Tonight on The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii: What is "Kandi," and Why Do All These People Wear Those Colorful Beads? Also, Open Line for Guests!

in #thedancingdreamers6 years ago (edited)

KAOZthedancingdreamerswdjdamashii04coverphoto.jpg

Last week on The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii, we discussed my Decadence SLC experience as I rang in the new year with thousands of other people at The Great Saltair, and I went into detail on how rave names are a significant ritual within the rave culture. I also discussed at length how I came to the realization that raves are a modern-day decentralized mystery school that is open to everyone.

This week, in preparing for my show, I came to the realization that not everyone knows what kandi is or what it represents. People have asked me in previous episodes of my show what it is, and I keep on forgetting to address that because it gets pushed up in the audience chat so quickly while I'm off following the outline for my show.

So because of that, I've decided that this week I will be talking about what kandi is, and why it's an important part of the rave culture. I'll also go over the more esoteric concepts behind the rave ritual of trading kandi, and how it is at its core an exchange of energy between two people who have made a good connection to each other. I actually made a post about kandi singles that I received at EDM festivals last year, so feel free to check that post out as well for a very brief idea of what I will be talking about tonight!

After talking about kandi for a while, I'm going to open the line for listeners to come onto the air with me and talk about their raving experiences, their kandi kid experiences, and their goals and dreams in life. This is The Dancing Dreamers, you know? :P I already have one guest lined up for tonight, who isn't on Steemit (yet, right? haha), but I also have a second guest who I've invited, and she actually is on Steemit. She is @brandybb, and I guess she's huge on EDM as well, so I'm looking forward to hearing from her later!

I hope to see you guys there tonight!


What is The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii?


Taken from the MSP Waves website:

The Dancing Dreamers with DJ Damashii is the first Steem blockchain-related radio show that focuses solely on the Electronic Dance Music culture and lifestyle.

The goal is to shine a light on the true significance of EDM and really highlight the human face of the EDM scene, to combat this popularized stereotype that we are all just a bunch of irresponsible kids trying to escape from the problems of the “real world” for a few hours.

The show will discuss the deeper spiritual and philosophical themes and ideas that underlie the entire EDM culture and dig deep into how Electronic Dance Music connects us to a time in the distant history of mankind, when we were connected to each other and unified through tribal gatherings, sharing our dreams with each other and working together to make them a reality.

In keeping with the show’s name, The Dancing Dreamers will also feature Steemians who attend EDM festivals and events, and discuss their experiences there, as well as their hopes and dreams.

A wide array of Electronic Dance Music will also be played throughout the show, both “mainstream” tracks and original tracks by musicians who are on the Steem blockchain. If scheduling permits, EDM artists on the blockchain will also be featured on the show, where they will have a chance to talk about their music and share their stories with listeners.

I also plan on talking to people who are organizers of EDM events in their respective communities, and discussing their efforts to keep the scene alive and thriving on the local and underground level.


When and Where Can You Listen In?


MSPlogo.png

My show will take place tonight, at the following times:


4:00-6:00 PM PST
5:00-7:00 PM MST
6:00-8:00 PM CST
7:00-9:00 PM EST
12:00-2:00 AM Thursday UTC
10:00 AM-12:00 PM Thursday ChST
(ChST is Chamorro Standard Time, the time zone used in the Mariana Islands)

You can tune in directly through the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty server on Discord if you are already a member of the @MinnowSupport Project.

If you are not a member of MSP, you can also tune in through the @MSP-Waves website:
http://mspwaves.com/listen

If you would like to tune in and also chat with audience members who are not in MSP, you can do so through Twitch:

Sort:  

what is "kandi'' and ''rave culture''? i want to know about it....

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rodeo670
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tonight-on-the-dancing-dreamers-with-dj-damashii-what-is-kandi-and-why-do-all-these-people-wear-those-colorful-beads-also-open


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I like music and dance ...Your post encourage me..

I agree with you sir. as long as I am a community that has joined in 2016. successful greetings sir
@rodeo670

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Darnit!

Damashii, I keep missing you cos of this 12 hour time-difference between us. Everytime you're about to go on, I'm dragging myself out of bed and rushing to work on a busy subway lol

Can you do recordings and upload those to Dsound and Dtube?

I wanna check it out + my connection is really bad here in China. Honestly I've tried listening to MSP waves and the connection is horrificly glitchy for me. (I think cos a) china has bad internet speeds cos, you know, 1 billion people online at the same time, lol) and b) I'm going through a vpn so that makes streaming even slower and more fucky.

So please, if you can at all be assed to immortalize your stuff a bit more, record it and upload it!

Like I really wanted to watch you play FF and Battlefront But I can't cos it says you're not live streaming it!
Feel my pain and do something about it lol!

Your audience is bigger than the US timezone bruh!! <3

Much love fam, hope you are good! And hope you're enjoying the xbox one you little... 🙃

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 3.71$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95