My Gallstone Attack And Gallbladder Removal Surgery

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

image

A lot of fellow Malaysian Steemians have been posting about the first ever Team Malaysia Gathering on 13 January. I was at the gathering too and I am suppose to write about my experiences but unfortunately before I could do it, I had the most severe gallstone attack the day after the gathering.

Those who read some of my previous posts would know that I have been suffering from this sickness for a couple of months and had been in and out of the hospital several times. I even spent my Christmas Day at the Emergency Room.

Since I couldn't afford a treatment at a private hospital I had to wait for my 'queue' to have an appointment with a hepatobiliary surgeon at the public hospital. And that appointment is supposed to be on 20 February. Still a long time to wait.

Unfortunately, when you are too sick to wait you have no other choices but to go the private hospital to seek treatment, regardless your 'wallet' is ready or not. Thank God I have a medical card but to be honest I am struggling to pay for the deposit and the co-insurance part. However, life is so much more valuable than money. We can always get that money but my life is precious.

Severe abdominal pain on the evening of 14 January

On the night of 14 January I had the most severe abdominal pain and was rushed to the hospital by my husband with my kids in tow. We had no time to arrange for a babysitter and we had to bring them along.

The pain was so severe, I couldn't stand up straight, couldn't walk, couldn't talk, couldn't lie down. I had to take shallow breaths because breathing was painful.

At the Emergency Room

When we reached the ER, I was given 2 shots of painkillers but the pain was too severe they weren't effective at all. Finally they gave me a morphine shot that caused dizziness and sleepiness. And thank God the pain subsided. I was admitted to the ward once my insurance was approved. I slept quite well and pain free at last. That was already 3am in the morning.

ERCP procedure on 15 January

Early the next day the surgeon came to inform of his treatment plan and I was to undergo an ERCP/endoscopy in the afternoon to determine the cause of pain. He suspected a stone had dropped to my bile duct and caused blockage. My blood test results also shown some elevated liver functions due to a blockage. The ERCP was succesful and the blockage had been cleared but I was so groggy after the procedure. The surgeon informed me that a couple of stones were in the verge of dropping into the duct therefore he had scheduled for an urgent surgery for me, meaning I was put on his top priority list. So I was ordered to fast before the surgery the following day.

The surgery on 16 January

image

The surgery was scheduled in the afternoon at 2pm. I was a bit nervous and worry of course (who doesn't). The doctors had explained to me about the risks and all that and that didn't help to keep my fears at bay. But I knew he was just doing his job. I just prayed and put my faith in God. Whatever happens, it's in God's hands.

The surgery lasted for 3 hours and I was administered general anesthesia so I was totally knocked off and was not aware of anything. When I woke up there was a searing pain on my abdomen where they made the incision but it was quite bearable.

Since I was so dizzy and sleepy I continued to sleep when they sent me back to my ward.

image

My husband and son came to visit me early the next morning. I was feeling a lot better though still in pain. If all goes well the doctor may allow me to go home tomorrow. Please keep me in your thoughts and prayers. I will update more on my progress in my next post.

image

My 'diamonds' that caused so much pain and misery .


Thank you for visiting! What do think of this post? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


My Journey as a Mother & Artist

That Special Person : Mother's Love

My Daughter And I ~ A Portrait

Dealing With My External and Internal Critics

The Way We Cope - The Lost Boys Painting #3

Trees And A City On Her Head - Steem Cartoon Wo-Owl Challenge #1


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

Sort:  

Oh no! I'm so sorry to hear that. Thanked God the surgery went well.

Rest well, Olivia. Hope you feel better soon.

Sorry to hear that, rest more and just keep on focusing on getting better. Illness is a part of life we have to deal with...

Can't imagine how you can endure all these. Pray for you to have speedy recovery.

Oh no Olivia! Can’t recognize you in pain with the smile you putting in during our gathering. Pls do take care and hopefully recover in speed. Much love. Jen

Oh no! Sending well wishes your way @coloringiship and wishing you a speedy recovery.

Praying for you! Get well soon. Hugs!

I'm just glad that everything went well :)

get well soon. wishes your good health

Oh my @coloringiship! I'm praying for you. So sorry u had to go through so much. Does that mean you won't be suffering from this pain anymore since they are removed? Bless you with complete healing in Jesus' name!

I have a loved one having the same trouble. Please get well and take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51