SWEN is NEWS backwards!

in #swen7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6040.JPG

Fancy that! I had not realised until my brother pointed it out over the weekend. I had been explaining more about Steemit to him and my latest effort to kickstart Steemian powered, global, decentralised journalism. He really liked the idea and said...

"...ahhhhh, I see what you did there."
"Where?" I asked.
"With the name. SWEN. It's News backwards."
"It is?! I mean...it is. Pretty clever huh?"
"You didn't realise did you?."
"No."
"Wow."

I think I said something about wood and trees at that point. My brother wasn't buying it. Whatever the truth, a lucky coincidence, providencial interference or my own subconscious. The fact remains that SWEN is NEWS backwards and how apt it that?

Decentralised journalism, factual information about global events from source and backed by reputation....well that would turn the intellectually impoverished and morally bankrupt lame stream media on it's head, back-to-front, knock it sideways and probably put it to bed.

I'm really hoping there will be another true SWEN message at some point, though I hope the nature of the event does not mean there will be casualties.

There is still 50 Steem available to a SWEN in the correct format.

Please review these previous posts if you would like to know more.

https://steemit.com/growth-ideas/@benjojo/swen-steemit-world-event-notification

https://steemit.com/swen/@benjojo/swen-message

https://steemit.com/swen/@benjojo/swen-message-reward-of-50-steem-to-kickstart

Extra example SWEN;

https://steemit.com/swen/@themanualbot/swen-message


Happy Steeming

Sort:  

The word news also happens to contain only letters representing compass directions. NEWS = North East West South

Wow. Good spot. Yes I missed that too! But how neat! It's like the universe wants Steemians to decentralise the news! I wonder if there are any other messages still lurking in there?!

Thanks for sharing

My pleasure

Nice post and article. This is the right platform for decentralized journalism. Once Steemit finish working on it's video service and introduce it, it will be game over for Censorship. You now have a new follower, thanks for sharing and good luck.

I really hope so. Once there are millions of Steemians, initiatives like this will have an even greater chance of success. Thank you very much.

Befor I go to sleep, I want to share this thru the help of SWEN. https://steemit.com/swen/@themanualbot/swen-message-road-traffic-accident
I don't know if that is applicable to this idea cause it involves human safety and security. I just hope that I will not be able to witness worse than this when in terms on road accidents.

Anyways, thank you for featuring my post @benjojo.
Happy Steeming and Goodnight from here. :)

Hi themanualbot, this is another great effort. I'm very glad the motorbike rider was apparently not hurt too badly.

When deciding how to construct your SWEN, think about what value it may have. In this case, there does not seem to be much disruption to traffic, or if there was, it's been able to clear. As it appears to be an accident without culpability, the need for witness statements and a full documenting of the situation would be overkill. So what you have done here is actually about right for the situation. You've taken a photo of the scene as you found it and gathered some context. The SWEN message notifies the local community (when everyone is on the steem chain) that the incident occurred and can be referred back to if necessary.

I am preserving the final 50 steem hopefully for a new steemian who produces a SWEN message. I hope that's ok. I hope you'll keep reporting!

Never realized it. Good post.

I don't know if you read the other comments, but business-trail noticed SWEN contains all the names of the main points on a compass! I missed that too!

Lol! Thanks bud!! :)

Wish you long life and prosperity my good friend. It is well with you @benjojo! Did a post on helping out my mum get a new house. You might want to take a look at it here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@jimscope/usd500-000k-wow-what-i-wish-to-do-with-my-steemit-money-get-a-house-for-my-mum-by-the-end-of-next-month-upvote-if-you-support

A kind support from you is appreciated. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83