Quest For the STEEM Community Silver Round! or What Would You Do-o-o For a Steemit Coin?

in #story7 years ago (edited)
If you or a loved one is suffering from Steemithelioma, you may be entitled to know that you can still purchase some coins through @sevinwilson on Discord (sevinwilson#5606) or Steemitchat (@sevinwilson). He's very friendly and prompt at replies!

I ended up getting more than I bargained for, when I set out on a mission last week to help another Steemian acquire what will be known as legendary coin in coming years. These are the 1oz silver Steem Community Coins that were made in a one-time mint of 1500 pieces. This was the brainchild of @sevinwilson, along with minters @phelimint, and @ejr to produce. @bearone won a contest and got to design the back that has minnows, dolphins, and whales swiming in a circle- It just looks so damn cool.


23782201_10211109126463860_486852660_n.jpg
"Mama always told me not to look into the eye's of the sun"


I saw @mikepm74 make a post

saying that he was looking for one and how he was kicking himself in the face for not purchasing one at the pre-release for under $30 that sold out in 2 weeks. Being the genius that I am, I didn't even know about them, until stumbling across his request. I like helping others, and wanted to lend a hand, but my reply was more like;

"Although I don't know where or how to get a hold of one, I'll try to keep my eyes peeled for you. Those coins are a part of Steemit's history and would be really nice to have."

I actually completely forgot about the whole thing, until I was scrolling through posts and came across a heart-warming tale about how @papa-pepper gifted out a STEEM silver round, but got gifted back two other silver rounds instead of one! I asked nicely if he knew anyone who was still selling these awesome coins. If anyone would know, it would definitely be big papa. He promptly replied with a short list, that I forwarded to Mike!

23772437_10211109156624614_772366446_n.jpg

@sevinwilson's design. Newbies are gonna wonder what this symbol is


I Originally Didn't Want One

That was until someone actually got back to him from the list we supplied. What made it cooler, was that it was the original creator! He was only going to buy one, but after realizing how much Steemit has impacted his life, he figured two would probably be better. As he was letting me know this in chat, a thought crossed my mind.

Y'know, this is probably one of the last opportunities that I would probably be able to get one myself, if I really wanted to. In a couple of months, the price already doubled to $60, and when they get even more scarce, no one will be parting with theirs for anything under a ridiculous price. I thought back to the previous week, when I talked about what Steemit meant to me, and I realized that my life had changed a lot since joining back in July. It may not sound that long on paper, but being here everyday has taught me countless valuable lessons that I'll never forget.


A Meme You Can Hold

Also, how cool will that be, when the next several waves of Steemians come in and think; "Wait there's a physical coin?" and get all confused about Crypto. Similar to the story where a TSA agent claimed to spot some guy at an airport trying to smuggle some Bitcoins in his luggage. This is an integral part of Steemit's history, and at some point I was going to really wish I did buy it when I could. I hit up @sevinwilson to order one myself.

23845493_10211109156504611_48207466_n.jpg

@bearone's winning design that reminds us of the struggles we all face!


Fast Shipping

It didn't even take a week to get it, all the way to Hawaii for that matter, and I held it up- Heavy in my hands. To my my surprise, the number was within the first 500. At that point I was happy to get anything from this batch at all, but I think it was a pretty good job- Considering how late I joined in, and I'm really grateful for that. You get a certificate with the coin number on it, AND it's also engraved on the side of the actual coin. My phone camera sucks, but it looks something like this!

I held it in amazement as there was finally something physical I could hold to represent my dedication for the platform I've come to love. While this coin may not be joining my bin of toys at my desk, it will be kept safe, for when I pray to the upvote gods on a post, or for divine judgement in winning a contest! :D Nothing's wrong with having a good luck charm.



If you still want a coin, you can buy them before everyone goes hard HODL.




Everyone has been informed that this will be a yearly thing, so why not collect the perfect set? I'm officially a coin collector. Act now!~


BANNER_THE_PROJECT.png

Sort:  

It was a pleasure doing business with ya! This was a great post! I am glad you were able to get one! Hopefully you will become more of a "stacker" now! :D

The pleasure was all mine! I don't know about becoming a stacker myself, but I'm off to a good start if I do!~

This is an amazing story @shello and love how you explain how you got to where you purchased one. The SteemIt community is definitely unique.

Thank you very much @steemitqa,

I thought it would super cool, glad I'm not alone! The Steemit community is definitely something amazing :D

That's quite a story. I got one of those coins off @raybrockman for a buddy here who no longer posts but is still a dedicated Steem supporter. They're awesome and make me wish I still had a mailbox and could have ordered one when they were on sale. Maybe we'll see a second run of these or maybe a gold round next? @phelimint how about it

That's good to share the love to the people who enjoy being here (even if he doesn't post anymore) They are super cool. You should try hitting up @sevinwilson, to see if he'll hold one. To my understanding this design is retired now. Gold round would be pretty sweet though!

There are others who have several coins. We may see some contests come up during xmas and all that, it'd be a good gift for people.

I legit read somewhere that someone has over 100 of 'em xD
Tis the season, so we'll definitely see something coming up~

That's pretty sweet, didn't know about that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60005.26
ETH 2409.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43