Giddy about gadgets #1: My 360 camera, the Samsung Gear 360

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I received multiple questions about the camera that I use for my tiny planet pictures. So I decided to show off one of my favourite travel gadgets: the Samsung Gear 360.

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 21.29.41.png
Overview of my tiny planets

I have been intrigued by tiny planet pictures since the moment that I saw the first one. Years ago, you could make them with an app and a nice slightly panoramic picture. The app would just stitch it together and it would look like a bit of a planet. But it wasn't 360 and the edges were not always that nice and clean.

One day I saw a very impressive tiny planet picture that didn't make sense to me, because the photographer was in it. I did some research and figured that he was using a 360 camera with an app. So that was the moment: I have to have one of these things!!

I ordered one and a few days later my camera arrived. I was so excited that I even decided to take a picture of it!

20170504_105438.jpg
Before the unboxing

The 360 camera has 2 sort of fish eye lenses on both sides of the camera so it captures almost a full 360 degrees picture. The blind spot is close to the camera, where the 2 pictures are stitched together. And this is where you hide yourself, your hand, a selfie stick, your tripod or whatever you want to hide.

20170506_133825.jpg
The camera on a mini tripod (not the included one, that one is much smaller)

You put a memory card in the camera and connect your phone to it. There are 2 ways to take a picture. With the camera itself (there is a button on top of it and it takes a picture after 2 seconds) or from the app on your phone.

This gives you the opportunity to not be in the picture yourself. The top picture, I hid behind the rock it was standing on, and I took the picture. I was totally invisible on it, but was close enough to not get the camera stolen ;)

20170521_160601.jpg
The camera at its best

I am mostly using it for the tiny planet pictures. I pick a nice spot, hold the camera high with the selfie stick and snap. I will then later edit it on the app on my phone. But you can also record pretty awesome videos with it, where it looks like you are walking on a very small planet, for instance.

The magic just happens in the app. You can either work live or on stored pictures. Live you can choose (this menu is also available on the camera) picture, video, looping video or timelapse. And editing the picture is the most fun. You can swipe (and zoom) the picture to change the view. It doesn't have to turn into a tiny planet. You can also just stretch the picture into something more normal looking. Or split the front camera from the back. Or take the panorama picture and store it.

Last but not least. Facebook (sorry) recognises this format and turns the original picture into a 360 picture.


Screenshots from the app (sorry for the Dutch language settings)

So yeah, I am pretty addicted to this baby. It's always good for taking a picture that captures everything around, so that you can later take extra (normal) pictures from it. It also generates such funny tiny planets.

SAM_101_0971.jpg
A panoramic picture with myself in it

It is not just great for landscapes. Me and my friends had a lot of fun finding fun ways to have people in the picture too. It can be a very good tool to put yourself in a panoramic picture. But I used it many times for group pictures too. Just experiment where to put the camera. And it helps to use the live view on your app to figure out what works best.


Awesome group selfie examples

The cherry on top would be the option to also view these pictures in VR. But I haven't tried that yet.


I have to admit, I kinda have this camera in my bag 24/7. On my way home, after work, many opportunities come along to snap a quick 360 picture. It only takes 10 seconds: get it out the bag, clean the lenses, turn it on, press "take picture", and stretch the selfie stick in time for the picture.

Would you like to have it too? I just figured out that last year's edition (the one that I am having) is currently pretty cheap on Amazon. Last spring, I paid around $250 for it, now you can buy one on Amazon for $69.89.

In my opinion it doesn't really make a lot of difference with the new camera and it is super cheap right now. If you don't know yet if this is your cup of tea and just want to try, or you just like to have a funny cheap camera in addition, get yourself one.

Sort:  

I have a Samsung and I had no idea this was available, very cool gadget.

As a professional photographer in the past I have been extra snobby about stuff like image sensor capabilities and ISO limitations from professional cameras. Nowadays the technology available in a basic cell phone is really outstanding and it almost eliminates the need for professional photographers but technically professional photographers will always be in demand because their ability to capture an exact idea or execute a specific photographic technique will never change.Robots are just now learning to anticipate the needs of photographers however in a very short time the robots are getting really good at doing it. It's always awesome to discover little gadgets like this that can enhance cell phone photography, thanks for sharing

In your case, you might like to consider the new version instead. The resolution is worse, but the stitching is better.
https://www.androidcentral.com/samsung-gear-360-2017-vs-gear-360-2016

Hey, I remember asking this question just a few hours ago! Thanks for the post about it!

It looks really fun to play with. I just might take your advice and pick one up. Have you ever used Purse? They allow you to buy things from Amazon at a 5% discount immediately, or up to 33% off if you wait for someone to purchase your wishlist for you (which, depending on the discount, can take a couple days). I try to do all my Amazon shopping through there now, because it allows me to contribute to the crypto ecosystem while also saving money!

I didn't know about purse. Do you have to pay in $btc? I'm always a bit hesitant in spending my bitcoin because it might just turn out that you spend that 5% discount extra after a minor pump in the $btc price later that day.

Unfortunately yeah, for now they only take BTC. You can always buy some and replace it as needed. It's not worth a 5% discount, but a 20% discount? That's probably much more worth it.

The panoramic picture with you is GREAT! :)

Thank you, it is an amazing location. Just so much fun to play with this camera ;)

I like the group selfie too :D

At first, people look absolutely uninterested to do something weird for the camera. Until they see the results... then they all post them on their social media ;)

Yes! I might buy the camera just for this! :D

This blog is mentioned in

logo.jpg

your welcome, greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83