Surfing Lesson

in #surfing7 years ago (edited)

I thought I was in shape until I went surfing yesterday with some friends. It was about the 10th time I had ever surfed in my life. The waves adjusted me like a chiropractor. I’m feeling sore today but am looking forward to getting back out there.

The spot we surfed is only accessible via a cliffside staircase. The steps lead to cold, choppy water. There is no beach, only a slippery rock bed at the base of the cliff. My friends, who are much more experienced, led the way over the rocks until we were deep enough to start paddling out. It was the most challenging surf I’ve experienced yet. I swallowed salty water, laughed and learned some lessons. My buddies are awesome for showing me the ropes.

After being humbled for an hour and eventually catching one great wave, I started to paddle back in to the closest landfall and, unfortunately, cut my feet on some rocks at the base of the cliff. With the sets continually knocking me around and no place to find stable footing, I was about to roll my ankle. There was no sand to sprawl out on, just rocks and white water. In my frustration I looked up to millionaires on massive porches. They did not throw me a ladder because they were drinking wine. I turned around and started to paddle out again so I could circumvent that area and hopefully reach the staircase we originally came from.

As I moved along with bloody feet and chattering teeth, I saw a shirtless guy sitting on an outcropping just above the water. He was sitting on a flat surface with plenty of room. I thought I could possibly stop there and rest, maybe make a new friend and laugh about my inexperience. But when I swam closer I noticed he was talking loudly to nobody. The only company he had was a smiley face drawn on the rocks. His hair was disheveled and he was shouting rapidly about the “treacherous sea!” I thought of Tom Hanks and decided not to impose. So I swam back to the staircase, to a night of pizza and HBO, wondering if the man was a hallucination.

Sort:  

Congratulations @steven-b! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @steven-b! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45