Fifth Ave Barber Shop

in #teamnz6 years ago

Fifth Ave Barber Shop

Barber shop-2.tif

Sony A6500 72mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 250
Click here to view larger



I am not sure why but I love when I see these old style Baber pole style lights outside a Barbershop, This one really caught my eye with the reflections on the silver work on the sign, and I wanted to highlight the colors of the pole so I made the rest B&W.

The funny thing was as I was moving my head away from the Camera I noticed movement in the corner of my eye.

Barber shop.tif

Sony A6500 61mm F5 1/60 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger



Now I dont take a lot of photos of people as I am always worried they may not want there photo taken, but this guy clearly didn't mind beingin aphoto in the least so I snapped this shot.

I go to this style of places when I need my hair chopped si I do plan for my next cut to head to this place for it, he looks such a character.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.749315 lat -73.984516 long Fifth Ave Barber Shop NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 289 (10/22/18)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Super nice! The guy looks very happy he is in the photo. :-)

yeah he looked a real character one day I will pop in and get a haircut from him

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on .

Why join discord room?
Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=fifth-ave-barber-shop


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Both my parents were barbers, and I was one for six years. You hear so many stories and jokes and experiences in a barber shop lol.

I bet just from the times I go to get my cut I hear interesting stories from others in there

Cool shot! What street? Is it in Manhattan? I like the old style lights also.😊

haha! great shot JJ! is that the barber?

yes he is one of the Barbers and will be who I try next time I need a haircut as they open early this was at 7Am

These are awesome! I love a good barbershop, especially the classic ones. Normally I don't like selective color shots, but it looks awesome here with the barber stripes in the first shot. The shiny silver really looks amazing.
Do you know what the origin of the barber pole is? Traditionally the colors are just red and white, and it comes from the days when they would take the used towels and bandages that had blood on them from the customers they shaved, and would hang them on the pole outside their business .. this let everyone know that it was a barbershop and was how they advertised. A bit grim but barber poles make sense to me now!

Thanks and I had forgotten that was the origin of the Poles thanks for sharing

my pleasure! :)

I know what you are saying @tattoodjay about the old barbers shop style with the pole etc. It gives people of our vintage a sense of nostalgia. Have an awesome week my friend

yes that sums it up so well :)

you to have a great week

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52