Bizzie Lizzie's - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


Cheap & Fabulous? I would say so; so much that I’ll being going every week for the foreseeable future.

The day I took this photograph it was a bad day, dark and overcast and I was glad to get inside.

IMG_4124.jpg

I’m starting to settle into my new job that is in Skipton, North Yorkshire a place where there happens to be....., yes another great Fish & Chip restaurant.

IMG_4123.jpg

In the UK, it’s an old fashioned tradition to consume Fish & Chip’s on Fridays and being my second week on the job myself and a colleague decided a treat was necessary.

To be fair, I hadn’t just picked this place out of a hat and had witnessed the quality on several past visits to this market town, but now I’m working there means a regular weekly visit is in order.

There are TWO ‘Bizzie Lizzie’s’ in this town and both have restaurant sections where you sit and eat as opposed to just grabbing a takeaway.

IMG_4126.jpg

I was pleased to see the five star food hygiene rating and entered. You can see in this snap that the waitress was looking right at me but didn’t question the photograph. She did give us quite special attention all the way through the visit though.

I would say the place was half full and the audience was mostly older people most of them looking retired. I do feel a little conscious sometimes that :

a) I’m out of place as I’m younger than almost all of the other diners.
b) I’m actually approaching the ages of these other diners. I just want to be like Peter Pan, young forever.

Yes, there is an inclination for older people to dine at Fish & Chip shops in the UK.

IMG_4128.jpg

The atmosphere was lively with many waiters and waitresses buzzing about. Friday is the busy day and I would expect it to get busier. Yorkshire people are incredibly friendly and we were made to feel welcome immediately.

IMG_4129.jpg

IMG_4130.jpg

Haddock and Chips was £9.85, and you get bread and butter included! Tea for two completed the order. I had it plain and my colleague ‘Dave’ had it with curry. I have included both photographs.

IMG_4134.jpg

If my chips look a little brown, that’s because I have drowned them in malt vinegar. That’s just me. A close up of the fish yielded pleasing results.

IMG_4136.jpg

Fresh and crispy just how it should be, the chips were just as good, fresh and great tasting.

IMG_4135.jpg

The green slimy stuff is mushy peas. I can't stand them myself as they look and taste like something out of the swamp, but many love them.

IMG_4138.jpg

Bizzie Lizzie’s is not just a chip shop, there were desserts on offer but I was simply too full after eating this great meal. I recently posted another @tasteem review of The Fisherman in Settle.

IMG_4137.jpg

I will say that Bizzie Lizzie’s is up to the standard of The Fisherman and I have no qualms in recommending it to passing visitors.

Both branches in Skipton are equally good, so no need to seek out this particular one.

IMG_4140.jpg

The bill came to over £23, a good value meal for two I would say. As always the quality is always a factor for me over the price when it comes to food.

I will be heading back the next Friday. Once a week is all I can muster. The best tasting things are usually the unhealthiest and these are no exception.

Bizzie Lizzie's, High Street Car Park
Otley St, Skipton BD23 1ED, United Kingdom

http://www.bizzielizzies.co.uk/


Restaurant Information


Bizzie Lizzie's
score
Skipton BD23, UK


Bizzie Lizzie's - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation,

Hi @slobberchops,
Firstly, thank you for your entry joining Tasteem's contest this week.

Your post is curated as a good post with quite enough information satisfied Tasteem's requirements.
It means this post will get a higher upvote from Tasteem.

Thank you for your time with Tasteem,

Feel free to join us on this discord channel: https://discord.gg/8cg4D4

Best regards,
{Tasteem - Global Supporter} - Lenancie

It's good to see the English still know how to cook peas to bits; it's been a while since I was in England but the tradition seems to be holding up well.

Other than that: looks tasty!

Don't tell me your a fan of that swamp goo?

What? I love mushy peas! That and curry sauce. I used to always go for both when up north.

Not only did it go great with fish and chips but it also made me feel like I had some healthy greens with my otherwise fried food ;)

Ugh... you can keep them, each to their own! Curry sauce I can handle though.

Ugh... you can keep them,
Each to their own! Curry sauce
I can handle though.

                 - slobberchops


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Nooo! I was being sarcastic. Peas are not for cooking to a pulp. No vegetables are. It's a crime.

Peas are pulses, like lentils. Lentils are cooked to a pulp - so why not peas? Though having said that I do like them raw, and lightly cooked too. Peas are amazing.

I never cook lentils to a pulp either 8-).

You should try it! ;)

Epic review, I could just do with a lovely plate of fish and chips right now - with plenty of mushy peas! Skipton is just up the road from me, I might have to check this place out the fish looks excellent quality.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Really, you live close to Skipton? Being in Yorkshire you are rather spoiled when it comes to this English dish we are famous for. Where I am in in Blackburn, none are worth visiting.

Good to hear from another serious Steemian living so close to me too!

Yes the chips look a bit weird in the first pic, but the next two meal pics look delicious. I love mushy peas, but only when they're piping hot. Lukewarm mushy peas are not nice. I also think a fish supper tastes much better when you've just climbed a mountain. It's making my mouth water though, and it's not even lunchtime yet.

I also think a fish supper tastes much better when you've just climbed a mountain.

I would say most hot food tastes good after this. Mountaineering season appears to be over now unless you want to be blown off the top.

OVER?? For many people it's just beginning! The Winter Season is something else - and believe me, if you haven't tasted a hot fish supper after a day out in a minus 15 wind and deep snow, you haven't really tasted a fish supper! :)

I'll stay home when your out in this thanks, but please keep posting about these scenes... they will be good to read.

I certainly will! Snow is forecast for some of the mountains next week!
Me running down the snowpack, sml.jpg

Maybe the waitress thought you were a mystery shopper. Have to say, the fish looks good.

Seems like a very decent place, and the fish looks darn tasty :)

Looks good, although the entrance door looks like it could belong to a bank!

Ha ha, it seems like all the tasteem reviews that I read from you are with fish and chips! Got a favourite dish?

Yeah I know,, that's probably the last F&C one though for now. Ill be going there again tomorrow most likely.

I love the inclusion of tea with the meal. I’d not seen this before until starting my new job. I was in north London for work and was treated to fish and chips next door to Bounds Green Station. It looked to primarily be a kebab shop but the fish and chips with a mug of tea was fantastic. It also came with a Mediterranean salad which was a little odd but very refreshing.

PS. I LOVE swap goo. Never used to but started eating them about 5 years ago.

I have tried but its just not for me. I don't mind garden peas, or pea pods though.

I love the inclusion of tea with the meal.

The tea was actually extra, but the bread and butter was included. B&B just goes so well with Fish and Chips, and its got to be that white bread that's so bad for you too.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 263 (9/21/18)

I will confess the thing that I've never been a fan of eating fish, but goddamnit that looks so delicious! And of course the way the restaurant looks like, the hygiene and even the smile on the waitress face, completes it just right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61184.91
ETH 2402.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64