TODAY IS NATIONAL HAIKU POETRY DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago (edited)



image.png
Image source

HAIKU

It’s National Haiku Poetry Day!
Short poems, the Japanese way.

You only write three lines,
and it doesn’t rhyme.

You count the line syllables,
this is critical.

Traditionally you strive,
for the syllables scheme 5-7-5.

Which creates a mental picture,
then here is the kicker,

The traditional structure,
is used to usher,

in a surprise,
that the author supplies.

Haikus are about nature,
so, I’ll write one about a glacier.

Yes, it’s true,
I’ll write a haiku.

My Glacier Haiku

How to write a Haiku.

Video source

The benefits of writing a daily haiku.

[Video source]


You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL ORCHID DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL TAKE A WILD GUESS DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GARDENING DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL SCRABBLE DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GRILLED CHEESE DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL PET DAY!

I fully support @valorforfreedom, who is a witness for the Steem blockchain. He is dedicated to the community and helping others achieve success on Steemit as evidenced by his creation of Steem School. If you want to support him, he would appreciate your vote.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

Sort:  

The one thing I missed the most about steemit was reading your poetry. I just love your style of writing it.
I had no idea there were three sentence poems and that they were so complex. Haiku requires some skill to write correctly. I think I'll keep myself busy with it.

I love researching for my posts, because I also didn't know that a traditionally haiku is just three lines. It might be a great way to introduce poetry to your students.

Thank you for your kind words about my poetry. It means a lot to me.

You're actually right. It's funny and sad how lazy they get sometimes when they have to partake in creative writing. This will be a great way to ease them into writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72