TODAY IS NATIONAL ORCHID DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago (edited)

!



Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today I invite you to celebrate the beauty of the orchid!
ORCHIDS

It’s National Orchid Day,
a lovely flower to display!

I received an orchid as a gift,
every time I look at it, I get a lift.

To write this poem, I searched around,
here is some of the information, I found.

In nature orchids grow on trees,
what a splendid sight to see!

Commercially orchids are sold in pots,
just a little water or you’ll get root rot.

Orchid roots like the air,
so, please beware.

If you plan to repot,
give the new container some thought.

Don’t repot with dirt,
for your orchid will be hurt.

Repot in bark and moss,
to prevent orchid loss.

I didn’t realize,
my orchid needs to be fertilized.

You can learn from the leaves,
why your orchid grieves.

Droopy leaves,
water it needs to receive.

Orchid leaves turn brown,
when too much sun shines down.

Whatever problem you discover,
you can help your orchid recover!

For there are cures,
to help your plant endure!


Today’s videos are about caring for your orchids.

Video source

Video source


You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL TAKE A WILD GUESS DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GARDENING DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL SCRABBLE DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GRILLED CHEESE DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL PET DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL NAME YOURSELF DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

Not just a poem today, but a lesson in how to grow orchids as well. Like it.

Thank you. I always though orchids were hard to grow, but the video made it seem very easy. I may try to do it with my plant and post the orchid's progress in a post.

Same here. Always stayed away from having them, because I know they need special conditions to grow in.
Watched a documentary once about some orchids in some kind of a rainforest, and just assumed all of them need a lot of water, but not directly. Through the high perspiration in the air. Figured I don't want to turn my apartment into a rainforest just to please the orchid 😂

Let us know how your orchid is doing, @emergehealthier!

Ok, just checked, and "perspiration" doesnt mean what I thought it means, lol . I meant to say orchids need a very moist air. Sorry, non-native english speaker here.

No worries, I'm against high perspiration in the air also! Humidity is the word you wanted. No need to apologize, your use of the language , as demonstrated through your writing is better than a lot of native English speakers.

Yes! Humidity. That's the word I was looking for. Thank you. (feeling amused by all the perspiration in the air, hahaha)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:10:11
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 31.35/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50