Today is My Birthday! Let's Do a Show and Tell FREEWRITE :D

in #showandtell7 years ago (edited)

I wanted to do an extra special post to celebrate. There are a lot of pictures, and I will try to write a little for each part. Today I will share a secret only known to my boyfriend and roommates, that even my closest friends don't know. Think what you may, but I think it's the coolest thing in the world, and I wanted to share this with my Steemit family <3

23602203_10211070327733916_1088885991_n.jpg

So at my desk, I have this little pink bin, and inside of it is various toys and trinkets that I play with when I'm thinking, frustrated, or need a little cheering up. Yes! My secret is a bunch of toys, but some of them mean a lot to me, and there is an important reason why this is what I chose to share with you today.


Last year, I worked in a game center in our biggest mall, that was geared at small children and families visiting from all over the world. My job was to be the retail cashier for a toy shop in the front of the store, and ring up, and help customers. But! When I wasn't doing that, my job was to play with and "demonstrate" the toys. I was waving magic wands, light sabers, and bubble guns for days, sometimes playing with RC cars too xD and although it wasn't the highest paying, it was the most rewarding job I've ever had.

I worked a lot of doubles and cover shifts, but just seeing how big I made people smile, was the most amazing thing and me me super happy!



I remember that I was super sad about something one morning, and I was trying not to cry at work. My manager yelled at me; "I'm not going to hug you to make you feel better..." Then he reached into the crane, pulled this out and threw it at me, "but he can hug you!" When I squish him, he makes a squeaky sound!

When one of my friends came to work with me, on his first day, we opened cranes and took out one of the stones in the game that goes under the prizes. He has a blue one.

Everytime we have friends over to drink, it is required that the host has a deck of playing cards. My favorite games are Killer (rich man/poor man), speed, and BS. I am the worst poker player I know.

One of the first memories I have of a great friend involved drinking and playing games at a Dave & Busters. Some of their specialty drinks has a waterproof, multicolored ice cube inside!

It has a bunch of different color settings!

7 colors for an ice cube makes a really cute nightlight!

I actually got this in a gachapon. It is a dog wearing a skunk costume, I could not make this up xD

You ever see the penguin toy where they go up stairs, then down a slide? This was the most popular toy during Christmas, but the peg on the other side broke off. I roll him around on my mouse pad.

My manager slapped this on my wrist and without saying a single word to me, walked away.

My boyfriend won me this from a crane game once. It is a rubber ducky... But really, it's a unicorn!

We had two regulars, a brother and sister who would fly here during their spring breaks. Everyone became friends, and the very last time I saw them they had each won me a Tsum Tsum from a crane game.

23584823_10211070323893820_1183564618_n.jpg

Me and Jake got this from a gachapon. There was one that had an assortment of different Japanese beers with parody names. I was lucky enough to get the one I wanted to win. My all time favorite beer is Kirin, and this joke beer is called; "Kirin Bear." It is also a key chain and a flashlight!

Someone left behind a D20 after a party at my house once, but no one ever came to claim it. Sometimes I check for DEX, LUK, and occasionally a sanity roll.

I love my green baby pig. So at work everyday, one of the first things I had to do was turn on a bunch of animatronic toy animals in a play area in the front of the store. When we run out of stock of a particular toy, we have to take the demo out, and throw it away. This was my absolute favorite one, so when we ran out, I asked to take him home. I also have extra batteries!

He walks around on his little stubby toes, and does the oinky thing with his face. Because this model is a lot smaller than the original ones, I think it's waaaaay cuter c: I let him walk across my desk sometimes.

So, what was your favorite childhood toy? I remember Lincoln Logs, and the wooden blocks that you stack. My number one favorite childhood toy is called a corn popper, and it's made by Fisher Price. I liked that the balls were super colorful, and when you would walk around, they would bounce everywhere.

For my birthday this year, my boyfriend bought me a mini one that is on a key chain. IT ACTUALLY WORKS, and all the little balls inside go pop pop pop when I roll it on my mouse pad, and it always makes me smile.


The reason why I wanted to share my secret bin of toys with you is because this year I am turning 28, and no matter how old I'll get, I will never ever forget to have fun.

"Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional." -Chili Davis

I don't know what today has in store for me, but I have a feeling that it's going to be a pretty good day.



BANNER_THE_PROJECT.png

Sort:  

Happy Birthday!!! Thanks for sharing what you have on your desk. I love the little corn popper toy! I have a set of jumbo jacks and small wood stove irons (for real ironing!) I love miniatures of things.

Thank you @watchfulmama!

I love my corn popper guy, it's so cute. Jumbo Jacks are pretty awesome, but I would be scared of them falling off of my desk and me stepping on them xD Mini irons? No way! I like miniatures too, portable and useful.

Have an awesome day!
<3 shello

A very happy birthday to you @shello.

maxresdefault.jpg

This is what life is all about, Quantum of solace if you will. My life has been very hectic lately and I feel like my professional life is weighing down my personal life. I don't even remember when was the last time I went out for an allout fun. Thanks for reminding me to appreciate the small but important things in life.

Image source : google

Geat thoughts @inuke,

Even now, as I find myself trying harder, and involving myself more, I also don't enjoy life as much as I should be doing. I did take the opportunity yesterday to have more fun than I have been. The small things are some of the most important aspects of life that we all over look.

Thank you for stopping by!
<3 shello

Nice to hear that you took time out. Hope you had fun.

Hello @shello

My manager slapped this on my wrist and without saying a single word to me, walked away.

This had me shaking with Laughter, I was just playing out the Imaginary Scene in my Head.

I love your huge collection of toys, though I love the Dice best for some unknown reason.

Happy Birthday Shello. I wish you all the Joy your Heart can Hold.

I am really looking forward to November next Year. That's a little secret we will have to keep for now ;)

@ogochukwu

#blockchain-blogger

Hello @ogochukwu!

I just visualized you reaction and what you would look like "shaking with laughter", and that itself is hilarious xD Thank you, I also really love that dice. It reminds me of the possibilities in an RNG (random number generator) and that no matter what I can see, the best possibility does exist, and I should strive for it!~

This next November is going to be something special, and the experiences leading up to it will be challenging, yet enjoyable for all.

Godbless,
shello

That is cool because I am seeing a few themes. Being the greatest skill crane operator in the known universe, I appreciate anyone who plays. Some are easier than others, but I rarely loose on the same machine 3 times and have gotten 5 for 4 once. Anyone else get 5 for 4 on a regular crane? Love me some skill cranes and have a good collection of loot from them.

LOL, I am glad you appreciate the other skill game plebs like myself!

Skills cranes become less fun when you work for arcades... But! There was this one time that I won an over-sized animal because it's tag got stuck in the mech, on the outside of the claw. I have two giant alpacas, a BMO, and a Narwhal. I use them in place of pillows c:

Hint: step to the side of the machine two 2D pics is better than one 3D image....

Protip: Have your friend also stand on the side of the machine to help direct you xD

otanjoubi omedetou!!!...

honto ni arigatoo gozimashita !~ <3

Thanks for sharing. I laughed at the sanity check dice you use. I think I need that too.

All of those are precious memories. I could picture the skill you have when remembering them.

Thank you for stopping by @maverickinvictus,

I'm glad you liked what I had to share, I think we all could use a few more sanity checks! It's crazy, it's almost like I'm actually there c:

♡shello

Happy belated birthday @shello!
I like your snake wrist band. Thank you for sharing your secret :)
Have a wonderful day!

Thank you so much @crystalandhawaii!

You are very welcome, I know- it's cute to see a pink snake ^^

Thank you, you too <3

Hi! happy Birthday!! hey ... I love that cube of yarn. The drink in a clear glass should look great.

I'm doing a double take and I don't know where this cub of yarn is! Thank you so much!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67462.12
ETH 2623.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67