Winter is Here: Hanging with My Boy

in #surf6 years ago

It's getting cold down here in Victoria, Australia. A whole 15 degrees today (I know that might sound balmy to some of you - @mrprofessor said it was 9 degrees where he is in Brazil today!) but it's a bit of a shock to the system. There's a light drizzle of rain today and a bit of wind, and the sky's all indigo and grey. Proper winter stylie.


image.png

I'm not complaining though - I got to hang with my boy and had a quick surf before the wind came in at Point Impossible.

Point Impossible was called so because the road used to be impossible to get in on. My Dad tells me how cars would get stuck trying to head down that road for a surf back in the day. It's also quite famous for being a nude beach. I'm all up for nude beachs, but back in the day, when there was no one around this town, it was kinda scary walking up the beach to Possos as there would be always some creepy guy staring at you from the sand dunes.
There's another nude beach at Point Addis - I think at once stage they wanted them banned, but that's hardly fair. If you want to hang it out, that's fine by me. Just don't come shake it in my face. I love a good skinny dip, though in this weather it's probably not the best idea.

My lad has given up on short boards - too much moving around for him. He's a slow and soulful kinda guy, and would much rather just chill. I gave him my old 9 ft Stephen Ashley mal and he loves it.


On the way out we were behind an old Valiant - not dissimiliar to the kinds of cars that would get stuck in the mud on the old track into Possos. Dad had an early model Holden - I'll have to ask him for those photos. I used to have a 1971 Valiant too so I do go a bit googly eyed when I see one.





We went out for a good post surf brekky - food just tastes better when you have been in the ocean. I had an avocado smash (a staple Aussie breakfast) with almond granola and goat's cheese, and J. had the big breakfast which came with an acai smoothie bowl with some coconut granola on top. Had a bit of a natter and then parted ways. Always good to have a surf with my lad.



I've just realised this is my third surf post in a week. It's because it's a good time for surfing and I've had a bit of time of work this week, so have got in the water a fair bit which has been fabulous. It remains to be seen whether I'll surf through the winter - it gets a bit cold for me!

Have you been in the water? What's it been like where you are? Or, have you got out and about in the fresh air and nature? I'd love to hear about it!




small river circle.png

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

I'm also totally honoured to be a passenger on the #ecotrain - check out this hashtag for some pretty amazing posts permaculture to meditation, environmental issues to food forests - I highly recommend checking out this tag as you're guaranteed of sweeeetness!



ecotrain.png

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 5.40% upvote!
I was summoned by @riverflows. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-24T06:05:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 149.40/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

"Surfing's the source, man. Swear to God" - kid to Keanu in Point Break, my very favourite guilty pleasure movie.

This was fun to share your day with you. So cool that you and your lad had a surf together.

HA!! Funny, coz we all railed against the fact that Bells Beach in that movie had a 'pharmacy' and a train station and pine trees... yeah dudes that aint Bells. Do love Keanu though...

Oh, man, that end scene is just excruciating, haha. The Australian accent is awful. Makes me laugh :)

This sounds heavenly! The ocean is one of my abdokyre favorite places to be! Huge bonus if I can be naked! Always wanted to learn to surf though never have. After reading your post I feel the desire rise up in me again! The ocean is calling! I think I am like your fella as I like to go slow and chill. So glad you found me as I now know you are out there and can follow you and your journey! Sending lots of love to you!

Likewise!!! Love to you. It was totally heavenly. Glad I found you too!

You call 15 degrees winter!!! I'm sweating and taking my cardi off at about 12 :P

Your son looks super happy to be surfing. You're so fortunate to live there. I'm in the north of England. Not the best weather for playing in the sea :P

SIGNATURE.png

Oh dear. don't you guys rub yourselves with goosefat when it gets above 10 for a suntan? Hehehehehe.....

hahahah yes we do! XD

SIGNATURE.png

What is natter?

Oh!!! Its like a chatter? As in chit chat or talk?

Oh ok thanks. We don't use that word in America.

Its an old fashioned one anyway I think. I'm not even sure where it came from in my head!

Ha well maybe I'll start using it! I'll be using some obscure old fashioned Australian term. 😁

That breakfast though! 👌 Love Aussie style brekky!
Have not been in a proper "warm"-ish water since last summer. Waiting impatiently now as the beautiful Mediterrenean takes a while to heat up. Have a great day!

OOOH, I bet you are looking forward to some warm meditarrean @fjorenca!! You have a good day too!

Yeah, Aussie breakfasts are hands down the best - no patriotism or anything, I've been to loads of places, and they are quite good here!

Another great day you have had at the beach:)

Sounds awesome! ... I'm hearing you about loving a good breaky after being in the ocean!

It makes you ravenous, doesn't It? I always love going for brekky with my tribe after a surf.

Buen post, @riverflows. bastante completo creo que cada uno de nosotros desearía visitar una ciudad tan hermosa y disfrutar de todos esos platos que presentas aquí a través de las fotos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50