You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is This Cat About To Ruin De-centralized Social Media!?

in #success7 years ago

I'm new here. And I'm so confused. I have been perusing the posts of people I might want to friend to see if we are at all like minded. Are you saying that if I like a post that's more than 7 days old it actually hurts them? This makes no sense. If I find a post that's 2 weeks old and I really like it and want to leave a comment or just a thank you, what am I supposed to do? Leave it as though I didn't see it?

Sort:  

Not at all. To clarify, what is going on, there are a lot of people offering to sell their up-voting power for a small contribution. It's usually a good way to gain an audience because an up-voted post will be more accessible to people, and will give the author a higher reward. The issue with grumpy cat is that too many people are using this service right before they get paid out for a quicker profit. When this is done like this, only the author is benefiting by cashing out at a higher payout at the last moment. usually, when a post is discovered earlier in it's life cycle, readers, have the opportunity to gain additional rewards by finding good content. If an author promotes their post at the tail end, the reader isn't able to take advantage of this reward. I agree with this being a little shady, but the way Grumpy cat is going about it, is he is flagging peoples posts which is hurting the author. I don't agree with the way he's going about it..... hmm. I hope that was clear. I'm not that old in the community yet and I still need to do a lot of research on how it works myself. In short though, you never have to worry about up-voting content that you enjoy. Only flagging a post will negatively affect an author.

Thank you. Someone mentioned communities. I guess like groups on FB. Do you know how to find and join those? I'm looking for anyone interested in paranormal or dentistry, but I don't see any tags for those.

Steemit hasn't been around long enough for all of the tags that would be normal on most platforms. It haven't hit mass adoption quiet yet. Plus, most people get the most views from crypto news and such. as for finding those topics, perhaps write an article on one of them and make sure your tag has one of those key words in them. I don't that you can openly search tags specifically, but have you tried using the search function in steemit? I says it's driven by google, but every result will be exclusive to steemit. I did a quick search right now and found some of these: https://steemit.com/haunting/@annasophia/a-haunting-is-the-best-paranormal-tv-show-of-all-time
https://steemit.com/paranormal/@tecnosgirl/haunting-at-oakhurst-playhouse

https://steemit.com/dentistry/@anne1211nne1211/is-dentistry-course-a-good-choice

... so I suppose that there are those topics. just use the internal search. Hope this helps!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59214.68
ETH 2622.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44