The Cost is to be (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago

How can I forget
large forks on the left
and other niceties
I've never met.

Folded napkin, knee,
don't forget to be
only fascinating,
haven't failed yet.

Invisible me
impoverishing
in a city of lace
as fortune's pet.


The actual me
is somewhere flying
beneath a set of wings
unfurled and set.

Relaxed, observing
content, unknowing
with a soft ignorance,
considered blessed.

But terror I've met
there, high in the skies
and shifted my passage,
now earthward bent.

How did I forget
big forks to the left,
these are the niceties
I didn't get.



Thank you for spending time here

Other works:
Thinking Man's Prison
Frenzy
I, witness
Imagine Freedom
Starchild
Melt

Poetry Slam Challenge #3

Sort:  

Really good lyrical play.
I do believe that his would be as good if didnt rhyme, but that is only my vision

I do believe you are right. Sometimes it comes out in rhyme, sometimes not, but I always try to let it be whatever it is as it's happening. I think rhyme became subconsciously more influential to me after the 5 years writing and singing for a band :)

I guess the singing did it then )))

I dont know, i just honestly believe that rhyme sometimes takes out emotion

There is a lot of truth in that statement. Much, much truth.

You're a great poet. Thank you for sharing you poem.

Thank you very much, I'm glad you enjoy it

You're welcome. Keep em comin'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52