Designing and printing an alternative pommel design.

in #sword7 years ago

The Pommel type I designed , printed and cast in my previous post is an example of a design which was common in the late medieval period and in the renaissance. During the High middle-ages the ubiquitous wheel pommel was much more common.

Thus, for the second sword that I am working on at the moment I chose to make a wheel pommel. In its simplest form a wheel pommel is just a slice of round bar usually around 2 cm thick and 5 cm in diameter.
They can get a lot more elaborate than that but quite often they were not. They would often just be the basic wheel, sometimes with a bevel. I wanted something a little more elaborate and so decided to make a wheel pommel with a bronze inset.

The first thing i did was to take a favourite quote of mine and translate a slightly altered version of it into Latin. It is a quote attributed to the famous american gangster Al Capone who according to the internet said:
"Do not mistake my kindness for weakness .....". Whoever might have really said it I don't know ,but it is a nice quote and I have always thought that there is a great truth in this. For the Translation however I had to abbreviate it a bit, both to be able to fit it unto a fairly small area on the pommel and to make it sound better in Latin.
I went for "Misericordia non infirmitate", which translates to kindness is not weakness. It is brief and has a good ring to it I think.
I am not an expert in Latin so if any of you can spot an error in this I would be happy to hear about it, before I cast it in bronze and fit it to the pommel.
I used Inkscape to write the text, fit it to a round shape, and export it to svg which can be imported into blender

There I converted it to a meshobject, extruded it and fitted it to a cylinder which I then modelled using extrusions to have the desired shape.
I have discovered that blender has a feature for visualizing in the viewport with "fake" materials. It is located in the toolbar to the right of the 3d-window and is under shading. It is called matcap and is both nice because it gets easier to see whats happening, but also because it makes it possible to do nice visualizations without having to set up a render shot.
In this case I played around with the matte gold and silver material and the ambient occlusion modifier (located in the same space) to get these visualizations. (with a little postprocessing using Gimp )
I also added a small relief lion head that I made for something else earlier. That is one of the main advantages of 3d-modelling. The ability to change, resize and then reuse every single model as often as needed.


Then on to slicing. This would be my first print using my upgraded wanhao d7 and so it was a (very small) bit different from earlier. mainly the difference is that the slicing now takes a lot longer because it has to write every slice(in the form of an image) to disk, and it than has to be transferred to a usb-stick


Before I will show you the print, i have to show the other part of the pommel. It is just a thick disk of steel cut from an incredibly heavy and cumbersome piece of round-stock.
I do not have a steel chop-cutter (yet) so, when doing something like this I just use my trusty angle-grinder with a cutting disk. It is heavy going and takes some cleaning up afterwards but it is good enough for now.
I clean it up on my belt-grinder afterwards, and drill a round 6 mm hole through the middle.(I also do some forging to widen the hole to accept the tang but that is for a different post)


Then I was ready to start printing.
The first time was a failure because I had made the supports to thin, but second time, I got a very nice result. It is not perfect , but since it will be sandcast, the little imperfections are too small to be of any concern

It was printed flat, but raised a bit from the built-plate to make it easier to remove without damaging it. I should have probably also slanted it a bit to make the resin escape from the surface easier. Maybe next time.
Then it went in the UV-oven, a fancy word for one of those lamps that are designed for curing UV-nailpolish. It is by far the cheapest way to get your hands on a UV-lamp, short of building your own. I actually suspect that the resin used in the 3d-printer is more or less the same as the one used for UV-nailpolish, there is a thought for all those makers :-)

I dry fitted the plate to the pommel to see whether the size was right and it looks fine. Now I just have to think of a good way to mount it so it wont fall off during use.

Lastly , an image of the pommel, mounted on the sword. I think this will look really good when made in bronze, and fitted permanently. What do you think?


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out these recent posts

upgrade!
pommelcasting part 2
pommelcasting part 1
The grind
Male Model

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

I must say I am really impressed with your attention to details and your multi-step planning.
And the pommel looks amazing.

Wow, looking good already. That pommel would make for a good looking sword by the time you're through. Nice idea for an inscription too 👍.

If I walk around with that kind of sword one is supposed to know he shouldn't mess with me, and if the sight of the sword doesn't let em know they shouldn't mess with me then the inscription should do that. Like:
image
😂 😂
I'll always do well to tell em the meaning of the Latin, that is.

@nevies, son of Aphrodite.

Thanks, I am pretty pleased with it myself too. One could argue that If you walk around with any sword, people should know not to mess with you. at least in present times.

Hahah, I know, man, I was just looking for a way to joke around 😀😀. I've been watching too many movies recently 😀😀

Very interesting.

Now let's see if any makers show up saying they tried to use UV nail-polish in their printers hehe.

Are UV resins cheap ? I always wonder if the industries are trying to make a new "printer toner" market with 3d filaments and UV resins.

I believe most filament has escaped the "overpriced product" principle, but have no idea about resins.

it is a bit like the inkjet printer situation. Most printer-makers have their own resin which is usually more expensive but is tuned to work with the printer, and then there is a lot of alternative resins which are cheaper(although usually not exactly cheap.) My printer is pretty "open" in that they support a number of different 3rd party resin in their slicer. I think it is quite obvious that the 3d printer industry is closely related to the maker community in that opensource is fairly widely used, in the accompanying software and 3rd party stuff is usually also pretty easy to come by. it is not only the resin that is a consumable. the bottom of the resin vat is made from a flexible plastic (drumskin) which will go opaque over time and so must be changed every half year or so depending on how much you use the printer.
As with filament the standard stuff is ok in price (compared to how much is used) at app 60 euro pr. liter while specialized resin like printable is double the prize or more. Since I use mine for small prints it is not really an issue for me, but it is not exactly cheap, if you compare it to the printer costing around 5-600 euros

Let's hope the community in general keeps it open-source as much as possible :)
There's more research to be done in terms of creating cheap resin printers too, that I'm sure of.

Thanks for sharing your work. It's so cool to see something modern like 3D printing combined with the ancient art of sword - forging.

Thanks, I really do like the ability to be able to combine my high tech interests with my interest in ancient crafts.

Love the layout man Really interesting Thanks for shareing @evilhippe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44