Our Family Attended Team Malaysia MyJuniors First Event

in #myjuniors6 years ago (edited)

28034132_10155981639484070_291969212_o.jpg

Team Malaysia achieved another milestone when it held its first ever Team Malaysia MyJuniors Event and Chinese New Year Decorations Making Workshop on Saturday, 10 February 2018. I am excited about this event right from the beginning when @elizacheng announced it recently. I knew I got to register my kids and get them involved and make new friends. I wanted them to get to know more about my so-called part-time job (blogging on Steemit), and finally understand that my time in front of the computer is not because I wanted to play games LOL! And now they can be a part of it too by participating in the Myjuniors activities.

My daughter was having a mixed feeling about participating but I encouraged her by telling her that there are other children just like her at the event and she can get to know them and play together. She took some time to warm up but halfway through the event she did enjoy herself and was having fun doing the craft using angpao (Chinese red packet). My son was more enthusiastic and enjoying himself right from the beginning.

The event was scheduled at 10am and the venue was not very far from my home. However, we almost didn't make it on time because we underestimated the traffic. The highway was more congested than usual due to a lot of weekend shoppers going to a nearby mall, probably shopping for their Chinese New Year stuff. Five minutes before the event started we were still stuck somewhere on the road and I received a text message from @zord189 asking our whereabout, and @bitrocker2020 also gave my husband @voltranrex a call.

We finally reached the venue at 10.05am and proceeded to register ourselves. While waiting for the rest of the participants the kids were given some sticker tattoos for fun. I even had one on my right hand. I always wanted a tattoo but a cartoon sticker tattoo will do for now.

Below photo: my son (orange color Tshirt) patiently waited to get his tattoo fixed.

1.jpg

After everyone arrived the kids were called to sit in a circle and they took the turn to introduce themselves. Next, they were divided into four groups and each group was led by a facilitator.

2.jpg

My kids were assigned to a group led by the awesome @joannewong . There were 2 other very adorable little girls in our group and apparently they are @kokuryo daughters.

3.jpg

Super mom and the leader of Myjuniors initiative @elizacheng was busy going from one group to another monitoring the progress of each group.

4.jpg

The angpaos and other craft items were nicely arranged on a table.

5.jpg

6.jpg

My husband @voltranrex was busy assisting our boy with his craft making. This truly was a great bonding time between a father and his son!

7.jpg

And my daughter was having a great time folding and assembling her angpao lantern.

8.jpg

And finally voila, they did it! Two proud happy faces showing off their angpao lanterns.

9.jpg

10.jpg

They took the opportunity to take a photo with their facilitator. Despite being her first time facilitating a children's activity, @joannewong did a great job with the kids...woohooo!

11.jpg

After the fun workshop, the Steemians took the opportunity to mingle and take photos together. Our family selfie with @zord189 . He was one of the facilitators and he is a natural. The kiddos loved him!

13.jpg

@positivesteem was in town with his family and he came to support the event. It was an honor to meet one of the earliest Steemians from Team Malaysia. Both of us are originally from Kuching but we never met prior to this event. One main reason was I was very sick (and hospitalized twice) towards the end of the year and couldn't go out much. I am so glad we finally met each other.

14.jpg

The group photo taken with everyone who came on that day. Photo credit to @aaronleang

U5dtTz4zYWRZeER645ZeEjz5AqYP2q9_1680x8400.jpg

Overall we had a very enjoyable time at the event, especially the children. I had a great time chatting with @ranjitavelan. Ranjita came with her son, Guru. Ranjita and I are in the #teammalaysiababes Whatsapp group but this was the first time we met each other face to face. We talked a lot about Steemit and also our arts. Ranjita is an artisan/ jewelry maker. Do check out her profile and give her a follow. We even discussed the things we can do to support MyJuniors initiative. Both of us agree that this is a great initiative for our children to get to know each other and learn to become content creators on Steemit.

I want to congratulate the Myjuniors committee members - @elizacheng @bitrocker2020 @littlenewthings @zord189 @aaronleang @joannewong @davidke20 @wendygoh @orangila @karinzdailygrind , for a job well done. Thank you for bringing joy to the children! My family and I are looking forward to the next Myjuniors event.


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this event? Please leave your comments below.

Myjuniors logo.png

My previous posts:


When The Boy Smiles

Just A Short Post

How To Draw A Kawaii Character - Simple Tutorial For Kids

Please Don't Leave Me - The Lost Boys Painting #5

Aloof And Cold As Ice - The Lost Boys Painting #4


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

Sort:  

Nice....u would like the next myjuniors event then...

It's a good initiative.

Felt so festive kan on that day? I agree with you, it's always good to finally put a face to the name. Hopefully, we can meet each other too one day, @coloringiship 😃

Yes it was a great event. Ya, hope to meet you too@redtomato . Are you coming to TeamMalaysiaBabes Potluck? I probably will but not sure yet. It's a Sunday so a bit tough for me. https://steemit.com/teammalaysiababes/@angiechin28/excited-max-team-malaysia-babes-first-meet-up-and-gathering-this-25th-february-2018

I'll be in the midst of shifting that week, so unable to confirm my attendance yet. Will inform all in the chat group if I can make it.

Thank you for coming ah!!! It was good to see you again with your lovely family. Thank you for the sketches too! Love them a lot! Take care

good job......i like your post....... i waiting for your next post....i wish for your best of luck brother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.28
ETH 3507.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15