Steemit - a proposed idea of a feature to add... Tipping

in #tipping8 years ago (edited)


So currently we are discussing 24 hours vs 7 days payout and changing it to a single payout period. It is currently 24 hours and then 30 days. The 30 days does not attract much primarily due to the way the curation algorithm works I'd suspect. There is no benefit to the curation algorithm to up voting something after the first payout unless you REALLY like it, and you don't vote much. Since your voting power declines with each vote and regenerates over time people will tend to vote on the 24 hour activity because, they can get rewards. Those rewards are very minimal for most of us, but it still seems to be what happens.

Currently if you want to send someone a TIP you can do so in the form of steem, or steem dollars. It requires you do the following steps...

#1 - click on the menu icon.

#2 - click on wallet

#3 - click on the drop down menu next to your steem dollar or steem power amount

#4 - click on transfer

#5 - Type in the persons handle you want to transfer to.

#6 - Type in how much you wish to transfer

#7 - Type in an optional memo telling them why you transferred it

#8 - Click submit...

#9 - Go through whatever steps you need to get back to where you were reading.

If you REALLY like something you might do this. Yet it doesn't really cater to human nature in terms of doing things on IMPULSE.

I had an idea earlier as I was reading a post by @bacchist for the concept of a TIP button. I've thought about it a bit more and I would like to explain my idea and the reason behind it.


At the bottom of any post add the ability for one or two buttons to appear under the following conditions...

  • Person reading post has steem in their wallet to spend - show Tip Steem button
  • Person reading post has steem dollars in their wallet to spend - show Tip SBD button

If person clicks on it only ask them the AMOUNT and show them how much they have. They type the amount and click SUBMIT.

It could automatically fill out who it was to and put in the memo that it was a TIP for the Post name.

This would allow for impulse tipping, and it would make a very easy and convenient way to reward posts no matter how old they are. We could even do this on posts from today 10 years from now if we really wanted to.

It would reduce NINE steps I outlined to THREE with the added advantage of not taking you off to some other place on the website to do it. Click the button, type in the amount, click submit.

Right now people are using PROMOTE and burning SBD. This will not really do that, but it does provide a cool impulse way we can reward really old posts we like.

I optimized the idea down to only showing those buttons if you actually have steem or sbd to tip with. So if either of those are at zero balance it should not show the buttons.

That's my idea...


Steem On!




Sort:  

I really want that TIP button ASAP. Go tell the big guys about it. Steemians will simply love it.

You are a genius loci @dwinblood

Ned, and Dan usually see the weird crap I post. So if they like it then hopefully it is a bug in their ear. :) Perhaps some of the busy.org people will see it too, as this is more or less just a web/UI thing. So if enough people that are actually making the sites see it and think it is a good idea then I'm sure they'll make it happen.

Tipping would be nice BUT it is a half-measure, and something that is already easily accomplishrd via transfer with use of memo to mention thr reason for the tip ...

No, what we need to be able to do is STEEM to the total payout of any post. @freeplay presented this a few days back, and I added my mostly ignored hot air a short time afterward. It is a something that could theoretically replace PROMOTE ..which is useless imho.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@free2play/steemit-idea-instead-of-promoting-a-post-allow-us-to-directly-increase-a-post-s-reward

https://steemit.com/steemit/@kurtbeil/ability-to-add-our-own-steem-to-post-rewards

I also don't mind sending STEEM directly to a payout. That could be another method. Yet wouldn't that be tied to the PAYOUT period? If not then I am essentially proposing an interface (UI only) method to make it easier for people to send SBD or STEEM to someone only by specifying amount and without losing their place. The KISS principle... Keep It Simple Stupid (though I don't think you are stupid at all).

The funds for unpaid posts are always stored in STEEM until payout (in the reward_fund) so adding STEEM to the post would work fine regardless of payout method. It wouldn't work for payout declined posts so in that case it would have to be blocked/disabled or cause an immediate transfer instead.

Keeping it simple has obvious merit too.

Yep.. if we can add functions that are simple but allow people to engage as a community more, that is a positive.

Did you READ the post?

I kind of covered all of that in detail.

something that is already easily accomplishrd via transfer with use of memo to mention thr reason for the tip

I covered that in DETAIL in the post... it takes 9 steps. Takes you away from what you were reading. Does not exactly cater to IMPULSE. So yes it can be done. My proposal is to make it easier to do on impulse without making a person go to another part of the website (or use the CLI if they are elite).

Now that you mention it ..it is a pain in the ass. 9 steps . from a UX perspective that is about 7 too many. :)

Exactly... that was actually the epiphany moment. I knew we could tip, but I suddenly realized we could likely make it easier to do and it might be used more. Then I thought about hiding the button(s) when your balance to tip with is at zero.

Did you READ the post?

I'm guessing that was rhetorical...

Maybe tipping in the form of sending STEEM to the post in question could be done by simply clicking the upvote button twice and then confirming?

It's a good post and a good idea, one which has been discussed. Upvoted.

But.

Did you really, of all posts, have to pick one that deals with the subject of having sex with children as the one you used as the example in the picture?

Oh, nice. I wasn't being super serious even, but yes, the post has a more appealing image now.

Hahah... I didn't really think it through. I just grabbed the first post at the top of my feed when I grabbed the screenshot.

It makes me wonder how often such things are seen and then taken into exaggeration zone.

Often I would suppose. But as you've pointed out in the past, human beings have an innate need to generalize. (we may still disagree on the specifics)

can we make tip to options:
all followers???;
commenters;
upvotes
options!?
I'm considering to tip my first 100, 200 and so on followers celebration that would be awesome great tool!
and keep the both steem and sbd liquid income!

I didn't take it that far... but that's a cool idea. A way for the author to do the same thing essentially in reverse, and send gifts to followers from your profile, etc. All of these things expand upon the idea of COMMUNITY.

totaly besides we are making an urgent solar investments
I need a fast why to do group paybacks! if it could have more options like percentages and many more I could even take it much further faster!

I love this idea as well!

Great, great, great idea if it's actually possible to implement!

I like the idea, but think that it should be password protected, or perhaps in settings or wallet, allocate the user total amount available per day/week/month for tipping.
With the latter if someone wants to tip more than they have allocated, they can simply change the amount available in settings with a password input.

The solution here would be a "tipping purse." A user would allocate a certain amount to that specific purse - perhaps 20 or 50 STEEM - and they would be able to use that purse for tipping without the need for a password. How much they keep in there is directly under their control and would only require them to be signed in under their posting key in order to tip. Filling that purse would require either the private active or owner key, like any other wallet transaction.

If you don't do a lot of tipping, or if you're active every day, you don't need to keep a lot stored in that purse when you're not using the platform. Top it off when you're going to be active and even transfer the funds back to your main wallet when you know you'll be away for an extended period of time. It can be easily managed.

Yeah that's not a bad idea.

Everything you currently do on steemit is password protected. It could pop up the same interface it currently does when you try to send money. If people have the browser remember the password that could still be an issue, but really that is an issue now... just takes 9 steps instead of 3. :)

is @tippy a thing yet? thought someone was working on a tip bot for the site.

Perhaps they are. Yet that would not be obvious to users without telling them about it. Thus, my proposal to add it to the actual interface like the PROMOTE button, but my method does not need to be used I just mocked up an example quickly to write this post. I wasn't planning on writing this but @bacchist got me thinking, and here we are. I still need to post my Metal Tree post for today and will do that soon. :)

The chance of long term income from old posts is an incredibly powerful motivator.
My first few dozen posts were concepts I've mulled over for decades.
They went largely ignored because I didn't have a following yet.
Now they sit at the bottom of the page, doing nothing.
I'm assuming at some point we'll start doing throw back Thursdays or something, and I'll have a chance to repost, but the idea that they might pop up in someone's search and receive a small tip, even years from now...
That right there is how you encourage thoughtful, deliberate engagement.

Not to suggest that most posts have at all been of the quality mentioned here, but I've written about what I for lack of a better term call "average hindsight rewards".

You can read one of the first full discussions about it using the link below.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@hilarski/steemit-referral-program-and-incentives#@the-ego-is-you/re-hilarski-steemit-referral-program-and-incentives-20161224t190500192z

I agree. I had quite a few posts that got $0.00 in the past that I was particularly proud of and thought had some interesting and deep thoughts in them.

It also gives some further incentive to keep a little of your SBD and STEEM around rather than simply powering it up or sending it to an exchange to spend. You'll want a little in your account so you can tip people.

I think this would give more incentive for professional authors to publish work directly on steemit, rather than just linking to it.

This is yet another positive aspect to the idea I hadn't considered. I bet you are right. We could essentially do the same things Patreon, Kickstarter, Indiegogo, etc do without all the extra hoops.

That's probably a good point.

This would be a great way to make tipping more common and also get round the issue of posts above a certain age not being voteable.

That was my thought. There are a lot of posts I come across that are great, and past voting payout period. Sometimes they are great, but from a person that is not heavily followed. Sometimes they are a post that received $0.00 and looking at that it almost seems criminal that that is the case. :)

Being able to easily TIP WHEN you see these things without having to do a lot of steps to do so seems like a positive idea for the platform.

This is a fantastic idea that I would love to see implemented. It would certainly be of use for me.

If I had the technical expertise, I would be developing a tip coin cryptocurrency and trying to get a payment mechanism integrated into every social media site in existence, so that users could reward other users for quality comments or posts.

Imagine if STEEM were used for that. For tipping on practically every site? Then the demand for it would soar and the price would skyrocket.

Yes, that'd be even cooler. :) Must lay the first stone in that staircase though, so hopefully @ned and @dantheman see this post and are inspired by it if they were not already working on something like this.

Same goes for the guys working on busy.org

Well I seen nothing of it on the road map, so perhaps it is something that has been overlooked. Unsurprising given the amount of projects already underway.

I have resteemed the post, hopefully that will increase the chances of someone seeing it who will be able to act on it. You could also consider raising a discussion about it on Github.

Well they mention UI changes. This would fall in that category. Dan and Ned both tend to see my posts, and I only had this particular idea today with this particular approach to it. So they may still see it. :)

Good point. Hopefully they're already planning something along those lines then..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41