St Nicholas of Myrna Church Stained glass Windows

in #teamnz6 years ago

St Nicholas of Myrna Church Stained glass Windows

I have done a couple of previous posts about St Nicholas of Myrna Church, which if you missed them you can find links to them below, this post is again inside the Church.

Outside of the Church
Inside the Church

St Nicholas Church-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 33mm F5 1/60 ISO 4000
Click here to view larger


A little bit about the Church of St Nicholas of Myrna, it is located on 88th Street near Lexington Ave, and according to a lady who was passing by it is one of the oldest churches in NYC, I couldn't find to much about it online, but I did find out that it was constructed in 1886 by German immigrants and is a gothic style.

St Nicholas Church-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F5 1/60 ISO 2500
Click here to view larger


Here is a shot looking along the side of the church with the stained glass windows there are some nice color and light coming into the church.

You can see the ornate woodwork on both the pews an the upper layer surrounds, and also the beautiful tall Stained glass windows, but something about the windows seemed out of place in a church as old as this one is to me.
I wonder if you see it.

St Nicholas Church-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 49mm F5 1/60 ISO 3200
Click here to view larger



And closer in on a couple of the windows, what really surprised me about these Stained glass windows is that to me they look more modern and abstract than what I thought would be the more classical style in an old church like this.

St Nicholas Church.jpg

Sony A7iii 70mm F5 1/60 ISO 1600
Click here to view larger


And another pair of the windows, even though they are not what I expected they are still so beautiful.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.727994 lat -73.982571 long St Nicholas Church NYC d3scr

Sort:  

They do look rather abstract for an old church. I simply love stained glass windows in churches!

@violetmed I to loved stained glass windows in Churches these windows were sure unique compared to mostI have seenin old churches

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=st-nicholas-of-myrna-church-stained-glass-windows


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a beautiful edifice. The colors on the windows add to its sophistication.

Great shots JJ! I love stained glass! Such a delicate work! The majority of the Churches that I saw before with stained glass windows were with religious motive, but the windows in your post are totally different! They are very nice , also I like the combination of colors!

@maruharraca Thanks I to loved stained glass, these windows really surprised me with the style never seen like this either

Thank you @tattoodjay for joining Photochain's photography contest. We appreciate your support and will reward you for each entry.

This contribution earned you 10 XP and 40 photons.
Don't forget to comment on other #photochaincommunity contributions to increase your XP multiplier and earn even more!

Daily statsOverall stats
Daily contributions: 1/∞Current level: 4
Daily XP: 10/∞Total XP: 520
Daily Photons: 40Total Photons: 1360
Multiplier: 1XP required to level up: 590
Comments: 0/5Total contributions: 52

To receive the reward contact @runicar on Discord with your Ethereum wallet.
More info can be found at the contest announcement post.
Read more about Photochain on this post.
Visit photochain.io.
Try out the demo.

Bright colorful windows are beautiful in this church. Great contrast to dark wood work. I agree that the modern designs are interesting.

@steven-patrick Arent those design so unique thanks for visiting

Beautiful vitrails!

howdy sir tattoodjay! so you just walk around NYC and take photos of interesting sites? That method right there is an interesting post if that's what you do.
I love these magnificent old churches and cathedrals and this is a beautiful, enriching experience..thank you sir!

@janton These days walking is my form of exercise so I often go into the city early and head somewhere for a walk for an hour seeing what I can find

yes sir I can imagine that it would be fascinating to do so and probably produces alot of post material?
what kind of career are you involved in? Because for working a regular job you seem to be quite a prolific poster!

@janton part from work and photo walks I don't go out much so most evenings I am editing photos and preparing posts, I try and do two posts a day for the most part :)

As for work I work in Management of Telecommunications and IT networks

oh thank you for getting back to me sir..well the management sounds like a stressful job and I don't know how you have time to do 2 posts a day while working full time.
maybe you're not married?

@janton LOLNO I am married, but I also spend about 3 to 4 Hours a day on a train, so I have time to prepare posts while commuting :)

oh wow..good day JJ! man..I would think the commute would be dreadful but if you are able to use that as your steemit time then it does indeed work out perfectly for you!
It's the ultimate in efficiency and time use. great job sir JJ!
I mean great job JJ!

@janton I dont mind the commute at all, the trains are fairly comfortable and I can do Emails, STeemit and snooze all depending on my mood so it goes fast

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65