TODAY IS NATIONAL ANIMAL CRACKER DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago


Image source

Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today I invite you to celebrate a beloved childhood snack, Animal Crackers!

ANIMAL CRACKERS

It’s Animal Cracker Day!
Another foodie holiday!

A fond memory of my youth,
that’s the truth.

I found animal crackers,
to be a lip smacker,

The little box shaped like a circus car,
was tops, by far.

There were crackers shaped like bears,
would you eat one on a dare?

Did you like the camel,
as your favorite mammal?

The giraffe,
always made me laugh.

Was there one grander,
than the panda?

The elephants,
were tasty and elegant.

I have a strong hunch,
the wasn’t an animal I wouldn’t munch!

I do request,
you share the animal you liked best.

Enjoy a box of animal crackers while watching Shirely Temple sing about them.

Video source

If you wish to make them yourself here is a great video. The actual recipe is the video description on Youtube.

Video source

You might enjoy reading my poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL HAIKU POETRY DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL ORCHID DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL TAKE A WILD GUESS DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GARDENING DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL SCRABBLE DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  
Loading...

I wish I had eaten them as a child or now for that matter. I've never had the pleasure of enjoying them. The way you are describing them in your poetry leads my mouth to water and my taste buds to yearn for something I've never had.

Animal crackers are a fun food. One of the few you could play with and not get trouble. Maybe you could convince your lovely wife, to bake you some. The second video has the recipe in the description on Youtube. Hopefully, they sell animal shaped cookie cutters near you.

That's actually an excellent idea. She baked us some delicious ginger and custard biscuits two days ago. I don't want to push my luck so I'll wait for next week to ask her lol.

You should do a Dtube video of her baking. They sound like a wonderful treat.

Another winner, thoroughly enjoyable.

Thank you for your continued support.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47