Tiny Planet Hong Kong

I’ve seen #tinyplanet images before, but I had never tried to make one from one of my photos. Last week though, I saw that @r00sj3 was hosting a #tinyplanetcontest, so I figured I could give it a shot. She linked to a few “how to” tutorials in her original post, but I ended up following the simple steps shown here to turn one of my shots of Hong Kong harbor into a cloudy, watery, tiny planet with a pretty impressive skyline.

hong kong-tinyplanet-2.jpg

For reference, you can see my original shot of the harbor below.

2013-10-29 08.01.36-PANO.jpg

If you are interested in participating, there is still a little time (the contest ends tomorrow at 8pm CET). See @r00sj3’s post for more info.

Sort:  

Oh wow! I'd love to create this with some of my landscape shots too! I did see this #tinyplanet image in one of the posts that @r00sj3 had shared with me but I didn't know there was a tutorial post as well. I'm going to try creating one of my own today! :)

go for it :)

I did one more just for fun. This is from a cell phone shot of Shanghai at night. It's low res, but I like the way it turned out.

shanghai-tp.jpg

That is a pretty good tutorial that you have used! And it shows!!

Thanks...and the simple step by step tutorial was what I needed. I watched a couple of the youtube videos that made it seem more difficult than it needed to be.

my idea was that people would just go with a standard free app to make it easy for themselves. Photoshop or GIMP felt a bit over the top to me ;) But I am happy that you did it anyway.

Impressive! will try doing the same for some of my pictures. Thank you

Thanks, and do give it a try. It was fun and there is still time to get in on the contest.

nicely done, i will check out the contest thanks for the info :)

Thanks, and definitely check it out. It would be cool to see more entries.

thanks for the promo ;)

Ahhh, great contender for the contest! I like the result :-)

Thanks! You should get in on the contest too. No one has submitted a shot of a tiny planet taken through a dirty train window yet :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62