A Crossroads for The Mesopotamians

in #themesopotamians6 years ago (edited)

I don't think it's a surprise to any of you that I've been missing my enthusiasm for Steem since the debacle that was Hardfork 20. Few of the philosophical issues raised by the hard fork process have been addressed, and instead the top witnesses are spending their time once again returning to the idea of 50% curation rewards, something that I feel exacerbates the primary issues with Steem rather than alleviating them.

The Mesopotamians was founded to use my stake to work on what I then saw, and still see, as the primary flaws in the Steem ecosystem:

  • Vastly unequal stake distribution, particularly the small number of users with psychologically meaningful votes.
  • Lack of user acquisition and retention programs that weren't pay-to-play.
  • Disinterest from the current generation of Steem leadership in encouraging the development of the next generation.

These aren't problems that need giant, system-wide changes to put into practice, and Steem seemed like a welcoming place to put them into practice. The novel rewards system here gave me the opportunity to build something to accomplish those goals, while maybe making a little money at the same time.

I'll refer to an infographic I made for a post that never ended up happening, describing the rewards flow between populations on Steem:

steempops.png

Holders refers to all Steem that isn't used for upvoting: cash, idle accounts, downvoting initiatives. All that Steem still is used to generate rewards, and those rewards go to the two categories of active users.

Miners are the people whose goal is to extract value from the system. They pass their own stake around to each other, take their share of the extra rewards from the inactives, and leak a little bit of value to the participants from inefficiencies in things like vote-buying systems.

Participants are the core players on Steem. They're the people who interact with each other, vote because they like things, post to communicate, and so one. The Mesopotamians were selected to be intense participants, current and future leaders of that community.

I believe that Steem's success comes primarily from growing the number and the collective voting power of those users in blue. That's what this system was designed to enhance. But I'm no longer convinced it can be effective.

There are lots of things that make me feel this way. Blockchain developers have demonstrated that they don't care to consider user experience in their process. When Dlive lost its big delegation, that didn't go to someone that could support users, it went to Oracle-D, whose sole purpose is to pump the Steem price. Andrarchy has been showing signs that Steemit Inc. is desperate for a price pump, and quite a few users have been doing the same. The people whose input I relied on to develop these priorities have largely de-prioritized them in favor of looking for reasons for a higher price. High-stake users are rebuilding the system willy-nilly because they're convinced it's so broken they "might as well just try something" even though they're unconcerned with the problems I outlined above.

I've seen what happens when companies start making decisions in hopes of raising the stock price instead of any deeper strategy, and it's not pretty.

But the key for me at the moment is that the switch to 50% curation rewards has been gaining momentum. This is a change that actively works against the goals above.

50% curation would benefit the profitability of The Mesopotamians quite a bit. We're currently making in the neighborhood of 3% annual return, adjusted for inflation. 50% curation would jump that all the way up to the 15% range.

But percentages aren't everything. The difference between 25 Steem a week and 50 Steem a week isn't really all that significant. The return from this program comes when this generation of users become dolphins, find it a worthwhile way to build the next generation of leadership, and support it with their stake. And so on, recursively, into greater generations and greater user numbers. The Mesopotamians is built to succeed if and only if we can generate a significant stakeholding userbase. It's also built to try to make that happen.

Under 50% curation, our "dolphin machine" is slowed substantially. The time between each generation becomes longer, and since it's an exponential process, that means that at the long time-horizon of the program, it removes large numbers of Mesopotamian graduates from the userbase. Which means less leadership for Steem, and also less financial security for The Mesopotamians. Neither of these are things I think we can afford.

That difference is enough to make me lean towards canceling the project entirely. If it's going to happen, now is clearly the time to do it; I'm in a position to return some of the support we've received from outside sources, the one delegation we're leasing is ending soon, and this is basically the last moment when unwinding things is going to be relatively easy.

It seems to me that I have several options here, and I'm going to lay them out for discussion. Feel free to add new ones too, if you see something I don't.

  1. Maintain things as they are. Lease delegation to grow the program as planned, and basically operate under the assumption that the Steem development process is so broken that it won't be changed to hurt us anytime soon, and hope somehow that either it never does or we make enough progress in that time to be worth something.
  2. Change the development path to turn it into a passive system for me. No more curation posts, no more level-up projects. Just an automatic Steem growth encourager. If I'm not spending much time on it, the returns don't look so bad, but it's much less compelling that way.
  3. Move to a different Graphene-based system with less-toxic leadership, probably Whaleshares. I still like the Graphene magic math, and what I've seen of that community indicates that stakeholders are actively looking to build leadership in the next generation. The best argument against moving to Whaleshares is that they don't really need it. (The second-best is that they're just going to have similar issues later.)
  4. Stop, cash out, and buy myself a vibraphone and a new couch. Part of why this is appealing is that winter is coming, and winter is like that, but honestly being significantly less invested here has a pretty strong appeal.

We're getting to the point where the best argument people can come up with to stay and build things on Steem is that the price might eventually moon, and one, that's not a good thing to base decisions on, and two, I don't think that's very likely anytime soon. The way Steem looks more and more desperate every day is not appealing.

If this program were just me, I'd be ending it tonight, playing around on Whaleshares for a while, and maybe developing something there if at some point I had a good idea and the price became attractive. But it isn't just me, it's made up of a lot of different users, who have their own stake in things, and those users need to have a chance to have their voices heard. So do our supporters. So, the comments to this post, folks. I'd like to hear what you think.

Include your Whaleshares username in the comments either way; I need more people to vote for there.

Sort:  

i’d vote for option 2 and stay away from whaleshares. some others you may know that i look up to are @whatsup, @battleaxe, @crimsonclad, @fyrstikken, @underground that are also mentoring a person such as myself to grow to full fledged dolphin. when money is on hand i invest, i run two radio shows and starting a curation project under one of the above, i personally help 6 planktons with sp to help their RC and i feel as a community sticking together is key. we saw what happens when we do, netcoins. thank you for all you do!!

yours,
eagle spirit

"less toxic leadership" lmfao

thought you might like polymaths reasonings ...

thanks for YOUR SUPPORT! <3

thought you might have something to add to polymath and ease his concerns.

I believe I have something now...

I am not sure how option 2 would work, turning it into passive income may allow you to rest a bit. It seems you have burn out right now.
But from my side I completely agree with number 1. I feel the witnesses are too dysfunctional to change ton50 / 50 for a while yet.

not sure you replied to the right person? this was a question posed by tcpolymath not myself. we allsee things differently.

I've enjoyed much of what you have written, but this seems dramatic and punitive to me.

Voice a strong opinion, but to preemptively quit without even attempting to see if it works... (if it is even implemented at all) Seems unbecoming to who I thought you were.

We'll see, I could argue both sides of this topic.

well said, we could argue a lot of sides of a lot of topics however if you are the company you keep some who are thinking shiny glittery things are "good" prove to me that "A sucker is born every minute" is not just a stale platitude. At some points some level of ethics will be involved and that includes those who rip code and such,,, op/ed...hope everyone has a fabulous Sunday

Like anyone else, I'm a different person when my goals are constantly under attack than when I'm left alone to pursue them. I don't much like this me, either, and I see a lot more of this me in the future if I stay.

thank you that is what i looking for 👆🏽👆🏽👆🏽
whatsup never lets me down.

Oh WOW. This is deep and sad at the same time. The platform that brought us together could potentially break our small and what seemed to be growing community. I completely understand where you are coming from, it's been a tough couple of months, heck, I think toughness is all I have experienced since I started being active. In the recent weeks, especially after the HF20 things have changed for the worst I could so. The Whole RC process and payment for account creation has further fueled the lack of engagement and potentially reduced the number of active users. As a creator it feels at some point like I am making content for myself lol

Maybe things will get better After SMT'S, Maybe they Won't. At this point honestly I think the best thing is for you to follow your gut feeling, it NEVER let's you down. At least for me it doesn't. And like every other person has stated on here, whatever you decided, I will support 100%. That is what makes us a Family, We support each other through the thick and thin. I am still hopeful for Steem, Someday, probably not anytime soon, that is if another platform like Whaleshares doesn't sprout up and offer something better to content creators. It would be a shame to be a pioneer of such great technology only yo lose at the end. Damn.

Whaleshares- @elsiekjay

In the last hour or so I've gotten some reason to believe it's not as discouraging as I thought. At least I'm going to bed on a bit higher note than when I wrote this post.

I unfortunately don't know what to tell you, but reading between the lines, I'm giving you my permission (for what it's worth) to scrap it. Do what makes you happy buddy; we'll all live to tell the tale.

Man, there is one big dark cloud hanging over steemit right now; too many are ready to leave, unhappy with how things are 'progressing', or simply just sick of the BS here. Maybe don't do anything for a week or so and then re-evaluate? But I'm assuming this isn't a knee jerk reaction.

I'm in the process of getting on Whaleshares, but when I do, it'll be the same username fyi :)

Hope you find what you're looking for with this post and its' comments.

Thanks.

Maybe don't do anything for a week or so and then re-evaluate?

That's been every week since the hard fork.

If this is the case you sound like burn out has set in.
I hate to see you go but I agree do what makes you happy.
I would say go passive or cash out and enjoy the winter.

You will be misses but your personal health (less stress) is more important

I understand completely. And you're not the first to feel this way I've noticed, but you are one of the few with an awesome initiative going on.

I'll support whatever it is you decide bud. Enjoy your Saturday for starters, grab a beer, and get the hell off of here.

That's what I'm going to do now :)

My beer is of the "root" variety, but still, I like the plan.

Even better! I said I was getting off of here earlier, but with your suggestion, I'm certainly doing it now :)

I pretty much echo the first paragraph. Do what you gotta do and don’t look back.

I think you may have hit reply to me @dollarsandsense, but I'm sure @tcpolymath will see it :)

i also say 1 or 2. dont care for whaleshares, and while some people are toxic, and some are just annoying ass kissers or users, there are some people who are good honest people. there is also option 5 - start your own system. personally im here not for the profit but for the people.

Community is about all sorts of people, for better or worse, sort of like a marriage or a dysfunctional family. you gotta try to love them for the good parts and ignore the eejit parts. if you can't ignore, then detach. I still find enough bright spots to sunbathe in.

Yeah I don't know what to say, the only foreseeable price pump I see in the future comes from perhaps some final wave capital flight maybe from China or Europe occurring and pumping the price, but that might be met with the final axe being dropped on Tether by the US, so it's risky to bank on that imo. I don't know much about whaleshares, but my gut says it would be best to hold it all in something that isn't changed by crypto fluctations until this all blows over, and then moving to a fairer next-gen crypto social media platform that pops up in the future, if you're having to go that route. I can understand where you're coming from. HF20 was a huge mistake and very anti-user. Them worrying about monetizing now really damaged the growth potential.

You do you man, you've got my support. Also, US equities have been freaking tanking like a rock, hope you still had your puts in.

my gut says it would be best to hold it all in something that isn't changed by crypto fluctations until this all blows over, and then moving to a fairer next-gen crypto social media platform that pops up in the future

Yeah, that's kind of where I'm at economically. But despite those puts expiring on the 19th (bah) the money here is still really only meaningful to my life in the sense of whether I can justify buying myself expensive metallic percussion instruments. (I could get a pantam.) So it ends up being way more about personal goals and whether fighting these assholes is what I want to do with my next months, or I can find some other way out. (Which maybe I have, I'll take the time to think that through some more.)

I wish I had more confidence that a fairer - or really, just more-consensual, for me - crypto social media platform was on the horizon without me having to actually build the thing.

I wish I had more confidence that a fairer - or really, just more-consensual, for me - crypto social media platform was on the horizon without me having to actually build the thing



DING! DING! DIIIIING!!!
I think you just made a great point, I can relate :)
It is a TON of Work! Still! We are still in the deepest darkest days of Crypto,
and many are still wondering if we will Emerge into Daylight or Doom...
Market Placement in Time REVISED.png

Ultimately, the decision must be yours Tim. I can see where you're coming from. Things did seem to be getting a bit better a couple of weeks after HF20, but now we seem to be heading back to how things were as people get back to milking the system.

Having said that, I got a comment on my contest post (the really long one from @eoj) which made me realise just how much projects like yours are keeping user retention up. If these projects drop out I do believe Steemit will see a slow decline in users.

In a way there is potential in the 50% curation if it can encourage people back to voting for curation instead of delegating to bid bots. The consumer base on the internet is bigger than the producer base, so if the consumer base can be enticed onto here it will benefit authors as well. At the moment the only real way to earn with a small account is through posting and those who struggle to provide decent content resort to spam in order to make anything. If they could be rewarded better for being consumers, they would benefit as well as benefiting content producers.

Now I've laid all my thoughts out, I'll just say whatever you choose to do, you have my blessing and respect. I can't thank you enough for all you've done through The Mesopotamians.

Posted using Partiko Android

You could put a decent advertising package behind the idea that you can put $100 here, use it to pay for content, and end up with more than when you started. Could probably even paywall content to people willing to vote on it, since their vote "doesn't cost them anything."

But nobody's interested in doing that because it would mean going out and getting users, and we're supposed to wait around for the next price pump to bring them in droves.

As someone who has been a professional writer for much of my adult life, one way or another, even when I wasn't pursuing it as a career, I feel comfortable in saying this without question:

When someone can pay me a predictable amount that I can count on in a reasonable manner, I write and deliver for them.

It is theoretically possible that you could drop $100 on five articles from decent writers that you found on the steem blockchain and maybe, if you got particularly lucky, turn it around and earn more than $100 in vote value. Maybe. Possibly. In a very narrow slice of possible content.

And that, really, is the problem.

I recognize that as a creator I could probably sink more time into this platform and make a few extra bucks – but I would have to write about cryptocurrency or, better, the steem blockchain itself, it couldn't be critical, and if I really wanted the big bucks I'd have to promise the moon and keep promising it every day.

You know what? I'm not interested in doing that. Very few writers or creators are interested in doing that.

And that's the problem, really. The social network aspect of the steem blockchain is monocultural; it cultivates one social niche, the crypto-cultist. Good luck trying to find and establish another community, another group, another topicality of larger than three or four other people, and none of those people are are going to be whales.

That's a problem. That is a serious problem. Once a creator comes to that conclusion, they recognize that they might as well just post their content someplace that supports the creation of that content, whether it be with a very pleasant editor and reading environment (Medium), or a site under their control where they direct traffic via popular social media platform (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram).

For creators, it's about content. Unfortunately, for the majority of people involved with the steem blockchain, content is a tertiary concern it most.

When someone can pay me a predictable amount that I can count on in a reasonable manner, I write and deliver for them.

What do you write, and can I hire you?

Sorry, the old editor brain kicked in for a minute there. I don't actually have a publication at the moment.

And that's the problem, really. The social network aspect of the steem blockchain is monocultural; it cultivates one social niche,

Yep, and this pretty much kicks those of us who want it to be something else in the balls. Though, if there's anybody in these comments you don't already know, you might want to follow them. They're all people who are way more interesting than talk about crypto. (Or than I am lately. I kind of want to go back to being more interesting than that.)

Loading...

I really like this idea of advertising content. As I said in my comment, those are things that can be implemented on Whaleshares. Especially because you have to share a post to reward it.

If things go smoothly on Whaleshares with some mechanism that can function like the one you just described Steem will have little options if it wants to keep the head position.

I still wonder if that's a path they may need to take.

It's kinda sad to hear you being in this dilemma. Not because I'm expecting more from you or anything, is just that you had such a drive and positivity about the project initially and just how things ended up turning (fork and steemit) has made feel about the project.
I'd say you gotta do what makes you feel good and accomplished. True leaders in this community will find their way to continue building a community and even though they'll miss you, I'm sure they will understand. As you said there are ways financially to keep investing time here in one way or another. However, you gotta follow what you believe in :D. I support your decision, and whatever you end up choosing, I've been very grateful for all the support giving and for believing in all these projects. You're truly an amazing guy

I'd say you gotta do what makes you feel good and accomplished.

Easy things like that. If I could answer that question I imagine my life would be very different.

I don't understand a lot about how this platform runs. But, I do see the trends of the majority of people just using it for a cash out. With the majority looking to cash out and abuse of the system rampant, I honestly don't see it ever looking better in the future. When the root problem is greed and lack of commitment, I don't see any of the other crypto social media platforms springing up doing better either. It's really discouraging to me, since I've invested a lot and really love the communities that I am part of. I guess that's really what is keeping me around. At this point losing the social connections and the big part of my life that is dedicated to Steemit feels like it would be a bigger loss than the money I have invested.

One of the reasons I really like the Graphene economic system is that those people don't actually hurt anybody. You can even think of it as two different versions of Steem that happen to have the same coin. Their cashouts are funded by their stake and by some of the declined stake of the non-voters. Our activity is funded by our stake and some of the declined stake of the non-voters. People fight a lot about the allocation of that declined stake, but nobody's actually entitled to it. The stake that we're entitled to, that we've earned or invested, goes entirely to our community as long as we use it there.

If they cash out and we don't, we eventually grow larger than they do almost no matter what happens.

I'm on Whaleshares - same user name. I really like the atmosphere over there, though there's less structure for downvoting those who are abusing the system. I was lucky to start off as a minnow, but it's sometimes hard to get the attention of the ones with the big votes.
Saying that, the calculated values of WLS has also been sliding, so we're just going to have to wait and see no matter which platform we prefer.

Maybe take the low-effort road until we can see what's likely to happen long term with Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24