Story Cubes Round 5 Entry - A Children's Steem Story

in #storycubes7 years ago (edited)

For Round 5 I took the Story Cube Suggestions and made a Children's story about Roger, The Steem Minnow. Please enjoy!

See the Challenge pictures at the bottom of the post, along with a link to the original challenge post.

printable-treasure-map-for-kids-1.jpg
Image Credit: Tim van de Vall http://www.timvandevall.com/printables/templates/treasure-map-printable-01/

Sit down my friends and let me tell you the story of Roger, a young minnow in the great expanse known as Steem. In fact, Roger was so new to the world, that he didn’t know what it meant to be a minnow.

Roger needed followers. He had read that was the first and most important thing he could do. So he went to the trending page and commented on all of the posts shouting “Follow 4 Follow! I upvote you, you upvote me please!”

Well, as you might expect, poor Roger had a bad time of it. His efforts went down like a fiery plane crash.
The whales of the ocean looked down at the little minnow with spite in their eyes.

Most simply ignored Roger, they had seen this act before. Some even used the voting power to flag him, and Roger found himself with a reputation of nineteen.

Well, my friends, as you know, it is hard to come back from a drubbing like this. But Roger found a group of minnows who showed him a better way. “No vote4vote Roger!” They told him. “You have to put out useful content that people enjoy seeing and people will like it and vote for you.”

So Roger was at a Crossroads . Should he keep doing what he had been doing? After all, he now had almost a hundred followers. But people whose votes would give him rewards didn’t like him. So maybe he should take the recommendations of the other minnows like a sack of magic beans and spread around his interests and see what happened.

“Write about what you know. About who you are, and what you like to do.” One helpful Dolphin told Roger. This causes a light to go off in Roger’s head, like he had just found a treasure map to success!

“Write what I know?” Roger shouted with glee and amazement. “I can do that!”

So over the next few days, Roger began to write. He really enjoyed things like photography and sports So he wrote an article about the baseball game he had gone to with pictures he took of a player sliding in to home.

He posted the article he had written, and what do you know! A whale swam by and gave him an upvote. Other upvotes followed, and Roger suddenly found himself out of the hole he had dug himself in, and with reward payouts coming.

Seven days later, Roger had new Steem Power in his account. With his new reputation, and some Steem Power to his name, Roger went on to post more good articles, and made more new friends. He soon forgot about the old vote4vote ways, and became a useful and talented member of the Steem community.

So boys and girls, the lesson we learned from Roger today is to always write what you know, and don’t beg for votes. If you create good content, good people will come and you will be successful and happy.

Learn from Roger. Don’t be a Vote4Vote Kid!

DQmWqBVk1VBFWpKVNFRSyvZUSvLw3WZtzSUkNit1Rkp1UBG_1680x8400.jpg
Original Challenge Post
https://steemit.com/storycubes/@jacobtothe/story-cubes-contest-round-5#@mikepm74/re-jacobtothe-story-cubes-contest-round-5-20170825t015434748z

Sort:  

What a lovely little story mikepm74! Really nice for the younger friends we have on here, keep it up!

Thank you so much for stopping by @sweetsssj! I have a ten year old, so I was trying to write the plight of the minnows in a format that he could understand.

I'm not saying minnows are ten year olds.... Or am I? 😂

Have a wonderful day!!!

#bellyrubchallenge WINNER:)

Agreed, a really nice, cool story @sweetsssj! That's why a @bellyrub is coming:)

Thanks @kid4life! I appreciate the @bellyrub! And your stopping by to check out the story!

May I never have to face you across a poker table Sir. hehe.

Np !

Ah... we could play HU and all be the only one at the table:P

Man that would be the easiest money you ever made! I am such a hold em novice!

I managed to get in the 18 on Saturday this weekend when the wife and kid were out doing something, made it to 12th place before going all in and getting stomped.

I had fun though, will def do it again when time allows.

haha Im more of a OMAHA guy, but playing NLH also... mostly on live games or a tourney...

GAMBLE ONLY WHAT YOU CAN AFFORD!

Take care;)))

This doesn't have anything to do with the post above, but I saw your comment on the Sports Podium page and saw your Preds profile picture. I live in Nashville and just wanted to say hey! I'm so pissed they lost this year but what a ride! Hope you to see you around on here and hopefully Sports Podium too if it works out!

Hey @cammaster! Good to see a neighbor!

Yeah that was a ride wasn't it? I was able to make it to one of the games in the second round, but not again after that. And I don't do crowds well, so I didn't go downtown.

and yeah. looking forward to seeing what sportspodium has up its sleeve.

Great story with a map encouraging minnows to bounce back from setbacks, chose a new path, and burn bright instead of burning out!

I would only suggest citing the source for your map image.

Good call @jacobtothe. I got in a hurry to post and forgot it. Adding now.

I loved this! You have an engaging style :)

Awww... thanks @arbitrarykitten! I appreciate that.

My style really varies quite a bit. This is just what came to me from the prompt. The next story I am working on is not quite so.... tame? Haha It is from the world of the reimagined Battlestar Gallactica and Caprica TV shows. So a bit more rough around the edges.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Advice written in a way that every minnow should understand and in an entertaining way too. Good stuff.

Thanks @hopehuggs! I am glad you enjoyed it. It isn't what I sat down to write, but it is what came out once I started. Funny how writing can work like that.

Thanks!! Have a great day!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 1.20 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @kid4life. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Thank you mikepm74. I am a brand new member. This is good advice for me and for all new members getting a feel for what steemit is all about. Actually, great advice for any writer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55