Saipan Sucks! - An entry for the Kyrios Fiction CompetitionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #talesofkaoz7 years ago (edited)

I had never given much thought to how I would die. I've always kind of just been living in the moment, letting life happen as it does. That's how I ended up on this vacation to Saipan. I heard about it from one of my old Marine friends who was from here. Wouldn't shut up about it! Swore I had to go visit it someday. He showed me pictures, he told me stories, he showed me videos...the guy was a walking, talking Marianas Visitors Authority ad! But hey, it worked, I guess...I'm here now, right?

KAOZkyriosfictioncompetition3coverphoto.jpg

I had been working four jobs for 9 months, and honestly, I don't know how I managed to do it for that long. All my friends said I was crazy, that I would burn out someday. Eventually, I did burn out. I needed a break from it all. Everything was stressing me out.

With work taking up most of my time, it was only a matter of time before my girlfriend Kelly cheated on me with my best friend. We were all living together. I can't say I didn't see it coming...maybe I just didn't care enough anymore. I just never expected that it would be Brandon that she would cheat on me with. My own best friend.

But now...now I am alone. I had to be alone. I needed to get away from everything and everyone that reminded me of my miserable existence in Tucson. That was when I remembered everything that Danny had told me about Saipan. “Warm all year round,” he said. “White sand beaches never more than 5 minutes away. Friendly people who love foreigners, no sales tax.” What's not to love, right? So, one miserable and lonely day in September, I decided to buy my ticket out here.

Perhaps I should have had a sense of foreboding when the plane ride was something straight out of an old Twilight Zone episode. The flight crew had these oddly deranged smiles as they greeted me, almost as if they were all wearing masks. The walk down to my seat in the back was creepy, too. There was this old musty smell that floated through the entire cabin; like...old, torn-up leather seats, with just a hint of clove. There were only 12 other people on the plane, so I guess no one knew each other. I finally got to my seat and tried to get comfortable.

I should have known that this whole trip was a bad idea, the moment none of the seat belts around me worked. I tried to call a flight attendant, but she just smiled at me and told me to sit back down. The entire seventeen-hour trip had me on the edge of my seat. I tried to fall asleep, but every time I would get right at the threshold of sleep, some crazy violent turbulence would suddenly happen, and I would once again be gripping the edge of my seat in sheer terror.

When the plane finally landed, I headed to the baggage claim area to wait for my luggage. The entire airport seemed devoid of life. The few people I did see, looked like zombies, completely drained of their energy. Looking back on it now, I don't get how I refused to put two and two together by that point. I guess Kelly was right, I am too stubborn for my own good.

The taxi ride to Tanapag, the village that the hostel is in, was weird, too. The driver didn't really talk to me much after I told him where I needed to go. I tried to ask him some questions about the island, but he would just nod and smile at me in the rearview mirror. I still brushed it off. The roads we were taking seemed very dark and dreary...we were the only car on the road. How did I still continue to deny that something, everything, was off about this whole trip?

I finally got dropped off at the Sirena's Sanctuary, and the driver didn't even help me with my luggage! So much for everyone here being nice people, I thought to myself. The lady at the front desk wasn't too cordial, either. She gave me the code for my door and pointed me in the direction. The place made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. The decor was this bright combination of pastel blues and greens, with mermaid statues and imagery literally everywhere.

It was late when I got to my room, but I wasn't tired enough to sleep. I laid in my bed for what felt like an eternity, trying to fall asleep; but no matter how much I tried, I simply could not. I decided to go for a walk, since that's what I normally do when I can't rest my thoughts at night.

As I stepped outside, it was like I had walked into a freezer. So much for it being warm all year-round, I thought. I ventured outside the gates and started walking down the road, looking around at the other houses and buildings as I passed them. All the lights shining through the windows seemed to have the same dimming effect; it looked as if they were being illuminated by mere candlelight.

I continued to walk around, looking for any signs of life, but no one was around. I was accompanied by nothing but the light of the full moon shining brightly above. Then, I heard a very faint noise in the distance. At first, I couldn't tell what it was, because it just sounded like a low, dull buzzing. Then, I started to hear it clearly as it got closer.

SI...RE...NA...

SI...RE...NA...

I froze in place. I think that was the moment my skeptical mind finally put two and two together. I was hearing people chanting sirena. My hostel was mermaid-themed and called the Sirena's Sanctuary. The whole trip had seemed off from the start. Why was it only then, upon hearing the chanting, that I finally accepted that the whole trip was weird?

That was when they came. Suddenly, the streets were overflowing with villagers. People were pouring onto the streets in droves carrying torches! The candlelight in all the windows was actually from torches... So I ran. I ran faster than I ever thought was possible. I didn't know where I was going, all I knew was that I had to keep moving, or I would end up dead. Every time I looked back, though, it was as if they had not only kept up with me, but somehow managed to close the gap.

I ended up running all the way down to an old church at the end of the road. There was nowhere else for me to go. I had started running in the wrong direction, and now I was stuck here. The building looked ancient and forgotten, it was clear that no one had tended to it in a while. The gate was even cracked open because the lock had just rusted right off, and vines had grown over each section.

Honestly, coming to this church wasn't the best idea, but it was either try to hide in this creepy old church, or face the demon villagers directly. So here I am, slowing my breath and hoping that they don't find me hiding behind this pulpit assembly. But I can hear them coming...

SI...RE...NA...

SI...RE...NA...

Closer.

SI...RE...NA...

SI...RE...NA...

Coser.

The sweat is really starting to soak through my clothes now, and as much as I try to slow my breath, my pulse is racing and the only thing I can do is breathe along with it.

THUD.

Oh my god...that was the door. They’re here!

SI...RE...NA...

The chanting is getting louder. Oh god, please, don't let them find me....PLEASE!
.
.
.
The chanting has stopped. “Welcome... to the Church of Sirena! We know you're in here...there's no point in hiding!”

Oh god. This really is it, whatever this is, this is how I die. That voice, though...why does it sound kind of familiar?

“Come, now, don't waste our time. The goddess Sirena is waiting for you.”

NO!!!! They've found me. But...why...where are their eyes?!? That was why their faces looked weird earlier...they were all wearing masks? Underneath their white mermaid themed masks, there is nothing but blackness where their eyes should be. The leader is taking off his mask. It...it can't be! It's Danny...or at least it looks like Danny...but his eyes are devoid of substance. “Wait, Danny, it's me, Travis!”

THUD.

I guess...I guess I'm dead now. I never really thought about dying much. Ever, really. But I never thought I would end up dying alone and miserable on some creepy island that no one has ever heard of before.

Man, Saipan sucks!


You can find a link to the original post on the fiction competition by @kyrios here.
Please vote for my entry in the comments section here if you liked what you read! Thank you so much!



!steemitworldmap 40.754539 lat -111.902618 long Salt Lake City, Utah local Steemian! d3scr

Sort:  

Omg...I was at the edge of my seat while reading this...I literally looked back at one moment when someone dropped something and almost got a heartattack. Damn you @rodeo670 for scaring me like this :P Great story there mate :) Loved it.

Thank you so much @kyrios!! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it, and that the horror/suspense was tangible. :) Like I said, I've never really written horror, so I had no idea how this thing would turn out :P Hopefully I make it into the second round haha

This post has received a 61.07 % upvote from thanks to: @rodeo670.
For more information, click here!!!!

The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

wootwoot! all about that military support :D

hey hi , this is the first time you join me
upvoted +0.021 and resteemed to 360 followers
I wish you good luck
keep visiting my posts , upvote my posts and resteem my posts then you will get from me many gifts..

take care
bye bye

samer - red rose

Holy moly donut shop @rodeo670, holy Snopes that was a thrill ride! You had me going I was gripping my seat bruh! There's no way you're going to end it there! Tell me moooooore! I was totally waiting for them to be some crazy welcoming committee celebrating his presence! 😂

Lol! Thank you so much @staceyjean!! I really appreciate that you took the time to read my story, and I'm so glad you liked it! :D I would have kept on going, honestly, but @kyrios' competition had a maximum word limit of 1,500 words...I actually even had to cut about 200 words from it when I was finished! (^_^:)> Please also go to @kyrios' post and upvote my comment with my story link in it! The more votes I get on there, the higher chances I have of winning. :)

@staceyjean I hope you consider going to @kyrios' new post and voting on my story on there so that I can win the contest! :P

This post has received a 25.30 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @rodeo670. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Wheee! Creepy creepy, remind me never to go to Saipan. Good luck in the contest!

Lol noooooo! I assure you, Saipan is actually quite a beautiful place that really is quite warm and welcoming! :P Please do come visit someday! Thank you so much for reading my story, I really appreciate it!

Sure Danny. Whatever you say Danny. ;P

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ${username} from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 60.43 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @rodeo670.

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62714.40
ETH 3447.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51