kind of an health police in the Amazonas as it mainly eats sick or dead animals. Piranhas are far less aggressive than often portrayed. Bite injuries usually arise only when catching the popular food fish.




Die peculiarity of the ´Four-eye´ fish (Anableps anableps) are it´s eyes. A septum seperates his eyed in two areas with different lens curvature. This allows the Four-eye to see equally good below and above the water.



The King Penguin (Aptenodytes patagonicus) is one of the Great Penguins and is able to dive for sardines and squid in a depth of over 200 m. On each prowl they can eat up to 20 kg - and this with an average body weight of 15 kg!


The tiger python (Python molurus) weighs up to 90 kg can grow up to 30 years old. This constrictor snake does not need to fear anything other than humans.


The Project Ozeanium plans for a colossal aquarium, which the Zoo Basel wants to realize until 2022/2023. Around 10,000 square meters of habitats for sharks, penguins and deep-sea dwellers will be created. As soon as everything is up and running I will report ... ;-)








Das grosse Affenfreigehege...



...and the true-to-scale model for the progeny of Homo sapiens :-)



The striped pattern of zebras (Equus quagga boehmi) are as individual as human fingerprints. The animals can recognize eachother by these patterns.




The nocturnal hippo (Hippopotamus amphibius), which weighs up to 3 tonnes, predominantly stays in the water during the day. Because of its teeth, which are traded as an ivory substitute, the wild animal population of the hippopotamus is also endangered and has already been eradicated locally.





I hope you enjoyed the first part of this weeks gem safari!

Don´t miss the second part where you can meet this fascinating fellow here:


And let me know in the comments where you want me to go next! This is the perimeter that I can cover for you:

15 km max from downtown Basel, Switzerland (47.560696, 7.586765):

  • Go to google maps -> using this link <- and browse the map within a maximum distance of 15 km to Basel, Switzerland.
  • If you find something that catches your interest, right click on the location and select ´What's here?´from the context menu to obtain the latitude and longitude coordinates.
  • Add the coordinates and/or the name of the place to the comments. If you wish you can further specify what exactly you would like me to report from there. I will use my GPS to get there as close as possible.

Don´t forget to also check out the previous posts of the local gem safari:

Please note that the imitation of this format using your own perimeter is HIGHLY APPRECIATED! The goal is to eventually achieve global coverage with the #localgemsafari tag - and I can´t make this alone ;-)


Follow me at @shaka


This is a declined payout post (see my note at the top)


All images were recorded by myself with a Canon EOS 7D and a Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 lens and published on Steemit first. Factual informations about the animals were taken from the website of Zoo Basel and the respective info panels on the spot.








Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60