Team Australia new recruits: update 19/07/17: I need some noobs!

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

G’day everyone! It’s time to meet the newest intake of Team Australia recruits. However, this means I’m all caught up for now. 

I need more noobs!

To date I have made contact with 123 Aussies, which is a pretty good effort I think. A bunch have got back to me with “yes I want to join” type messages but then not followed through and given me the information I need. I think I'll chase these people up in the first instance. 

On the plus side, this will give me more time to write other posts (unless I get flooded with applications again).  I’m thinking of doing a travel stories series since basically that’s what I spend all my money on and I’ve been to a lot of different countries. I’ve also lived in a lot of places. Is this something you guys would read? I do have a lot of funny/dodgy backpacking stories which I think would make interesting content. 

So, I hope you voted in last Saturday’s referendum. Unlike actual referendums, this one was voluntary so you won’t get a fine in the mail if you forgot. You might still be able to get a slacker's, last minute vote in since an official press release regarding the outcome has not yet been made by @sirknight

Regardless, let’s hope that it does better than daylight savings referendums in Queensland, which always get voted down by everyone living north of Maryborough and out west, despite the majority of the population living in the south east.

Urgh, there’s nothing more annoying than having to get up at 4am in summer to catch a flight to Sydney for a 9am meeting. 

Image source

And let’s not get into the stupidity of South Australia being ahead in time for half the year. I still don’t understand how all of Europe can coordinate their clocks going forward on the same day but Australia is just a complete basket case.  

Bah!  

Anyway. 

Enough about that. 

Housekeeping

Until the referendum results are in, existing Team Australia members please go here and follow everyone that’s been added since you last checked. 

Be sure to check out @centerlink, who is busy putting Aussie-battler tax dollars to work in the form of dole payments for posts, as well as showcasing Australia's most worthy dole recipients. And don’t forget our very own Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank has created the @discordia bot, which you can use to increase your upvote moolah. Some of the proceeds will support @centerlink so give it a try.

Check out the awesome Minnow Support Project. Details on how to join are are here and here. You can also come say hi in Discord. It's fun and you can make new friends!     

 

Candidate 1 

Name and bio

@ebryans was born in southern England but now lives near Sydney. He is the father of four and apparently was ugly baby when he was born, with his aunt telling his mother to send him back (um, to where exactly? Ouch!). That’s pretty harsh, especially when all babies more or less look the same. 

Right now @ebryans is involved in a few things. He has the Latin American rights to a green chemical which assists in the extraction, distribution and storage of crude oil. He is also working on some design ideas and writing a book. 

@ebryans’ interests include sport (he has a rally car drivers licence), the countryside, horse riding, conversation, photography, wilderness, music, philosophising, ridiculing politicians, time alone, wine and whisky. He says he still thinks he's 23 in his head though the infrastructure rebels. (Ha! I know that feeling.) 

Fun fact 

“I appeared in an episode of Home and Away a thousand years ago.”  

Wow, an English person being in H&A? You must be a rock star back in the UK. But that is actually pretty cool. I’ve never known anyone who’s been in H&A. I like your fun fact. 

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@petepeterepeat is from Melbourne and spends a lot of time exploring the Victorian hills and coastline. He has two cats. One is literally a scaredy cat while the other is big and tough and not scared of anyone. 

@petepeterepeat is a research scientist (environmental chemistry, biology, entomology), writer, sci-fi author, biophile (which means ‘one who feels a strong attraction for or emotional attachment to the living world’ – yeah, I had to look it up), and a yogi. He is interested in nature, past and future human evolution, technology, culture, spirituality, investment, agricultural innovation, alternate lifestyles and much more. 

Fun fact 

“I'm addicted to fishing.” 

Hmm… Booze I get. Drugs I get. Even shoes and watches I get. But fishing? Come on man, it’s just so boring! All that sitting around and waiting and hoping and jetty smells or boat sea sickness. I’ll never understand.  😂 

Candidate 3

Name and bio 

@steembusiness is our latest ambassador hailing from the great country of Deutschland. He’s from a small village in southern Germany, which is pretty close to the Alps. Due to his location, he enjoyed a great childhood of going for hikes, relaxing at a lake, and playing soccer with friends. 

@steembusiness is impressed by the Team Australia community we’ve built. He points out that while most people are just here to write posts, we are really using it as a social network. He especially likes how the Team Australia members are involved in community decisions (like the referendum) and therefore wants in. He also hopes to meet some of us in the future. 

Fun fact 

“I want to become an ambassador because it's simply freezing cold here in Germany most of the time.”  

Fair enough. Shit weather at home seems like a good a reason as any to want to come to Australia.    

Candidate 4

Name and bio

@gamersclassified is a team of gamers from Sydney. They are working together to provide the latest gaming news, opinion pieces and exclusive coverage of Australia's eSports and video game culture.  

@gamersclassified offers a unique Australian perspective, catering to both hardcore gamers and casual gamers. They're dedicated to video game journalism and presenting stories that aren't found – or given the depth of coverage – anywhere else.  

The co-founder running the blog says he is a Project Manager during the day and is full time gamer at night. (Hmm… another one that doesn’t appear to sleep.) 

Fun fact 

“I once danced on a table when I was six years old when I finally beat the final boss of Alex The Kidd of Sega Master system, and fell off and landed on my nose. My nose hasn't been quite the same since then.” 

I once danced drunk on a table when I was 26 years old and fell off and badly sprained my ankle. It hasn't been quite the same since.

@sirknight, please add these new members to Team Australia.  

 

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Follow all the existing members @teamaustralia.
  2. Vote here for our resident steemit witness @ausbitbank.
  3. Comment below or DM me on steemit chat or Discord that you want to join.
  4. Link your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself tag to help boost your following. You can also follow this handy guide written by @teamsteem.
  5. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city - London.  
  6. If you’re not Aussie tell me why you should be a teamaustralia ambassador. 
  7. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you run a successful business, or you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across Amercia, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you!

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates unless there is a lot of interest, in which case I will try and post sooner.

Team Australia footer by @bearone

Page dividers by @kristyglas 

Sort:  

Excellent work as always choo. Welcome to straya everyone!

I've given the rest of the new guys a follow (It's easy to get a little behind on this, but if you're going to be a part of this community then get following back!) and look forward to dropping in on your random posts every now and then. Everyone here has a niche, but it's definitely worth breaking out and seeing what else is out there and team Australia is a perfect place to start.

See you around.

All Australians have been approved for the dole now :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by choogirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Many thanks @choogirl, for admitting me into such company!

You're welcome.

Great. Please follow the instructions for joining listed in this post and I will get you on the list!

Thank you choogirl. U and R. And thank you for the reminder on the referendum results and the updated constitution. TA will be in this evening to welcome the newcomers. SK.

Welcome noobs!!

Thank you everybody :) I look forward to helping make this community a strong one :D

Good grief choo you're relentless!
Cracking job you're doing.

Thanks mate!


This post got a 3.84 % upvote thanks to @choogirl - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68905.09
ETH 3808.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48