Bozz Eats: Chilie Verde Cafe, A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


A couple of weekends ago, we were down in the Columbus, OH area visiting my inlaws. It was an exciting weekend of some close basketball games and even a trip to the hospital.

We got into town a little after noon on Friday. @mrsbozz and I did some running around while we were waiting for our neices to get out of school. That evening as I said we had a basketball game to go to then we needed to decide where to eat.

I have mentioned before that the Columbus area is a pretty big food gold mine. There are almost and infinite number of places to eat at. It never fails though that when we are in town and craving Mexican food, we usually find ourselves at Chilie Verde.

IMG_20190208_191249.jpg

Chilie Verde only has one or two locations that I know of, but my sister in law says they are always packed. I personally can't remember a time we have gone that we didn't have to wait for a table.

This time we had six of us so the wait was even longer(close to 20 minutes). It was so busy that I wasn't able to get good shots of the interior.

The picture above is of the waiting area looking back towards the kitchen. To the left is the cashier and through another doorway is a seating area. In the back of that other seating section is a small bar area.

We were seated to the right of this picture, just around that partial wall. They put us in a booth and pulled a two top table to the end of the booth so we could have seating for six. My brother in law and I got the small table and we felt like we were out in no mans land while eating.

It was definitely a tight squeeze for the waitress to get around us and serve the two booths that were beyond ours.

IMG_20190208_194235.jpg

We started with some pitchers of margaritas and this rather large bowl of queso. My oldest niece wanted to hold the chip to make the photo more staged and appealing.

Unlike most Mexican restaurants the queso is yellow and not white. I have a theory on that which I will get to in a second. Either way, it was fantastic with large chuncks of peppers and other veggies in it.

IMG_20190208_194944.jpg

They have a pretty exstensive selection of Tequilas that you can have your drinks made with. Being rather frugal, we just went with the house brand. They were still tasty and we ended up sharing two pitchers between the four of us.

I got some pictures of the menu, but quite honestly you should check out their website I linked to above if you want to read through it better.

IMG_20190208_195000.jpg

IMG_20190208_195004.jpg

IMG_20190208_195014.jpg

We all ordered our food and waited for it to show up. It actually took a little longer to get our food than a usual Mexican restaurant, but they were busy, so I am not that surprised.

@mrsbozz and I both got the fajita burrito. She got hers with chicken and I got mine with steak. We had our choice of sauce to have them smother it with, hot chilie verde, medium chilie rojo, or mild ranchero. If those didn't appeal to you, you could choose one of their specialty sauces for an additional charge. Ancho chile demi-glace, queso salsa, and anasazi, we ultimiately both chose the queso.

IMG_20190208_194947.jpg

IMG_20190208_194950.jpg

Our brother in law got the taco trio with I think chorizzo, but I honestly don't remember now which protein he picked.

IMG_20190208_194954.jpg

Finally, my sister in law and my neices shared the chicken fajitas.

IMG_20190208_194952.jpg

Chilie Verde always has some really solid food and as I mentioned above they are pretty much always busy.

There has always been something that bugged me about their food though. It's not that it isn't good, but it is always much different from what I expect whenever I order.

After this last trip, I think I finally put my finger on what that is and it was verified as I was walking out by a conversation I overheard between another patron and his wife.

I think to call Chilie Verde a Mexican Resaturant is a misnomer. In fact if you look at their website they don't bill themselves as a Mexican restaurant, they call themselves a "New Mexican" restaurant.

That's right, the food is actually more South Western as opposed to the tradiational Mexican we are used to in the states. The flavors are deeper and heavier. There is more spice with an abundance of adobo and anchos. In fact this is one of the few "Mexican" restaurants I have been to that offers a truly "hot" salsa with their chips(upon request).

Back to the queso, I think that South Western distinction is part of the reason for the queso being the way it is.

All that being said, Chilie Verde definitely isn't a place to be overlooked. Just know that if you see something on the menu that reminds you of your usual dish you get at the local "Mexican" joint, it is probably going to be quite different that you are expecting.

IMG_20190208_201346.jpg

In the end we each paid for one of the pitchers and then our respective food. I think my in laws picked up the bowl of queso.

$47.84 before tip isn't that bad of a deal for the obviously hand crafted food that we recieved. The flavors were on point and it was definitely filling. I have no doubt we will continue to find our way back to Chilie Verde Cafe through the years as we visit our family.

You should too!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Restaurant Information


Chile Verde Cafe
score
4852 Sawmill Rd, Columbus, OH 43235, USA


Bozz Eats: Chilie Verde Cafe, A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Another great review! Thanks for sharing with Tasteem.

#tasteem-curation

Thank you!

A little better than Taco Hel.. er Bell then? Mexican places are not common here, and I wasnt a big fan when I lived in AZ and they are everywhere there.

That Queso does look great though, Im a bit partial to cheesy stuff.

I would eat Mexican food every meal if I could. It is all really similar though. This place a little less so. I actually don't mind Taco Bell. They make a mean steak soft taco.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like my kind of place! Much as I love the local Sonoran food, I think I like the 'Southwest' flavors better.

I noticed Navajo Tacos on the menu. Speaking of New Mexico and all, I think that the best Navajo Taco I've had in a restaurant is in Las Vegas, New Mexico. I don't remember the name of the place but it's right next to the radio station.

I usually get a chili verde pork burrito when ever I am rating a Mexican place. It's my go to, and pretty easy for me to rate that way...

Thanks for a great review! Enjoyed this one a lot,

Thanks I appreciate it. That pork dish sounds amazing. I am not familiar with Sonoran food. I'd give it a try though. My wife and I were just talking about going to see her family in Arizona some day...

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm Mexican and this doesn't look Mexican at all. It has a lot of Mexican ingredients but in a different way or mixed with american ingredientes. But It looks yummy anyway. Thanks for sharing!

Indeed, I discovered it is actually New Mexican. Thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

I have to admit, my mouth was watering the whole time I was reading your post! In my younger days, I probably could have eaten these wonderful looking creations, but my old guy stomach won't allow it now. Conversely; looking at the amount of food you received, combined with the fact that it is indeed "home cooked"...I would say you got an AMAZING deal! I'm new to your page, but look forward to seeing more of your reviews!!

Wes SteemUsa Banner.png

Thank you! I appreciate it. I finished most of the burrito but I had to leave some of the beans and rice. I think a lot of it had to do with the multiple baskets of chips we went through before our entrees came!

Posted using Partiko Android

I tried REAL Mexican food for the first time last year... and it was amazing... and nothing like what I had ever expected! I had a Cocoa chicken... and there were so many little nibbles and things like that... unbelievable stuff! You are lucky to have a place nearish you that you can get this sort of food!

I had some authentic Mexican food back in college. It is quite different from what I would call "Americanized Mexican" food that we typically call Mexican. They do have a great way slowly coaxing flavors over a long period of time. Slow roasted pork is the best.

Posted using Partiko Android

This looks very nice ... in fact, my mouth is starting to water!
I'm very fond of Mexican food, I'm just wondering how I would get on with South Western flavours. I grew my own ancho chillies this year (I got one)! The plant is looking a little worse for wear at the moment, so I'm not sure whether it will survive into the summer. Never mind, I still have the serranos.
Fajitas are one of my favourite dishes, and tequila, well, I can cope :)
Thank you for a lovely review!

Thank you I appreciate bit. Serrano's wow! Those are a little too hot for me. I think you would be fine with the South Western flavors if you are growing those. I love fajitas too.

Posted using Partiko Android

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @bozz, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hey @bozz. Looks great on the pictures. How I wish I can try something like this in my country. I couldn't find any real good Mexican foods here. Thanks for sharing!

That's too bad, I love me some Mexican food. I don't think I could live in a country without it. You showcase some awesome places yourself despite there being no Mexican. Thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 4.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43