The Old Dog Reports: Leaving The Fairytale Village of Blatten And On To Another Dream

in #switzerland6 years ago (edited)

It was time to leave the enchanting village of Blatten but there was no time for regrets. More unique beauty awaited us!


We never expected such a view when we booked this hotel and did we ever enjoy it!


Our next "ports of  call" were the town of Brig, the town of Ernen and the Grimsel Pass.


A Bonus Waterfall Along The Way


On the road down the mountain from Blatten we spotted this waterfall. There are so many of these in Switzerland but this one was only about 50 meters from the road. Cold, clean and inviting but no time for a shower!


The Town of Brig


When visiting towns I love to go to the old town squares. The architecture inspires me and I love to go back in time with my mind and marvel at the artistry of a bygone era.


This particular building caught my eye with its turrets and steep roof line.


It was time to head on foot, through the old town and up the hill to Stockalper's Castle. It was built in the 1600's by Kaspar Stockalper. He was called the King of Semplon becasue of his vast wealth and business dominance in the area. At one time he had a total monopoly over the salt trade in that area. 

At the peak of his power he employed 5,00 people even though Brig had a population of only 900!

Stockalper built the the road for the Semplon pass and a canal from Vouvrey to Collombey. After building his monumental "castle" the residents of the surrounding area drove him into exile in Domodossola Italy! 

All of this reminds me of one of my favorite sayings: "Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely!"



This warehouse, residence, castle was built between 1658 and 1678 and has extensive gardens surrounding it.


A piece of the inner courtyard which is now used for concerts and events.


One of the towers as shown from inside the courtyard.


A bridge connected different building of the complex.


It Was Time to Visit The Village of Ernen


This picture pretty town is nestled in the hills of Valais. Image credit


In a recent article we visited the Goms suspension bridge but we didn't have time on that occasion to visit the old village of Ernen. Now we did!

This village is home to the "Tell House" which was built in 1576 and has its facade painted with what are likely the oldest William Tell frescoes. The town was awarded the Wakker prize in 1979 for its preservation of architectural heritage. 


Here you can see the William tell Frescoes. While fades they have lasted for well over 400 years! How long has your last paint job lasted?


Here Are Some Other Structures in Ernen






We Next Decided to Drive up The Grimsel Pass


The Grimsel pass reaches an elevation of  2,164 meters or 7,100 feet and it links the Goms in Valais with Hasli Valley in Bernese Oberland. The first documented use of the pass was in 14th century although it may be that the pass was used in Roman times.


Here are some pictures that we took on our way up the pass. On the other side of the valley you can see the Furka Pass which goes from Gletch in the Canton of Valais to Andermatt in the Canton of Uri.



On the left is the road for the Furka pass and on the right the road for the Grimsel pass.


We were getting closer to the top and were amazed at how my cyclists venture up these mountain roads!


Off in the distance you can see the glacier that is the source of the Rhone River which travesl from here 812 km to the Mediterranean Sea!


The really cool thing about all of what I showed you is the it entails only about 3 hours of driving! There are so many wonderful things to visit within a small area!


I hope that you enjoyed seeing this portion of my holiday.


Until next time, 


 @kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

@kus-knee,
I wish one day STEEM will let me to buy a residence from this area! For me this is a mythical world with lots of wonderful views! Stunning photography and I think it might be a memorable trip to you!

Cheers~

Yes it's been great so far!

Hello my dear friend @kus-knee, and we continue with our holidays, my God, one image is more beautiful than the other, I am really surprised to see each of them, the castles that you show or the residences as you say, stores, they are a beauty its structure, they just need a princess up there, with their big hair and make desender, hahaha, the waterfall took my breath away, and being so close to the road is the most impressive, the view from the hotel window, is where, no, it is provaca to leave that place, although getting lost in such beautiful landscapes, makes you stay there for many more days. I hope you keep going very well, and remember that I am here following your steps, hahahahaha

Thanks so much for stopping by to have a look!

Thank you I have to give it to you, to show us places as beautiful as the ones you are visiting, they really inspire a lot of peace. I want to follow you always and enjoy these beauties

Fantastic scenery. It truly is out of a Fairy Tale!!


It always amazes when I see buildings in Europe with keystones and signs indicating that the building was erected in 1576 etc. Then, looking around Canada, a building is considered very old if it has existed since 1890. It's all perspective.

Really Switzerland is an awesome place for travelling. I enjoy it's beauty. I also appreciate your brilliant photography.

Nothing brilliant except the subject!

Oh wow switzerland is beautiful :)
I love it :)

Really extraordinary place @kus-knee

I loved this photography which seems professionally done (what kind of camera did you use I want to buy one for the same kind of events), the area and everything. I am planning to go there in snowy season. I told to my family I would want stay there for at least a month. I would need to budget it up though time and $s.

Thanks for sharing your experience of joys and fun. I think you're swiss...keep moving forward...all the best...

The camera is my iPhone! :(

@kus-knee can you tell me about this,

Suppose you can choose a beautiful picture or animal instead of a boring desk with a white wall. For example, when you display different effects on camera lighting, then what do they look like or how they really look?

these places are very beautiful i think you are interested in tour travel or picnic type i invite you to come in pakistan and see many beautiful places are there
you can visit this site to view 16 tourist places in pakistan..
https://www.dawn.com/news/1228738

  • Note It is not promoting any site this is the site of dawn news

I'm sure that there are some great places to visit in your area!

I'm sure that there are
Some great places to visit
In your area!

                 - kus-knee


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

It sounds like an amazing trip. Back then they made those old buildings to last and to be a statement for the rest of History. Thank you for sharing my dear friend @kus-knee

Yes right to this day they really care about quality!

Your posts are always on priority in my news feed. Because i am very impress by your work. Your posts shows your hard work.

What an amazing place to visit!
That water fall is so beautiful to watch.!

Yes we enjoyed every moment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44