Steemit Journey - What have I learnt in the past 2 months?

in #teamsingapore6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! One month ago, I posted a little report card of my Steemit journey. Today, I am going to do another update. In addition, I am going to talk about what I have learnt in these 2 months.

First of all, some stock-taking as per last time:

Reputation and Followers

My reputation had grown from 37 to 45. I know that it is going to get exponentially difficult to increase my reputation, so I am happy with the 8 rep growth. Again I have to reiterate that I think there is no shortcut in gaining reputation on this platform. Quality content is the only way to go.

I had 139 followers during my last update and it is 278 now. I have exactly doubled my number of followers! Thanks to all for your support. Can I repeat the same feat and double the numbers again next month? 😁

Posts

For the past month, I made 16 posts. The most popular post was my recent attempt to evaluate the Sentinel Chain ICO. There are new ICOs almost everyday and if you are keen in investing in them, you will need a quick way to filter those bad ones. I hope my post helps to offer a quick evaluation process to assist you with filtering.

Investments

The crypto market has been bad for some time. However, I am optimistic with this market and took the opportunity to invest a little bit more. Just 2 days ago, I bought more STEEM. I hope it is a right decision and will continue to accumulate more when opportunities arise. Fortunately, my investments in STEEM are still in the green despite this extended bear market.

Lessons Learned

Below are some lessons that I have learned and I hope they serve as some pointers for new joiners on Steemit.

  • Focus on delivering quality content and comments.
  • Be patient. Do not be upset or disappointed when the post your spent hours on only get a 5 cents upvote. It takes time to build your profile and reputation on this platform. There are over 700,000 accounts and it is impossible for your content to stand out instantly.
  • Be active and social! This is a piece of advice @deanlogic gave me in my last month's update and it had benefited me a lot. Try to engage your readers. I always make it a point to reply to every comment I receive and selectively upvote good comments. In addition, join your local community like #teamsingapore!
  • Use bots wisely. As you might have noticed, most upvotes on Steemit is done through bots. I am not entirely against it but I advise to use them wisely and do not abuse it.
  • Power up if you can afford it. If you are not in need of the cash immediately, try to convert your rewards into STEEM Power. It helps make your votes more valuable and since people tend to follow others with high reputation or STEEM power, it will help you gain some followers.

That is all for this month's update and I will like to say thanks to fellow Steemians who have given me a lot of support so far. Special shout-outs to @gandalfthewhite, who has been very supportive of my content, @deanlogic, who I truly enjoy interacting with, @doodlebear, who gave me the first piece of advice in my few earliest post. And of course, the folks from #teamsingapore, @jrvacation, @afiqsejuk, @lindale, @seanytan, @quotes-haven, @investopenly and many more to come. Cheers and Steem on!

GENERIC_banner.gif

Sort:  

Thats one of the largest struggles i have it getting steem power

Yea, it is not easy to have the money locked in for that long. But it does bring you a lot of advantages with STEEM Power.

This was a very useful post culgin, thanks

Great advice ;) keep up good work...

You have seen a lot of growth for just 2 months time. I seem to be going at about the same rate myself.

I agree with you on spending your earnings on powering up, that seems the best way to really grow your account. You just gain a lot more influence that way.

Thanks! Read your post, it is never too late to come back in. Wish you all the best!

Congratulations to your 2nd month here on Steemit. May you be active on this platform for many months to come. Upvoted!

Thanks for your constant support!

congrats!! Let's continue to progress on this platform together!
Thank you for the mention :D
I'm not sure but it seems the only way to know that you got tagged, is if you actually read the post? I checked on my 'mentioned' tab but it doesn't seem to work, so i'm not sure if there have been other people that tagged me before that I didn't know about.

Thanks! True that there is no built-in function on Steemit to search for mentions. I noticed that there is this feature on eSteem but it doesn't seem to be working for me.

I just realized that you can get notifications of mentions on busy.org. Not sure if you are using that?

yes! I just searched and tried using Busy!
It certainly does show! This is quite cool!
Is there any other features you use Busy for?

I don't really use it much. I am still more on the steemit site.

Great post. Thanks for linking me to it on my introduceyourself post I appreciate the advice! :)

You are welcome! I have followed you and looking forward to your great content!

Nice :) Thanks for sharing of your advise.

Thanks! You are welcome!

Thank you for these advices you imparted @culgin! <3

Thanks, you are welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50