Alternating Staircase Design Considerations (Video)

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


How materials are assembled is just as important as the materials themselves, when it comes to strength. In this video, I explain the many different design considerations that went into our alternating staircase.

This video is an adjunct to the article Tiny House Episode 18: Alternating Stairs

finishedDifferent angles of the finished product.

Like all the custom projects I did for the tiny house, this was very time consuming but the final product has been well worth the hassle. When space is at such a premium you have to build with dual purposes in mind.

downThe view from the top of the stairs.

Thanks for reading/watching everyone! Please upvote, follow and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome and I would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have about tiny houses.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

awesome multiple functions. elevate!

I imagine while you were building the house you had to stop every now and go - wait! hold on, I need to film this shit!

Glad you did :P

Yeah, it was actually a pain in the ass. Some stuff was never documented properly.

I'm going to do a lot more documenting on the larger house build this summer.

This is really cool. Good use of space. I look forward to seeing more!

I've got plenty more LOL this tiny house wasn't a tiny project.

Curious, did you dado cut your horizontals into the verticals ?

No I didn't. They are secured to the plywood in the middle and I was originally planning on putting some vertical trim strips along the front as well to help hold them but I never got around to it. So far they haven't moved though.

This is the first time I see such a design and it's quite clever. I don't think I would have ever thought of anything like that myself. Will it have a guardrail when it's finished?

No guard rail, I did eventually install a handle on the wall to hold onto.

Just as good.

What is up with my thumbnail pic lol. I uploaded the exact same size I always do to Dtube.

some stuff change right after the update 0.6

I'm looking into it now. Thank you!

I just uploaded a new video and noticed the same thing. Something about the latest update is affecting them.

Yeah I think it is all of them since the update. At first I thought I messed something up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68225.97
ETH 3275.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66