I Finally Took the Loss

in #trading7 years ago (edited)

For far too long I've been holding a handful of coins on Bittrex that have been going steadily down. I've heard many traders boast about "never taking a loss" on a trade, and I was jealous. I wanted to be like them.

I was also stupid.

Holding on to a coin you're not particularly interested in because you bought on someone else's advice and expected a quick flip but missed the boat... That's not smart. It's even less smart when you watch the coin go down in value, week after week, month after month. Sure, eventually it might have its day in the sun, but even a 40% bump might not come close to where you originally bought in since it's a percentage of the now lower price.

So last night, I ripped off the bandaid, sold half a dozen coins going nowhere for a total of 0.8 BTC and moved them over to Cryptopia to swing trade a bit on SmartCash. I already have my SmartCash holdings tucked away to earn SmartRewards next month, so this is more about increasing that 0.8 BTC to something more. If I pick up some SMART along the way, bonus. As of this morning, I'm up +0.2 to 1 BTC. :)

I was also trying to keep in mind some principles I recently read in this great article:

The Cryptocurrency Trading Bible Two: The Seven Deadly Sins of Technical Analysis

I've been very skeptical of technical analysis and "chartalism" because it seemed remarkably close to post hoc, ergo propter hoc ( "after this, therefore, because of this"). It seemed like a story we tell ourselves to make sense of often near-random data. But then I joined some Facebook groups, and I watched other traders do really well. I saw how fibonacci trading might actually make sense due to human decision making processes being a part of nature, just like everything else we see around us. I saw how previous resistence often becomes future support.

I started learning.

So last night, I took advice from that article: "It’s only by doing that we learn anything in life." I also realized the truth in this quote: "That’s because trading and life are a journey of self discovery." Most of all, I had a lot of fun. Before going to bed, I set a SmartCash sell order at 0.00001496 which hit nicely along with a buy order of 0.00000753 which came so close! The dump I had expected only ended up coming down to 0.00000811. If felt good to have my instincts validated (though it would have been nice to hit that order!)

It's also cool to see a token I blogged about a few days ago up so much with volume increasing and two new exchanges which will pick it up in the next few days and weeks (HitBTC and MonkeyCoin). If you missed those posts, you can catch up on them here:

When it comes to coins you really believe in, especially when the market corrects and goes down, I'm still an advocate of long term holding. At the same time, when it comes to trading opportunities for increasing holdings, trading out can help us avoid a bigger loss. I'm learning to separate out my investor side from my speculator/trader side. I realize most successful projects need both. I'm also learning it's helpful to have my investments tucked away so I feel emotionless about the funds I decide to trade with. That helps me strategically push through sell or buy walls when I'm not too concerned about the market going one direction or the other.

I used to be a bit frustrated at traders, but later I realized it was because they had a skill and understanding I lacked which enabled them to profit while I watched opportunities pass me by. It obviously doesn't always work out that way, but I eventually decided it's a skill I'd like to learn.

So far, I'm having fun.

As I always say, please don't risk more than you're willing to lose when it comes to the speculative environment of cryptocurrency. If you picked up some SmartCash after I mentioned it last time, congrats, and you're welcome. :) If you still want to get in on the fun but don't have a Cryptopia account yet, here's my referral link: https://www.cryptopia.co.nz/Register?referrer=lukestokes

What do you think about trading vs. investing?


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

I'm holding out on my dump as well...can't shake the feeling it seems like a bad time to unload what I'm waiting on. Hodl'ing until something goes wrong with BTC, I guess...

Lost so much during the recent Altcoin recession! :( Suppose to use it to fund my studies but after 60-70% lost on most of them. I'm back to holding mostly Steemt and Bitcoin. I'll attempt trading again some time

Accepting a loss can be emotional. You have such high hopes for your investment and to watch it slowly disintegrate into basically nothing is heart wrenching. Little hopes glimmer here and there, 'hey, it's coming back up!!!', but it's just a flash in the pan. It's like a digital pet you love and want to see do well, but should really be taken out back behind the barn. I've been tempted to cut my losses on my DGB investment, but I feel like it could still come back to life. Props to you for separating your emotions from reality and biting the bullet. I hope SmartCash does well for you :) I'll have to do some more research myself before I buy in.

It's like a digital pet you love and want to see do well, but should really be taken out back behind the barn.

Hahah! So true. :)

Recently did the same and bit the bullet on a couple coins I had on bittrex in order to buy more of the ones I really liked. Sold STRAT and PIVX bought more NEO. Hate taking an L, but I feel the money has a better opportunity elsewhere.

I'm doing a trading/investing hybrid as well. I still chart and use pullbacks to support levels to add to the long-term positions I'm building. Luckily my years of day trading transitions seamlessly into trading crypto. :-)

Yeah, don't get me talking about STRAT.







Okay, okay, I'll talk about STRAT.

I got in on that one later than many, but still fairly early. I rode it up and sold for a nice profit (I'm not a .NET developer so I was like "meh"). Then I kept hearing SO MUCH about it. People I trust as traders and investors going on and on about how great it will be. I did something I knew was the wrong move. I bought back in for a loss, buying at a higher price than I sold. Full on FOMO move. I watched it crash down since then and it wasn't an insignificant holding amount. So... yeah. I'm a bag holder on this one. I haven't dumped it yet, though I probably should have a long time ago.

Hello @lukestokes

I'm learning to separate out my investor side from my speculator/trader side. I realize most successful projects need both.

The quoted is the real deal. I have learnt something that's worth more than gold. Thanks for this enlightening post.

@eurogee

I'm really glad you benefitted from it. Thanks for reading.

I dumped all my EOS for a loss, will pick up tons later when the ICO is over 😫😂

Ah, man, that's tough. I'm way underwater with EOS but I haven't dumped them. Too emotionally connected, I guess. I think my plan there is to keep buying in the future and just dollar cost average down a bit.

Yeah, I'm in the same boat on EOS, but that's a HODL for me. I still think it has tremendous long-term potential.

I am very sure that most of the people right here are buying following the advice (or example) of others. A principle that I repeat to myself after making mistakes is: Sometimes you win, most of the times you learn! I can bet that in your case, you have learned a lot so you don't make mistakes so often, but we are humans, and we are far from perfection. Always be positive :)

Oh, I make plenty of mistakes. I try to be open about them also. I think much of success comes from positioning yourself in such a way that you can take risks and recover from losses. Over the long term, the calculated risks work to your benefit. Most people are living pay check to pay check and have no buffer to take those beneficial risks so they can never get ahead.

But yeah, thinking about "mistakes" as cheap educational experiences is a much better perspective.

You are so right. Unfortunately right now I am one of those people, but I am confident that in time things are going to change, and I will have the ocasion to invest into cryptocurrencies. I love the thrill of this just thinking about it!

Start with a baby emergency fund of $500-$1000. From there, get a debt snow ball going, paying off your smallest debts first to get a win. After that, 3-6 months of living expenses in liquid savings. After that, you're ready to start saving and investing. That's Dave Ramsey's baby steps, and they work.

Thank you, I really appreciate all your effort!

Oh, how I can relate to this! Kept buying OAX as the price sunk thinking I was wisely lowering my cost basis, but I can never catch up with the sinking price. Ugh. May be time to finally cut my losses and move on (which, of course, will precipitate an historic rebound LOL!)

Check the article I linked to. Trying to catch the falling knife is dangerous business indeed! But yeah, it most like will rebound. Hahah. I saw some stuff in the PIVX world that concerned me so I ended up getting out of that one and not looking back. It's since gone up, for sure, but I like to think the things I ended up buying with it also went up... but that may just be my own story telling. :)

I bought into Smartcash at its lowest and believed in its ideology. So far it’s delightful to see it rise from the ashes. Hope it does well in the future. :)

Yeah, the early pricing, I think, doesn't count much since there wasn't much visibility or market cap. It'll be interesting to see where it goes from here.

Ideally you should never take a loss because eventually there may be a pump some day in the future and if you have sell orders set you will make your Bitcoins back or profit.

But like most rookies I bought POT coin when I first opened a Bittrex account. I bought it at the top and it has gone down, down, down.

Now I realize that when you buy at the bottom, you never lose. It's part of my strategy.

P.S. - I did buy some SMART coin before I saw your post and made my crypto back. Now, it's ALL Profit. Plus I'm holding 4,000 in my SMART Web Wallet.

Nice! It's super fun to get your investment back and have profit left over to play with. I did the same with PIVX and it worked well for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05