My First Novel: "They Didn't See It Beneath Them" - All 12 Chapters (Original Story)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

More than 200 followers later, I've decided to post the entirety of my first novel with all of the links to the previous posts I had made on Steemit over 3 months ago. If you enjoy the story, please feel free to leave me a comment on any of my newer unrelated posts, or message me in steemit.chat to @verbal-d

If you like underwater deep sea action stories with monstrosity-type ancient creatures, which are all based on evidential existence, which are now deemed extinct, then this is a quick and thrilling read for you. I've gotten positive feedback from the community before about this short novel. My good friend @papa-pepper said he absolutely loved it, so much so that he waited awhile before reading the last chapter because he didn't want it to end.

My other great friend @dreemit read it in its entirety in one day and felt the rush of the action drove the storyline with excitement. @therealpaul started it recently in one day and reached the 8th chapter and said he really enjoyed it so far, so I'm really grateful to have been getting recent encouraging feedback on this story. I'm definitely looking for more engagement on this story as I'm still deciding whether or not I shall continue with a new timeline sequel/follow up installment, and I'm also working on some other aspects of this project as well.

Please let me know your thoughts, enjoy the adventure awaiting you.

Chapter 1: Ferocious Fishing
Chapter 2: Unlucky Timing
Chapter 3: A Very bad Choice
Chapter 4: A Gutsy Giving

Chapter 5: A Single Stroke From Death
Chapter 6: A Fast Escape And An Even Quicker Retreat
Chapter 7: The Other Powerful Predator
Chapter 8: The Co-Motion In The Ocean

Chapter 9: An Easy An Helpless Meal
Chapter 10: More Drones And The Mother Blue Whale
Chapter 11: The Whale Wall And The Disappearing Act
Chapter 12: The Megalodon Meets The...



Thank you for reading this post in its entirety, I hope you can take something from this for what it's worth.


I'll still be continuing accepting donations until I can reach my goal to fly out to america with my children and wife to visit my family as it is very urgent indeed.



I've raised $1069 and .97 cents of Steemit Currency in total from both My Posts and Donations from Steemit Community Members this 2017 forward and $00.00 in US Dollar Donations so far towards my goal of $ 6,000.00 (Six Thousand) US Dollars and will keep everyone updated with every new future post that I submit.
This total amount will not only include donations I've received to the Paypal account I've provided: [email protected], but it will also include the Steemit Currency that I accrue/receive from all of my personal posts starting the 1st of January of 2017 forward calculated after a 48 hour time frame is finished for the payout cycle of each post to avoid miscalculating the fluctuating price of Steemit Currency.



For more information on that, please check my New Year's/Happy Bday Post

Thanks sincerely again in advance for all your help, anything and everything helps.


A SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL GENEROUS AND GIVING DONORS HERE FROM THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY!
@fulltimegeek, @papa-pepper, @scammymcspambot, @prufarchy, @trevor.george, @dreemit, @inphiknit, @hopehuggs, @jedau, @sumsum, @edgarstudio, @the-future


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

It's funny ... Maybe it's worth trying to read)

Which part is funny? I hope you enjoy the story, I definitely believe it's worth the read but I'm biased as the author :) Feel free to comment here when you are finished. Thanks for checking this out.

I guess I meant it's not funny, but something interesting, it's worth a look. Lost in translation)

Oh I understand, thanks for clarifying. Let me know what you think when you read it. It definitely won't bore you! Have a wonderful evening.

Great job compiling this. I've had trouble finding it so I was about to message you for the links. It's awesome that you did this in advance of it.

Oh you are most welcome bro, I'm glad I was able to make this easily accessible for you. Thanks for dropping a comment, I look forward to your reaction to this one. :)

Since I'm not able to leave any comments per chapter, might as well leave an all-encompassing review here. I rarely take the time to do a catch-up in one sitting, but I made an exception for your novel because I know you'd do the same. I hope I don't miss any points here, and I'll try my best to cover everything.


Whew! That was one hell of a ride! I didn't think I would be able to power through from start to finish in one sitting, but that I did. I don't want to get too technical with this review, so I'll just mention some criticisms in passing. While I enjoyed the GIFs very much, the formatting of some chapters needs to be addressed. Some paragraphs were one or two lines, while some were a huge block of text (even as big as a Megalodon). I don't really want to get into the other criticisms, so I'll just focus on the positives. If you want me to point these out, just let me know, brother. I'm alright with messaging you instead of publishing it here.

As a huge marine biology nut (in another life that would've been my profession) and a fishing enthusiast (you can strand me in the middle of the ocean and I would be the happiest guy on the planet), I really enjoyed the theme of the story. There's so much of the world's oceans that are unexplored, and I'm sure that these fantastic creatures are out there in the lower depths. To be perfectly honest, at first I really thought this is going to be tackling Cthulhu-level threats, but when I discovered it was about sharks, I was still on-board. I love a good monster/kaiju throwdown.

I didn't expect that the initial threat was that of a Dunkleosteus. I thought it was an interesting choice. I really appreciated the use of cyptids in this. You weren't shy about ramping up the action, as evidenced from the scenes of the final chapter. It was such a long journey from the initial one where the focus was merely on two people. I must say that it's quite refreshing.

Too often, stories of this kind of magnitude tend to pick characters that readers can relate to so that they can act as the viewpoint inside the story. You switched from view to view until we ended up with the Leviathan at then end. It was a bold move introducing a new character in the very last paragraphs. In retrospect, the switching viewpoints look like the foodchain, where bigger predators succeed their prey. Overall, nice job, brother! This is a complete 180 from what you usually put out :D

Thanks so much for the great feedback bro. That's wonderful to hear that you were able to finish it also so quickly like @dreemit. That's a big compliment. It's my first novel, and I am sure I can definitely fix the paragraph formatting, but since everything is more than three months ago, there's no way to edit those posts other than the actual document I have.

Feel free to let me know the other criticisms you have either here or steemit.chat It's all preferential but doesn't mean I won't take it into consideration by any means. I am open to hearing feedback to improve my approach.

I'm glad you took time out to complete it, thank you very much again. I didn't want to take on too big of a legendary folklore story, so I stuck with what I knew. I especially enjoyed researching about the Leviathan and the food chain succession was indeed a aim I was going for :)

Glad you enjoyed the adventure for what's it worth. Do you think I should aim for a sequel? I would have no idea where to start, but that's usually how all of my creations begin, I just jump in and go and find my way lol

With regard to a sequel, maybe you can do the same approach that the Cloverfield series did. Tell a story from a completely different perspective with a completely different approach, then connect them. They plan on a trilogy, so I think the third one would deal with the origins of the creatures.

That's very interesting input and a cool suggestion. If I decide on a follow up story, I'll definitely let you know and consider my options and your feedback. Appreciate your insight bro

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $21.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41