๐Ÿ†๐ŸŒ First Tiny Planet Contest! - Symmetry (4 SBD price money)

in #tinyplanetcontest โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

steemitcontest.png


I'd like to invite you to a new ๐Ÿ“ท contest where I challenge you to create your own #tinyplanet and win some SBD!

What is a tiny planet?

If you've followed me, you will know that I am slightly obsessed with these #tinyplanet photos. So far I have posted 37 of these ๐ŸŒ, including the photo in this post.

Tiny planets are circular shaped panoramic images where the ground ends up in the centre and the edges are normally filled with sky, buildings, etc. This effect creates the illusion of a mini planet.

Creating them looks harder than it is, and to show you this, I created this contest that is also a bit of a learning experience. You can scroll down to find the basic steps how to create your own #tinyplanet in only a few minutes.

Please bear with me, this is the first contest that I am running. Do feel free to give me some feedback. You can also DM me on discord (r00sj3) if you have questions or suggestions.

Theme: Symmetry

For this contest, I have chosen the symmetry theme. Feel free to interpret this theme any way you like.

Suggestions for this theme to get you started

  • Find 2 similar objects to put in your panoramic photo and change the curve so that the photo looks symmetrical. I did that with the 2 small houses and the 2 flower baskets in the top photo
  • Stand in the middle of a bridge or park that has similar views on both sides. Take your 360 panoramic photo from this spot.
  • Focus on a corner of something that has similar edges left and right.
  • Get inside a structure that has many lines, like The Oculus or Eiffel Towerhttp://www.g-rom.be. This works better if you have a special 360 camera, but it is still doable with a panoramic photo.
  • Ignore all this and just be creative ;)

Rules

  • Only use your own work
  • Feel free to use any camera or app that helps you create a #tinyplanet
  • Make sure that your #tinyplanet fits the symmetry theme
  • Create a post showing your submission and use the #tinyplanetcontest tag
  • Share the link to your entry in the comments in this post
  • Deadline is next week: Feb 7, 8 PM CET
  • If there has been a minimum of 5 contestants by the time of the deadline, I will announce the winners on Feb 8

Prices ๐Ÿ†

  • Winner: 2.5 SBD
  • 2nd place: 1 SBD
  • 3rd place: 0.5 SBD

Good luck!!


Extra: How to make your own #tinyplanet (max 5 minutes)

If you don't have a 360 camera (the cam that I use), you can create a tiny planet as follows:

  • Take a panoramic picture. Preferably a full 360 degrees, which makes it easier to stitch the edges together. Try to get the horizon as level as possible.
  • Find & install an app that can create tiny planets, like these free ones:
    Android: Little Planetapp, Planeticalapp or (if available) the Google Camera Apptutorial
    iOS: RollWorldapp (haven't tried this, suggestions welcome)
  • Open the app, select your photo and play around to smoothen the stitches.

If you are handy with photoshop, here are some videos:
Quick tiny planet basics walkthrough
How to create planet effect & add person

More inspiration:
Ben Claremont's Instagram account
#tinyplanet

Good luck and I am looking forward to seeing your creations!!!


steemitbanner.png

Sort: ย 

Awesome! Thank you for participating :)

More tinyplanets~ we'll have our own tiny solar system soon ;)

20180202120034-01.jpeg

https://steemit.com/tinyplanetcontest/@timmm/rapid-bay-sa

this turned out pretty surreal!

Can we do multiple entries, or change our entries? :D

you can totally do multiple entries, but you can only win one price ;) It's all about seeing more #tinyplanets in the feed in the first place ;)

wow! great idea! go for it :)

Are you joining? :)

Nice initiative, resteemed it for you!

Thank you for that! Hope to see you join ;)

Cool...and thanks for the how-to links. I just made my first tiny planet in Photoshop, and it was a lot easier than I expected. Now I just need to think of an idea for the contest. Should be fun!

I'm happy you tried it... it IS easy, but you have to try for yourself to see. I'm curious what you will come up with!

This was my first attempt...using one of my photos of the Hong Kong harbor. Not perfect, but I need some practice before I submit an entry to the contest.

hong kong-tinyplanet-1.jpg

perfectionist much? ;)

I ended up using the same one... with slight modification. Not perfectly symmetrical, but I thought the balance of the two opposing ships related it to the theme.

https://steemit.com/tinyplanetcontest/@jctdesign/tiny-planet-hong-kong

hong kong-tinyplanet-2.jpg

So, perfectionist...no. Procrastinator... yes!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

AWESOME! This is so cool that you are starting a contest for this type of photography. I will be ordering my 360 camera this weekend and look forward to trying to capture my own tiny planet photos.

๐ŸณI dropped some BeyondBits on your post to boost it up so the payout will cover your prize pool.

Thank you so much for supporting me that way. You didn't have to, but it is super welcome :)
Hope you'll get a fast delivery so you can still join!!

I just finished putting together a pole for my camera... Im in :D20180131_203356.jpg

I like to get high also
IMG_9047.jpg

๐Ÿ˜Ž

wouldn't you rather montage it on the bottom? ;)

I don't know what your plans are, but that looks awesome ;) (I hope for the sake of your back that this is just perspective working)

All perspective, the pole is only ~1.7m. It makes a huge difference with the tiny planet shots

oh, that is pretty neat. I think that my stick is 1.1m or so. And that already created a sort of bird's eye view. With 1.7 it will probably look like it was taken from outer space ;)

Such a cool idea for a contest!

Thanks!! Hoping a lot of people will participate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51