Chinese New Year Holiday | A Trip To The National Planetarium

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

combine.jpg

It is a public holiday here in Malaysia because we are celebrating the Lunar Chinese New Year! One of the perks living in a multi-cultural country is that we got to experience all kinds of celebration celebrated by different races and religions in this country. And of course, we have lots of public holidays because of that too. My husband's employer decided to give the staff a week of holiday (yes, it's a big organization and very generous!) starting on Thursday until Wednesday the following week. And my daughter's school is closed for a week too to allow everyone to travel to their respective hometowns to have a great time with their family on this auspicious celebration.

I have been waiting for this long holiday because finally, I could take a "real break" and have a good time after being sick for so long. I was not able to celebrate Christmas because I had to spend my Christmas day at the Emergency Room after I had a horrible biliary colic. You can read about it here: I Spent My Christmas Day At The Hospital. Three weeks after Christmas, my husband rushed me to the Emergency Room again for another extremely painful attack and underwent a surgery a couple of days later.

Since November 2017, in total, I had been hospitalized 4 times at 3 different hospitals, 3 trips to the Emergency Room, underwent 5 Endoscopic Retrograde Cholangio-Pancreatography (ERCP) procedures, and finally a cholecystectomy on 16 January 2018, which was exactly a month ago.

It was extremely challenging mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually and financially.

So that is why I am looking forward to this Chinese New Year holiday because it truly is the first time in months I am able to enjoy myself without worrying about my sickness.

So what did we do on the first day of the holiday? We brought the kids to visit the National Planetarium. Sounds dull? Well if you have young children you have to constantly look for kid-friendly places to bring them for some family fun.

And boy, what fun we had!

The first thing we did once we arrived was to buy tickets to watch the educational show. The show was about 30 minutes long and we learned some interesting facts about the solar system. Like for example, do you know that when sunlight hits the moon's surface, the temperature goes up to 127 degrees Celsius and when the sun goes down, the temperature dips to minus 173 C? Extreme!

After the show, we went to explore the exhibition gallery including the anti-gravity room. It was a lot of fun in this room until I forgot to take any picture...duh!

So here are some photos taken at the Planetarium.

My daughter with Yuri Gagarin's bust
28125149_10155992106614070_538643976_o.jpg

We spent a long time in this space lab.
28170026_10155992105879070_278654927_o.jpg

Trying the space toilet!
WhatsApp Image 2018-02-16 at 1.29.56 PM.jpeg

Playing with some educational apps
WhatsApp Image 2018-02-16 at 1.29.58 PM.jpeg

The kids in the replica of Soyuz's capsule. They got to pretend they are in the rocket. Spent a long time here too.
WhatsApp Image 2018-02-16 at 1.29.59 PM.jpeg

And that's it about our trip to the planetarium. It was very tiring and although I look well on the outside I still can't over exert myself after the surgery. And that's why we decided not to plan any trip today but stay at home to rest. However, we want to visit the National Muzium tomorrow and of course to visit the Cartoon and Us Exhibition. Stay tuned for my next post!


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this post? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


Gong Xi Fa Cai | Wishing All Chinese Steemians A Happy Chinese New Year

Valentine's Day | On Falling In Love

Our Family Attended Team Malaysia MyJuniors First Event

When The Boy Smiles

Just A Short Post


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

Sort:  

its good to see gaming shops with physical space-inspired structures.
Kids enjoyment and +learning.

Yes they really enjoyed themselves. Thank you for dropping by and commenting @muhammadatif1992

You're always welcome. thats what we are here for, to support. :)

Spending together with family is the most precious thing on earth. I can really tell that you've enjoyed exploring together :) Truly, time can heal most anything.

You are absolutely right. Memories created with loved ones are precious indeed. Thank you.

Definitely a fun activities while expose kids to astronauts life in the space. . How much does it cost for entrance fee?

Entrance to the gallery is free of charge but they charge RM6/adult for the show, I can't remember how much for kids though because hubby was the one paying XD. But it's not expensive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61378.39
ETH 3380.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48