Photography Course - Week 2 - Shutter Speeds

in #thesteemengine6 years ago (edited)

This week was almost a disaster and a very sharp learning curve!

I have never worked in Shutter Priority mode before so I assumed (yes I made an ass out of u and me) that it would be really easy. Fast shutter speed for fast moving things, slow shutter speed for still things right?!!

Oh how I wish it had been that easy.

The first hard lesson that I had to learn was that not all memory cards are equal. In fact the memory card I was using was completely the wrong type altogether and would not process the images fast enough for me to be able to work with fast shutter speeds in continuous shooting mode. (Memory cards have a processing speed, who knew?!!)

The images I took during the lesson did not turn out so well. what this has forced me to do however is go home and practice hard on my own without anyone telling me the answers.

Here are some water droplet images I have achieved so far since buying the faster memory card and changing a few of the settings around on my camera...

Don't forget to click the images for the full screen effect...

droplets3 - small.jpg

Nikon D5300 / 1/200s / F4.2 / ISO140

As well as changing my settings, I had to add lots of light, including a flash to freeze the water droplets in the image

g1wuuuz604.jpg

Nikon D5300 / 1/200s / F6 / ISO200

droplets4 - small.jpg

Nikon D5300 / 1/200s / F4.8 / ISO140

In the next post I will go into more details about the technical side of Shutter speeds and when you would need a fast vs slow speed.

I hope you have enjoyed the images!

Thanks for stopping by. Much love, BB xx

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Really nice photos. I rarely mess with the shutter speed, because it seems my camera is way smarter than I. Of course, I am almost always shooting 'fixed' objects. The exception is in the gathering darkness. That is fun for me to mess with.

Thanks for sharing your class with us. I really appreciate it.

I am realising since switching out of auto mode, just how intelligent our cameras are! It is so much harder than I thought, but I am having fun learning which is the main thing. It is also quite cool to finally understand the numbers people put underneath their photos when they post them online xD
Thank you for stopping by and commenting Big T!
BB <3

Thank you for filling my head with ideas. I'm working with slr rather than dslr but I'm hoping I can still capture similar images if I study and practice enough. Wonderful photos and thanks for relaying the info your learning.

Thank you so much! :D I am glad you are finding them useful. You are very brave using an SLR. I would be too scared!
BB <3

Its a beautiful technique, regards

@beautifulbullies wow, loving the droplets frozen in motion ((:
Esp the second pic. I can feel your passion in picking up photography ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much @joeylim, yes I am really enjoying the process of learning new skills! :)
BB <3

Doing great and the course Will be hood for some steemit blog to so two birds with one camera 😂

Oh yes, I love a good multitasking! haha xD

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow... these photos are fantastic!!
I had NO idea memory cards had processing speeds! What on earth!? I thought they were prettymuch the same... I learned a thing today! Haha

Thank you so much squishy! :D
I know right? The new memory card knowledge has completely blown my mind too! haha
BB <3

wow! very interesting lesson, shutter speeds are awesome, love your class.

loved this lesson.
So, what cards are you using?

Thank you @bluefinstudios, I bet you were laughing reading it though weren't you haha xD
I googled the best memory card for my camera and bought that one, just to be on the safe side. The one I have now is a Scandisk Extreme Pro 64GB 95MB/s :) I have no idea what all that stands for... hehe...
BB <3

64GB means it holds 64 Gigabits of information, depending on what resolution you set for the camera... that's a lot of images, 2000? roughly, my guess at the resolution you shoot at.

95MB means up to a speed of 95MegaBytes per second of read speed, and possibly up to 90 of MegaBytes of Write speed. Usually that's good enough for video speeds, and more than enough for bursts of continuous shoot stills.

You are the fountain of Photography knowledge for me! hehe Thank you @bluefinstudios! :D

Waaao how did you do it teach me the exact everythinggg

Thanks @clicked! :D
With a lot of deleted unusable shots haha
I will write a more detailed post about how to achieve these results, but essentially, lots of light, a good fast memory card, A fast shutter speed, continuous shooting mode and lots of patience!
BB <3

fast memory card how does it help ? did you try slow shutter speed ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60932.34
ETH 3380.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50