Tiny House Episode 21: Mega Update Part 1

in #tinyhouse7 years ago (edited)


This video is part of a series I shot as a mega update. During this part of the building process I was so busy with completing a bunch of different projects that I didn't document everything as well as I should have. We were near being finished and I was eager to move in. One day, I shot a bunch of video to try and catch up on everything.

One particular item I review in the video is the ladder I built for our lounging loft. I would have preferred to make a set of alternating stairs, like I did for the bedroom loft, but I needed access to the floor below where they would be located; this area houses our battery bank which could require maintenance from time to time. I looked around for different pre built ladders but nothing seemed to compliment our décor.

ladder

I ended up building the ladder from scratch and came up with what I think is a rather novel method of attaching it to the wall. The most common solution was to use hooks at the top to allow the ladder to hang on a pipe against the wall but that seemed awkward and not as stable as I would have liked. Instead, I used door hinges on both sides of the ladder to secure it to the wall, which worked great. The ladder is completely rock solid and still removable by popping the hinge pins.

I also cover several new projects in the bathroom. With the shower mostly complete by this point, I review how we set up our taps to conserve water. Additionally, I take a brief look at our LED lighting strips and the fan I upgraded, which ended up sounding like a jet engine. Not every novel idea works out the first or even second try!

bathLeft: The second bathroom fan worked but boy is it loud! Right: I used bathtub taps for the shower. The middle nob turns the water on and off after the temperature has been adjusted.

After that, I head over towards the bedroom loft and take a better look at the alternating stairs, since they were now finished and installed. If you haven't seen my post on the alternating stairs you may want to check it out. They were probably the most challenging, custom-built item for the tiny house. I even made a short video during the construction process.

Next, I briefly discuss our mattress, which I will cover in more detail in the future, as well as the shelving unit from Episode 13, now that it too was complete. The shelving unit was a better fit for our needs than a more traditional dresser because it was lighter and the drawers of a dresser, when pulled out, would have encroached on the queen sized mattress.

shelf

Well, that is about it for this video. Hopefully you enjoyed it! Please feel free to leave a comment and as always any support you wish to give us is highly appreciated.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yeah I like this, A man told me once "You don`t need more space. You need less stuff" Less is more. Life is really simple, But some people insist on making it complicated .

That's a really great quote! Any time people insist we don't have enough room I remind them that in other countries it is pretty normal for people to often live in small spaces like this just because there isn't much room!

That said though i prefer a tiny house on a large piece of land so that you still have lots of space outside the home.

Yeah life is about people and nature" not about things :) Put more plants and trees to your land ..

Looks great, I hope to build one myself someday. Great inspiration.

If you really want to do it don't hope, do it! Make a plan. I had wanted to do the tiny house about 10 years before I actually did. Wish I would have. Now I have a family and it is getting too small!

Wow! That fan is super loud. Great idea with the hinges on the ladder. The place looks good.

Thanks, my brother who does HVAC suggested that I move the fan further down the square duct I built and that would muffle the sound. I still haven't gotten around to it though. I think that and an adjustable dimmer switch would probably work.

excellent video!
image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68225.97
ETH 3275.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66