Desolate Thrift Stores Today Until The Last One!! Goal Achieved.

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

I got a late start to my thrifting circuit today, so the first 7 stores were already picked over. Weekends are bad days to go in general since most hobbyists are out perusing given that they're off of work.

Instead of giving up along the way, I kept pushing with the thought that I would not go home empty-handed. After a full day calling hospitals for my Mom yesterday, failure was not an option. I had to make up the slack.

At the 8th store, in the third neighborhood of the day, I finally found the score. It would've been MUCH bigger, but stupid shoppers opened and tampered with far more factory sealed boxes that I bought for no reason.

The employee I know told me they've all been out on the shelves since Monday and were all originally factory sealed! I can't understand how people miss buying this stuff to resell, or even worse, rip boxes apart when they have no intention of buying them.

Here's the kill of the day - factory sealed printer toner!!

This specific set easily sells for $325-$385. Each box was $3.99, so a total of $17.38 for everything. I'll price mine at the lower end of this range to make sure mine move, and since the boxes had some shelf wear on them. They'll be sold within a few weeks for about $240-$260 profit, depending on shipping costs.

FACT: Unlike ink, and despite the manufacuring dates on the box, printer toner doesn't expire.

It's not a huge day, but I followed through on hustling until I had something to go home with.

Here's proof of the prices:image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Thrift on,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

When I didn't have a day job, I was typically too tired from my night business to really get out there, turning me into a "hobbyist". Envying the early birds even more now that I do have a day job. All the missed opportunities that I passed up. Just finished my fourth week at this new job. Not sure how much longer I can last

Just stop the envy and get out there, who cares what other folks are doing.(unless your learning from them heh)

I find stuff after 5pm all the time, if you have the ability to drive around and not have to do all the kid stuff I have to do, you can do flipping without any problem. Use that day job to hold down the finances and build up selling. If I can make some money with 3 kids and only one thrift store that has electronics you can do it!

Definitely do the kid thing every day. Reality is I didn't have the gas to do it. Now that I have this day job I can. Have been seeking opportunitities too. @steemmatt This week at work I got to take some wires, aluminum and copper scraps from the job site im at. Then as i organized some tools I peeked in a drawer and it was filled with circuit breakers. So I asked if they worked or if it was scraps and I was told if I got rid of them that day I could keep them, and that they all work. 25 dual switch and 75 single switch, I'd say at least $500 worth

If you can get free stuff that's even better.

Awesome find mate. That’s an impressive find. I’m surprised that people take that sort of thing to a thrift store.

Thanks for catching my post. Bigger toner lots like these (there were maybe 7 other boxes on top of this I didn't take) are often donations from a business. Per the UPS label on one of the boxes, this was from a nearby office that either went out of business or was simply purging for space purposes (if they got a new machine, etc.). Thrifting is a lot of randomness, but business donations usually offer excellent new merchandise in higher volume than the one-offs I'm used to.

That's inspiring. Keep up the good work.
The tax is 8.9% by my calculation. That seems really high for sales tax. But buying each toner box at $3.99 is a great find.

I think he's in NY City so it's even more than in Buffalo, NY (8.75 where I live)

Wow, Another great find. I love hearing about the things you find out there. You can really do well if you take the time to go out and look for stuff. You will have some worthwhile profit on that find for sure.

Thanks. I'd usually want to go home with a grand slam at the last store after hitting doubles at the previous ones, but I'll take a 1-8 with a home run in the extra inning game today for the win.

Great find, Matt!

Your persistence paid off, and I agree with ya about the weekends. I find myself liking yard sailing as early Saturday has the best chances of a cool find.

Also, I never liked that second hand and thrift stores have to tax. The stuff in there was already taxed once when it was bought new!

THat's a really good score, reading these posts makes me want to get into thrifting myself :)

Another great find!

We must catch up for you to come on The Alternative Lifestyle Show soon. I am sure many of the listeners would love to hear about your 'recycling' process.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thank you again for the recommendation. I'm on board for this, but I'm a little tied up with a family health situation. Once that's cleared up, I'll be able to handle fun opportunities like this. I won't forget and will circle back.

Oooh you guys will have to keep me updated whenever you end up appearing on @pennsif's show! He's a great host and awesome to chat with! It would be fun to hear you share more about your story and business too. :)

I'm starting to think we could do a steem trade thrift thing.
Most of these items get sold in countries like my own at the original price. There's some money to be made here.
Do you find accessories for laptops like their screens, keyboards, batteries etc? That would be right up my alley and I'd totally buy them

I find those types of things very often for PC and Mac. There's so many different makes and models though. The PC batteries are hard to confirm as still having a solid charge without the laptop to test it in though, so I usually leave them.

Its probably some of the risks involved in thrifting. I'm particularly interested in screens and batteries for laptops

You are a greatman , you change your life . Stock this box in your home . I like your post .

Thanks for sharing @steemmatt
Upvote you .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59