Team Australia new recruits: update 02/07/17

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys. Well, we are now firmly into steemwars which I hope you’re enjoying. I’ve seen some cracker posts over the past couple of days so we need to keep the good stuff coming from Team Australia. There’s a new theme for each 24 hour period, so check out @sirknight’s daily updates to find out what it is.

Ok. Moving on to today’s candidates. They are a really diverse bunch, either coming from, or living in, all parts of the world. I didn’t choose them specifically to make an international theme by the way, it’s just how it worked out when I started summarising their profiles.

My list of applicants is still growing so I apologise if I haven’t introduced you yet. These posts do take some time for me to write so please be patient. I promise I’ll get to you.

Image source

Existing members, please go here and follow everyone that’s been added to Team Australia since you last checked. 

Don't forget to check out @centerlink, who is busy putting Aussie-battler tax dollars to work in the form of dole payments for your posts.

And finally you guys, check out the awesome Minnow Support Project. Details on how to join are here and here. You're really missing out if you're not part of it.

Candidate 1

Name and bio

@mikee recently made the tree change/sea change from Sydney to the Sapphire Coast region of NSW. I’ll admit, I’d never heard of the Sapphire Coast before today and after googling it, the only town this does sound familiar is Bega.  Having said that, it does look pretty nice and I can see why @mikee likes living there.

Although he doesn’t reveal much information about himself apart from being English, @mikee says he feels privileged to live in a place where he sees humpback whales, bottlenose dolphins, kangaroos, wallabies, and parrots on a regular basis.  💙 

Fun fact

“I was brought into being in Sydney by inaccurate conception (similar to immaculate conception, but less spiritual). I was then born and corrupted in England for a few decades, before fleeing to live happily ever after in Australia.”

I've never heard the term 'inaccurate conception' before so I googled it. The first result that comes up is from the ever-helpful urban dictionary:  

The act of God impregnating Joseph instead of Mary. 

Lol! I'm guessing that's not what you meant.

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@jungyoon is from Seoul, South Korea, but is moving to Sydney THIS WEEK! She is coming as part of her job and will be here for six months. When she's not working or doing pilates, she will be making posts about Sydney life in Korean and English to help Koreans improve their awareness of our country. I think this makes her a very worthy Korean ambassador for Team Australia, don't you?

@jungyoon says that she does not have an English name. Instead she says if you can pronounce 'jungle' and 'universe' then you can pronounce her actual her name: Jung + Uni

In her first month Down Under, @jungyoon has to prepare an ‘Aussie Aussie Aussie’ costume for her company’s gala dinner. She really wants some advice from Team Australia about what to choose. She’s thinking of an Aussie invention like WIFI or splayd. But please, hit her up in the comments if you have a good idea. 

Fun fact

I consider myself chill and fashionable. I have to prepare an 'Aussie Aussie Aussie!' costume for my company's gala dinner and am thinking of a Vegemite costume."

Hmm... Despite the awesomeness of Vegemite, I’m not sure the words ‘fashionable’ and ‘Vegemite ’ should be used in the same sentence. However, you’d get top marks for creativity if you could pull that off.

Candidate 3

Name and bio

@ant.facts is an anteater (yes, you read that correctly) from Sydney. Ant’s goal is to travel the world to taste different ants and better understand humans by living a human-like life, but mostly to eat ants. @ant.facts has previously lived in Spain and England but will probably stay in Australia since our ants are apparently the tastiest, and the quality of life here is pretty good. 

@ant.facts is here to share his ant-related adventures on steemit. He will provide you with ant related tidbits and maybe some other stuff if he comes across anything good. He also thinks 'AntShares' sounds pretty tasty, although I'm guessing he's lost interest now that it's rebranded as NEO.

Fun fact

“When I was a younger, they had to disassemble a whole slide at my school playground because my head got stuck in it.”

I'm not sure how an anteater gets its head stuck in a slide since they are ground dwelling animals. However, I remember a kid at my primary school getting his head stuck in the railings of that bridge near the Melbourne Arts Centre on a school excursion. Luckily the teachers were able to pull his head back through and no permanent damage was done. I don't believe any ants were harmed in the process either.  

Candidate 4

Name and bio

@thinknzombie is a Queenslander living in Japan. Despite coming from the Sunshine State, he does not appear to have adjusted well to Tokyo’s summer heat, especially in the office where he appears to be in a constant battle with his colleagues over the thermostat setting. @thinknzombie is a lawyer by trade, a writer by disposition (having read most of your posts, I would agree), and feels more at home sprawled out on a half-rolled out yoga mat than a treadmill.

@thinknzombie’s intro post explains how he came to be on steemit, which is by being coaxed by fellow Aussies @krystle and @aussiesteem. The details of the conversation (which may or may not be embellished) are quite entertaining and definitely worth a read.

Fun fact

"I can confirm that I cannot fit 55 Ed Sheerans in my mouth (um...that came out wrong)." 

Ha! That conjures up an image!

Candidate 5

Name and bio

@rlamasb was born into a poor family in Brazil. He moved to Australia eight years ago and now lives in Sydney with his wife @hannahlicious (who I introduced in my last post) and his daughter. Despite not seeing his first computer until age 13, he now works as a mobile and backend developer for a fintech start up, and has been a cryptocurrency core developer for about six months. 

@rlamasb joined steemit to learn, and hopefully share some of his knowledge about tech and crypto. He has created a steemit network analysis tool and posts daily updates of the top paid posts (now there's some payouts to aspire to).

Fun fact

“On parent’s day at my daughter’s school, when she was asked to introduce her daddy to all other parents she said: My daddy is funny and bald. Ah, he also works in the computer".

Kid’s hey? Always telling it like it is when it comes to appearance and personal traits. Also, IN the computer? That's pretty funny. 

Candidate 6

Name and bio

@nour-money31 is from the Netherlands and thinks Australia is a beautiful country and really wants to come visit one day. @nour-money31 realises the world is changing and the new way to earn money is on the internet. He is busy trying to learn as many things about it as possible. 

Fun fact

“When I am typing a password and I have the last letter/number wrong, I will backspace everything and start typing again instead of only backspace the last letter/number.”

You’re not alone, I do this as well. It annoys me when I think about how many countless seconds I've wasted doing it this way.

Image source

@sirknight, please add these new members to the team and @centerlink please register them for the dole.

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Follow all the existing members @teamaustralia.
  2. Vote here for our resident steemit witness @ausbitbank.
  3. Comment below that you want to join.
  4. Link your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself tag to help boost your following.
  5. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city - London.  
  6. If you’re not Aussie tell me why you should be a teamaustralia ambassador. 
  7. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you run a successful business, or you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across Amercia, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you!

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates unless there is a lot of interest, in which case I will try and post sooner.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by choogirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

@rlamasb works "in" the computer? Like Tron?
Good to see a Korean on the team. I like multiculturalism. Why? FOOD that's why. We totally hijacked the casserole from France in the 50's , and spaghetti bolognaise in the 80's , which we now regard as one of our own cultural dishes, renaming it spag bol (or bog depending on locale) so Italy doesn't find out. So @jungyoon better be prepared for at least one South Korean recipe to become a typical Aussie staple. And once we make a pie out of a new dish from another country, we own it. That's the rules.
Welcome to all the new members.

So much of this. I'm very much a fan of sharing culture through food. We're far better for the influences of other cultures, and the food and flavours that they've introduced us too.

Yes indeed. Food has a way of bringing people together. I saw a video and explanation of how a guy broke up a fight simply by walking between the 2 people while he was eating. We associate food with comfort, relaxation and and well being. Eating together to get people to relax is a big thing.

An Ozzie Steemit community? I'm in for sure!

Just followed the existing members on @teamaustralia.

FunFact: I'm a Daltonian. Colourblind in regards to some colours and tones. Grey is pink, blue is purple, green is yellow & also in vice versa... Simply put, if a painting to you is 10 colours, for me it's around 5-6. Yes, skittles are confusing.

Introduction post: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@pulpworx/hello-i-d-like-to-introduce-myself-hoping-to-start-an-engaging-channel-for-all-you-steemians

Thanks Choogirl!

You're on my list. I'll let you know when you've been introduced.

Terrific @choogirl - I hadn't heard of the Sapphire Coast either - this is the beauty of TEAM AUSTRALIA - we learn many new things about our great country.

Welcome to Team Australia:

@mikee
@jungyoon
@ant.facts
@thinkzombie
@rlamasb
@nour-money31

Looking forward to your posts and 'Hero Standards'.

SirKnight.

NSW Tourism - doing a bang up job!

Welcome to @teamaustralia new members and thanks @choogirl. Cheers

You are an epic recruiter.
Want a job on the side 😂😂

If it's doing the same thing for teamGB then I need more hours in the day or bigger payouts so I can quit doing other stuff. If one of those things occurs then yes, cos it is fun.

Welcome to Steemit, @choogirl!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Excellent choogirl U & R. Will be back as Team Australia. SK.

congratulation nice =)

Welcome new recruits!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05