Missed The Boat on Steemit? Should You Feel Bad About It?

in #steemit6 years ago

The idea behind this blog post came to me because of some replies I had gotten on some of my comments. Yesterday, someone told me that I had missed the boat on Steemit because I had created my account in July 2016 without making any use of it back then.



Another guy told me that I could have been a whale if I had just not forgotten about my account. I personally think that you will not succeed with anything if you stay too hung up on your regrets.


The Conversation in Question:


Link to the conversation


What if?

Sure, in my case there would be a pretty good chance that I could have been a whale by now. If I had started using Steemit back when it first launched, I would have gotten a very early start with all perks of being an early adopter. Back then, it was just not something that I was interested in.


No Regrets

I didn't have the drive to be active on Steemit and write multiple blog posts or comments on a weekly basis. So in a way I'm glad that I didn't start before actually having an interest in it. It's not all about the money for me, it's important to do what you find interesting. I don't regret not starting sooner, I feel that I'm in a much better position now than before to write content of at least decent quality.


Focus on the Future

I prefer to look towards the future instead of thinking about what could have happened if I started sooner. If there's one piece of advice that I'd share with every one of you it's; don't get hung up on regretting not having started earlier with Steemit or other things in life. You will not gain anything by living a life full of regret and it'll keep you from progressing further in life.


Has something similar happened to you, or not? I'd love to hear about it in the comments!


Image Sources

I've created the first image myself using Gimp.

The Steemit logo is from Wikipedia released under Public Domain.

Sort:  

hey I just started in august and am no whale although I am a bit ahead of you...
its good to not have regrets, keep pointed forward. will accept you on smartsteem by the way...
read up on https://steemit.com/smartsteem/@felander/smartsteem-preventing-abuse-and-generating-profit-for-you if you have not started selling your voting power yet

Thanks for whitelisting me, I'll check into selling voting power really soon. I am going to buy some more SP soon first. How are the ratings given? Is there anything I should do to improve my blog?

you do not need to buy more SP to start selling the VP. You would just lose what you would make in the mean time. and the ratings are given by us and we are trying to be as neutral as possbile
and I would say that having 2 or 3 is not really a big difference but we have to make a decision somehow

It's more important that you focus on doing well now - what's behind you is no longer the issue. I was here for a few months only automatically voting for posts because my mom @fitinfun is here and begged me and then helped me set things up.

Now I've been active and posting for a few weeks. I'm trying to be consistent and meet other people and find out how things go. Now I like it too and I'm trying to get my friends to come.

Good luck with your blog today and everyday from now on.

Very true, it's not worth wasting part of your life, living full of regrets.

Pretty interesting to hear that you got here because of your mom, you must be pretty happy by now that she's shown you this website. You've been doing pretty well with writing etc, I see.

Thanks for the comment!

I mined BTC back in the day, thought ethereum would flop, should have mined ether and LTC aswell...😅

Signed up August 2016 - started up July 2017, much like you @daan don't believe in the "what if's", took awhile to get interested in learning and motivating myself into using this new platform.

Yeah for me it also tends to take a while before I get really interested in something. I hear some people saying that you have to post every day to keep your followers, I think that's not needed at all.

Best to do everything at your own pace and not force yourself to write something.
Thanks for the comment!

I could have bought maybe 20 Bitcoin when I first heard about it, yet I didn't think to invest in it. And now I could have had my student loans paid off, pay my girlfriend's student loans, and plenty left over.

Same here, I remember buying Bitcoin for 100 dollars. Didn't buy a whole lot though. But yeah you just can't predict stuff like that...

It is always easy to say things on hindsight. Do not be too affected and like you said, focus on the future. History cannot be changed but the future can be created!

Congratulations @daan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72