You Aren't Alone, Things Can Get Better & I'm Still Here For You if Needed.

in #suicide7 years ago (edited)

In light of recent tragedy involving the death of one of our prominent community members it's become clear to me that we've got to shape up the way we deal with and perceive mental illness within our growing community.. Simply put the passing of @lauralemons should never have happened, although to paint yourself with guilt over it is a zero sum game.

We spend time on here, interacting with each-other, creating new friendships, sharing thoughts and ideals.. But is that really enough?

While I'll not glorify depression, suicidal thoughts, troubled minds or terrible past happenings in ones life, it's to be said out loud that nearly every human being I've ever got the chance to know "in real life" or online has battled with 1 or more of the listed above at some time in their life.

People we interact with here every day who seem to be content with life may actually be suffering the most. Without someone they feel they can turn to for support they may very well try to ease their own suffering, sadly the bravest of the sad folk may remove their own player from the game of life.. Wasting their potential and ultimately leaving us here on earth to deal with the sadness they were overwhelmed by.

It's Natural to Feel Sad Sometimes

Feeling low or being depressed isn't a sign of weakness of character or mind, if anything it may just correlate with a persons intelligence. No remotely intelligent being could look upon the state of our planet and societies without being filled with some form of sorrow or grief.

Our earth is a violent battle of survival, no matter where you look there is always something terrible happening: Wars, floods, famine, poverty, exploitation, predators and general disregard for the value of human life are a theme on every continent.. Often manifesting in different forms but none the less widespread in all countries, religions and societies.

While the above paragraph may seem far fetched to those living in safely gilded cages it honestly is how the world is. Often I've pondered why humans seem genetically predisposition'd to mistreat eachother.. My belief now stands that while our species and societies have started evolving away from "tribal" mentality it is still very much a part of our programming. Racism, homophobia and misleading news sources are all prime examples of this primitive tribal gene/code expressing itself in modern times. It can be completely engulfing at times to see all the pain and sorrow in the world... there is hope still, you'd not be here otherwise.

Reach Out When You Need It, Please

Statistically speaking most people who suffer from depression and end up taking their own life will go silent days before in an attempt to detach themselves from their emotional connections, mainly to ease their guilt of creating sorrow in their wake. They know that the sadness they feel will be magnified into their friends and family. They cut all ties and quietly go end their suffering in the only way they figure will fix it for good.

While I've not publicly shared this yet until now I too once succumbed to the sadness and took a shot at offing myself. Would have been 6 years ago now, the girlfriend at the time was bitching at me fiercely, my life seemed pointless and I was done trying.. so I casually set up a noose in the closet, then calm as a bomb proceeded to hang myself. While not an advocate of self harm or suicide while I was hanging there drifting out of consciousness the most overwhelming sense of peace came over me.

Rather than the darkness I'd expected to see, dazzling lights and colours began to dance in front of me. Wasn't my eyes that were seeing these colours, no.. They were being seen within my own mind but just as vivid as the reality we inhabit now, it was at that point my now ex-girlfriend heard me gurgling, came to see what I was doing and cut me down. When I came back to this realm I was no longer sad, rather than feeling the overwhelming sorrow I'd felt prior it felt like I'd been reset.. I told her calmly "I was at peace" as she wept and scolded me for being selfish and trying to kill myself.

Since that fateful day years and years ago hanging in my closet with my soul or whatever headed to disco heaven I've have not tried to end my life. Could have just as easily died that day, but was saved by a woman who would later go on to crush my heart.. Do I have a purpose on this planet?

Fuck if I know, but what I do know is that I'd try and help anyone here on STEEM who reaches out to me with a troubled mind. I cannot judge any person, because at the end of the day I've either been through it, been exposed to it or keep an open enough mind enough to accept another persons struggle and try to comfort them.

I'm Still Here, But it Ain't For My Benefit

I may not always have the right words, advice, analysis or picture to help people through their own self created hells. But I promise you I'll try everything within reason and power to aide in relieving your anguish.

Don't suffer in silence and think that ending your life is an option to escape the pain. You've been given the greatest gift this planet has to offer, life as the apex species here.. While it may be overwhelming at times to be bombarded with all the hate and evil in this world, if you EVER need someone to talk to.. I'm still here.

Let us Mourn, But Also Celebrate @lauralemons

In my family when someone dies we have a party celebrating their life, sharing fond memories of the departed and recalling good times.

Laura deserves the same, because let's face it, Steemit is more than a community.. We're a large, sometimes dysfunctional family.

If you've got any fond memories or instances where Laura impacted your life in a positive manner please share them below, I know it would help me a bit, maybe it will help others as well. May whatever deity she chose to put her belief in guide her to a more comfortable place to rest until her respawn timer spawns her back onto this planet.

Rest without pain or sadness Lovely, You'll be missed.

Sort:  

One fond memory of Laura I have was one of the earlier times we'd chatted. I was being all flirtatious and whatnot, you know, joking around with sentences like "Ever been with a top Witness baby? ;)"..
(my game is weak)

Rather than telling me to fuck off and leave her alone she played along with it and entertained my somewhat terrible attempt to hit on her..

Wasn't really that long ago now that I think about it.. Man.

Anyways, She was a wonderfully complex and vibrant person! The very fact she played along with my somewhat laughable novice attempt to try to pick her up will always stand out to me. I remember her as the girl who didn't make me feel bad for using bad pickup lines.

This one is for you Ms. Lemons! May your legacy live on in our hearts, memories and blockchain.

I just read about Laura, and I shocked .. also sad to know. A person like her just passed away. Many steemians who know about her, will miss her present in the future.

Honestly, I do not know about Laura. I think, she is a wonderful person... I should check it about her. :)

That comment cracked me up a lot. You're more charming than you make it appear to be and you know it and that's part of your charm.

I'll miss her too. I used to talk to her too. This week was one of the most interesting discussion we had.

This one is for you Ms. Lemons! May your legacy live on in our hearts, memories and blockchain.

Thanks for the reply and letting me know you got a giggle out of it. That is the point of sharing our good memories of her. Far better to have tears in your eyes but be laughing than just sad.

<3

That really is some weak ass game..

I figured throwing my prestige at her would have melted panties.. But alas she was far to smart to fall for my terrible pickup line game..

Well it happens... good news is there's more fish in the sea... mostly us minnows..

Well, you are kinda cute I guess Dave.. ;)

And hung like a prize field mouse

lmfao. Thank you for the laugh sir. +1

Que buen post, sigue así amigo!

@kyle I love your courage in sharing your story here alongside of @lauralemons. I just read a couple of her posts for the first time and am grateful to be here myself after several of my own suicide attempts. The purpose I see for us is to make Steem a divine gift to the world that helps with healing, forgiving, and reconnecting. What you shared here is exactly why I think Steem is amazing. Thank you for the inspiration! tip!

Thanks for the comment Jerry! I realize you're an extremely busy man so seeing your comment here means a lot to me. Your mention in the latest post of yours was sweet and the $10 SBD tip was a kind gesture. A part of me hopes that maybe someone out there sees this post and reaches out to someone rather than game over'ing themselves..

We're still here, not sure if by some divine intervention, luck, fate or higher purpose... Either way each day is a blessing of sorts. Even when going though your own hells there is always some way to feel ok again. I'm not a great writer, artist or rolemodel... But I'm willing to share my experience in hopes someone doesn't have to go through the lows that I did.

Cheers Jerry.

Call me old fashion, but if you commit suicide... Fuck em.

I looked through her posts. Seems like quitting quit drinking 36 days ago... moral of the story: Don't quit things you love or life might not be worth living.

RIP. It does suck though, but shouldn't be glorified or treated like it is "OK".

Less people would kill themselves if they knew no one would pay attention to them.

That being said... I'm always here to attempt to talk you out of your Japanese Schoolgirl sad moments bb! BUT if you actually do it... then fuck you too! <3 :D

(this is why I don't go to suicide funerals suicide funerals.) shuts mouth

... * shakes head *

I respect your right to have your own opinion on the matter bb. However I don't view people who off themselves as something that should be scolded or disregarded. People kill themselves because they are in pain, to dishonour or neglect this fact and look down on them because they opted to try to fix it once and for all.. Well, makes a man look insensitive and rude.

Regardless of how you deal with suicide bb, this ain't a "fuck em" situation. We lost a person who essentially laid the foundation for a lot of things that are common practice here now. :/

Laura and I got along fine if I didn't offer her advice, she was full of rage and pain, all I could do is listen. We both struggled with autoimmune disease and pain from sexual abuse. I have so much experience dealing with the struggles and coming out healthy, I didn't give up, which so many times I wanted too. It took me 25 years with no help from the medical community, they wanted to give me pills, pills don't fix external problems like addictions, negative conditioning, dysfunctional relationships with self and other, the causes of my health problems.

I tried telling her don't give up, live to be healthy....I understand why she left. For those who are contemplating suicide please don't commit suicide with a troubled mind! Find balance first and when you do, you will find the pain and loneliness isn't so bad and you can live to help others who are struggling to find balance.

I also gathered from my talks with her that she was heavily effected by her past abuse, carrying it around like dead weight. Knowing you reddust you did what you could to cheer her up and free her from the sorrow she'd kept with her so long.

You're 100% correct about the pills. I've tried mood stabalizers and antidepressants myself.. Great way to dull yourself out and be high as shit on the doctors sponsored meds.. But at the end of the day it's ultimately yourself that decides if you're going to try to be a survivor or let the past destroy you.

Proud of you reddust. You're an inspiration to myself and many others here.

The antidepressants wrecked my digestive system and I suffered from weight gain along with malnutrition. Which made everything worse. I found out the system makes profit from my illness and does not practice health medicine only symptom management.

Thank you @kyle, I hope others will explore why they are ill and find balance. Many of us will never be totally healthy but we still can find balance even when our world is full of rage and pain. I have seen so many people find their health, if not health, they find ease whilst they are dying through disciplining the mind, developing healthy relationships and diet.

If anyone needs to chat with me, I will dump my aversion to chat rooms and give you my ear to listen and the use of my shoulder to cry on....and if you give me free rein I will drown you in meditation and nutritional advice <3

We grief for Luara, but we need to move forward. She is happy now with God his angels. She feel no pain and no sadness now.

If she went to the disco heaven I caught a glimpse of when I tried to "an hero" I bet you're right.

Great post my friend! I have an incredible amount of respect for you sending this message. You have modeled this personally by reaching out during some of your toughest times. You are a good man to try and help others through your experience and caring. Seriously man. This is why I love steemit. This is how a COMMUNITY acts. Trying to pull each other up when they need it.

(Insert more words about how awesome and kind this is because I am too emotional to think right now).

<3 Thanks for the feedback an perspective man.. I guess I do reach out for help here when I get to dangerously low levels of mind. Steemit clan has always been there to pick my crazy ass back up, brush me of, smack my ass and put me back out on the field. Can't help but feeling that I failed this girl though. She was there for me when I needed it.. Just wish she'd of let me know she needed it before going and wasting that beautiful soul of hers.

We are family here. All of the "old timers" around here have been interacting for a year basically and creating bonds.. The feelings, friendships, failures and fumbles are all real, and felt by us all.

<3

Sometimes I have thought about commiting suicide (just a vague thought that only lasted a few hours or minutes) The main reason that make me reject that decision is I won´t be the only victim, I would harm my familiy and my friends too.

However, I do not judge people that commits suicide, your own mind can become a terrible enemy, and fleeing from him it is impossible .

I think most intelligent being play with the idea atleast once. You are right though, it's not you who suffers after but the ones who cared about ya.

The mind can be your greatest ally or worse nemesis.. All depends on what side you choose to feed.

I really like your posts, maybe I'm interested in your post, I wait for your next posting

Normally they aren't this emotional.. Generally has more whale balls.

Amazing, Great Blog...Than you from all my heart...

You are most welcome sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88