Running On STEEM Podcast Episode #004 - Be More of a Creator and less of a Consumer

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemians!

Just a quick podcast episode today where I sort of do a monologue(@siren87 was busy preparing for something tomorrow) about why it's important to be more of a creator and less of a consumer not just on this awesome platform that we have but just in life itself.

Just a few years ago I was unhappy and unfulfilled with my work life which affected my personal life. I couldn't really enjoy or get into my hobbies anymore and it kind of stunted my growth mentally. And that just led to more consumption of TV and YouTube without actually doing anything with it.

I later realized the importance of trying to create something for yourself. To be the part of the creation process and be proud of it!


P.S Big shout-out to @calebleejl!

You can check out his awesome Open Mic entry over here! The dude is a professional musician! Talk about someone who can create!

And also @deanyeong 's post


Thank you for listening! If you have any questions or topic suggestions please feel free to write it down in the comments section!

Sort:  

Really cool, @branlee87! I love the way you told your story. You have a nice voice to listen to, and the sound quality of your recording is very good. How do you make your recordings?

I have upvoted and resteemed this post as one of my curation trail project daily post promotions. This article will be featured in the **@mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 09 JAN 2018. I'm following you now, too.

Hey @mitneb.

Thank you so much for the kind words and compliments! I think most of us hate the recorded versions of our own voices :P

I'm using a very humble setup - The Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Studio with the AT2020 as an add-on mic and Audacity to to edit and save the files.

Thanks again for the support!

I'm following you as well :)

You're welcome, @branlee87! Thanks for the recording details, and for the follow back.
Cheers!

thanks for the shout-out! ;) glad that you've found more meaning in life nowadays with Steemit :)

Thanks, buddy!

Yeah it's important to be doing something that moves you forward.

This platform is a great tool that incentivizes that :)

Thanks for the shoutout to @calebleejl! Just checked out his cover of Perfect with his wife - literally Perfect.

Thanks for the support, man!

Dude can play as well as his wife can sing :)

hahaha! thanks for the dropping by @aaronmcheong! :)

Life pressure gets to all of us at times, and gettign the right balance of life is always a challenge that we all have to face, but it was good to hear your take on it

Guilt is a nasty beast at times, sometimes you need to sit back and reevaluate often we feel guilt we do not need to

I feel steemit is a great site and community which is helping manyof us to become more creative and becoming more effective with our time

Couldn't agree more, man :)

It's always about that balance and that's why it'll always be tricky or challenging.

But that's also the beauty of it all.

Thanks for the upvote and great comment!

My pleasure to visit 🧢👍😎

Hey @branlee87! I enjoyed hearing your thoughts!

I think the podcast idea is fantastic. I would encourage you to try to produce an intro segment you could use each time to make it sound more interesting! It's totally not necessary, but I had so much fun making mine that I think you would, too.

Looking forward to hearing about more topics as you continue podcasting!

Hey, man!

Thanks so much for the support and for listening!

I agree! I totally need an intro music/jingle going on just like the one you have for your awesome show.

Just check out the resources I shared recently and pick something out! Stitching things together in Audacity is pretty simple!

I can truly relate with you on so many things.

I am a system developer an it also requires a lot of creativity; but when I am starting doing a lot of mundane work things just try to die off.

And also drowning ourselves in TV programs and YouTube and the "consumer and factory worker" mentality.

The interesting part is that how thing works in life; I'd like to give the glory to God in a way that things just so fall into place in such an unexpected way.

From YouTube I look into crypto currency and from there I saw @dollarvigilante and I learned more about the Shumitah and even further from RT I saw @keiserreport about Steemit.

So like you said, consumption is only useful when you put it into action. And from there I encountered steemit and then encountered #teammalaysia founders and this is where the whole thing kick started again to make life a lot more interesting than just the routine

You are starting to step out from the blue pill mentality, and the more you are pushing forward into your creativity again you can be better and better.

And I totally agree with you about your sharing on discipline. We get to make our own decisions instead of being pushed (like a factory worker) and eventually get out of that dead programmed routine life where we might one day ask, "what have I done?"

I too am not very good at financial management until I started doing that at the end of 2016 and strictly reprogram myself by first setting aside all my expenses, while looking at my balance as what I can do for the month.

I learned that some time back when I was in Australia from a housemate who logs down almost EVERYTHING, because as Malaysians the exchange rate was not in our favour.

I wish you all the best and many more discoveries of yourself. You have a good voice and your speak from your heart.

upvoted

Thanks for the great comment!

Well done to yourself! Seems like you've come a long way as well :)

Don't knock YouTube - I read an article today which said that Instagram and Snapchat are the worst social media for ones mental health and YouTube is the best.

Haha! Not a personal attack on YouTube or anything.

Like I said in the podcast, YouTube's not bad it's just the human nature of seeking out any form of escapism from life that's bad.

Thanks for the comment :)

I am glad youve turn from listening to podcast to producing podcast. What a big step of improvement. I am sure youll do great here.

I still listen to other podcasts cos they're still awesome :)

And it gives me perspective.

Thanks for the comment, bro!

Appreciate the support!

The YouTube Black Hole is REAL.
I experience the same thing every time after coming home.

The need to reward ourselves for a "days work" is strong. But at the end of watching the videos, we can't even remember what we watched.

I think we are romantic about the idea of doing something, but we don't put the same amount of effort in doing it.

Other influencers would call it "mental masturbation" - which I found to be true.

One "life hack" I use is to not bring my earphones to work. You would be surprised how much more likely you would write and draft your podcasts compared to listening passively to podcast or secretly watching videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62758.86
ETH 3465.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49