Raining Rocks! (A real-life story)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

It was a bit alarming the day that the rocks starting rain down on our tin roof. As my wife and I struggled to determine what was happening, we could hear the laughter of several neighborhood boys running away from our house. And as I peeked outside of the front door, all I saw was the back of their school uniforms and dark hair rustling as they ran away.

Our family had never experienced anything like this since we had moved overseas. We deeply loved our life in Indonesia, but there were moments that deeply challenged our family.

If this had been an isolated incident, I think that I could have shrugged it off as "boys being boys." But when the rocks kept raining down on our roof day after day, my annoyance started growing into something more.

I tried my best to see who was throwing the rocks, but the neighborhood boys always alluded me. It seemed like they enjoyed this game of cat and mouse. Though I am not as quick as I use to be, I would almost bet that they started racing past my home even before they threw the rocks. Though small in size, the rocks echoed like thunder on our tin roof.

I was almost ready to walk up and down the neighbor so that I could have a discussion with all the parents who would lend me their ear.

roof-690812_640.jpg

East Meets West

I was thinking about how to solve the "problem" from my western mindset. And if I had been able to execute my plan, I would have created greater chaos. I feel confident that the rocks would have kept coming. The rain would not have stopped.

My mind kept reeling about how I could resolve this discomfort for my family while maintaining a good standing with our community. I recalled a story that I had read several years before about a woman who was dealing with conflict in the country where she lived.

The story goes something like this:

A young mother was struggling with the noise coming from a directional speaker that is attached to a local place of worship. It seemed that over the last few weeks the sounds had become increasingly louder. While he husband was away at work she faced many challenges as she raised her your family in another country.

Nap time had become almost impossible. Her young children were not getting rest, which was stressing out the mother and creating uneasiness in the family. She was at the point where she was ready to tell off the local community and religious leaders. She had had enough of their insensitivity. Enough was enough!

But she stopped herself and pondered about a better way to advocate for her family. A few days later, the mother was talking to the night watchman of the place of worship. "How are you doing ma'am?" he asked.

And with a calm and gentle voice, she began to explain that her children have not been feeling well because they had not been sleeping well. The man experienced genuine concern for his neighbor and asked if there is anything that he can do to help. The woman continued to explain that a recent increase in noise in the neighborhood resulted in her family's lack of sleep. And as the conversation ended, the man and woman parted with a local greeting.

Within days, the woman noticed a significant change in the volume that was coming from the speaker. She was able to get her children down (and keep them down) for their naps and at bedtime.

The woman avoided a major incident within her community and was able to advocate for her family. She had to act in a way that was not natural for her, but in the way that would be best received by her community.

I finally caught up with the boys!

I was working in the backyard while my children were playing. I heard the infamous rocks hit the roof and slide down until they landed on the ground. My oldest children were about 5 feet away from where one of the rocks landed.

I start running in a dead sprint to the front of the house. The boys were laughing as they ran away, but their expressions quickly changed. Their eyes grew to the size of half-dollars. They had never seen an adult man (with white skin) running down their street. They were scared.

I yelled out asking that they stop, and they yelled in reply, "We didn't do it!"

"Don't worry. I did not say that you did anything. But can you help me? Some of the neighborhood boys have been throwing rocks on top of my roof. Just a few moments ago, one of the rocks almost hit my oldest child. I would be sad if my child was hurt and it would be difficult to watch her cry."

"Can you talk to the neighborhood boys and ask them to stop throwing rocks on my roof? I would really appreciate it."

I walked away with a big smile on my face. And the next day and the next day, that same grin kept coming back. The rocks stopped raining!

Final Thoughts

Sometimes in life, we have to think differently. Sometimes we have to take a different approach. Sometimes we learn a new trick even though we are an old dog.

For the life of me, I can not remember what book I read that told the story of the lady and her kids, but I appreciate that it crossed my path at a time in life where I could apply the truth I learned to my own life.

I want to encourage you to talk a step back every once in awhile and look at life from a different set of lenses.

I want to hear from you!

  1. Do you have a similar story to share? Tell me about it in the comments section.
  2. How do you face challenging situations?
  3. Do you ever step back and try to walk a mile in someone else's shoes?

Thanks for stopping by. Let's keep the conversation going.

@sumatranate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/roof-texture-construction-pattern-690812/

Sort:  

Interesting story and an interesting insight into something I would call "cultural differences". Congratulation of finding right approach to tackle the problem 🙂

Mind you, putting something soft on the top of the roof would also provide some relief 😃

"Do you ever step back and try to walk a mile in someone else's shoes?" - Not often enough I suppose.

@pibyk, I definitely experienced many cultural differences when I lived overseas. I could have put something soft on my roof, but that would have cost too much money :)

Thanks for the comment!

I am very impressed with the kanda @sumatranate naruto tell us can we fight with good.
God will not eat his servant beyond his ability, every coabaan there must be a wisdom. we can men introspection ourselves.

I used to live with a family living with the simplicity of living in a comfortable home to live in, I was only 16 years old when it was self-sustaining, when the parents had sustenance and started building homes, once wooden houses were built with concerted in concrete, but in Indonesia many people who do not believe in witchcraft, magical people who envy our family, parents who are outdoors are full of fun when they beretorika together, but they fit home without cause and effect they started noisy no, our family 4 my brothers who is the third son but the younger brother who is still 10 years old who is still sitting in grade 6 primary school
unfortunate that hit our family who live with affection from the two parents, when God gave the wisdom but gods want our faith.
I feel with this calamity I started to rise what was once what we hope to be accomplished, but with this disaster I have to learn starting from zero without depending on the parents but have to fight for life if ga not work that is the words that motivated me so far .
I feel when there is a suspect's trials-this life will be full of challenges but when we enjoy with gratitude for all the blessings that are in it, this life feels this is the real life struggle to live very in feel without any problems we never develop, the more many of the problems we face then the more mature we are.
Hopefully I can finish the study s1 with permission of God hopefully later can continue the study S2 later.

I can really get to know kanda in steemit hopefully charring for my stepping stone to be able to develop into a better person.

@emirzafirdaus, I am sorry to hear about this disaster that has impacted your family. It sounds like are a strong person. I wish you the best for your future.

Imanku sangat penting bagiku. Saya harap Tuhan akan bantu anda dalam segala semua cobaan. Semoga suskes dan bekerja keras.

I am very sorry to hear the behavior of children who stretch the stone to the roof of the house of the father, but one that I applaud the father took the action of the crime can be countered with tenderness @sumatranate

semoga kanda nanti mau balek lagi ke indonesia, saya sangat mengkagumi anda
dan semakin penasaran perjalan bapak dan posisi sekarang dimana, saya akan mengikuti perkembangan kanda insya allah

It's an interesting experience you encountered. The story you shared about the woman and the noise was a great example, and how it lead to you being able to think differently about your situation. I can't think of any examples of the top of my head, although you have me thinking now - when have i done something similar. Thanks for getting to me to took at this issue, I like that.

I loved how you were able to produce a result and do so diplomatically.

@naquoya, I appreciate you stopping by. Thanks for the kind words and encouragement. I always enjoy it when I can challenge someone to take a second look at an important issue.

Your comment means a lot to me.

a very moving story. I represent Indonesian children apologize for the incident. sorry if my comment is not always true because I use google translate.

@andhika12, you don't have to apologize for what happened.

Pada saat itu saya merasa kurang baik. Saya tidak memahami kenapa ini terjadi, tetapi ini menjadi pengalaman yang baik bagiku. Saya bisa belajar kesabaran and bagaimana berinteraski lebih baik dengan masyarakatku.

I love Indonesia and her wonderful people. Thanks for the commment.

You are welcome brother @sumatranate.

good luck and always. greetings for the whole family

Hey @sumatranate

I already live some dangerous story. One time, I was going to the city where I work in bus. However, in TV they've announced a storm coming and at the end of the afternoon. When I depart from my city the wind starts becoming very strong ... and the bus was not very recent so it shake a lot. Even the driver talk on the microphone to everyone put the seat belt because he don't know if he could control the bus...
In the end everything goes right and I arrive in safety in city where I work, hopefully :)

@criptomaster, I am glad you are ok. I would have been scared if this had happened to me. Thanks for sharing!

I got the point in your story sir, you Face by your own Way, That good I appreciated. But if My Way that Rock near My Boy, I would slap them and talk to them parents for Learn them children in good or I will take a part to do.

I so sorry about the attitude of Indonesian people like that, I felt shame of, I Acehness if you need help telling me if someday you go to Aceh sir. Greeting and nice to read and Learn from your story.

@dilimunanzar, jangan merasa malu. Ini menjaid pengalaman yang penting bagiku.

I have so many great memories of Indonesia. Saya sangat rindu teman-teman indonesiaku.

Semoga suatu saat Anda bisa kembali ke Indonesia Mr.

Salam dari Aceh sumatra, Indonesia :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 36 (2/4/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Gaining peace by giving peace - good way to go Bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41