Imagine Freedom (Original)

in #story8 years ago

Imagine freedom
as a tall grass
lingering on a windy plain.

Serious as death
with a beauty
suffering from a lack of shame.

Calling from the beasts
raw throats yelling
to imagine freedom this way.


Imagine freedom
as many signs
loitering on platforms and trains.

Serious as death
with a fury
that's sudden but soon starts to wane.

Crying prostesters
raw hearts swelling
to imagine freedom this way.

Imagine freedom
as endless signs
littering the passage of days.

Serious as death
with a knowing
that sows in you the hope of change.

Calling from the streets
signs that beg me
to imagine freedom this way.



This would have been my entry into the Poetry Slam Challenge #2. Thank you for spending time here.

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading your poem, I am also starting to post under the poetry tag. Check out my work and if you like it I would appreciate your follow. More than likely I will follow you back, as I am trying to keep up with all steemit poetry writers. @beginningtoend

I just got back from your blog because I don't like to blind follow. I'm LOVING your writing, thanks for reaching out and welcome to the community. Looking forward to more!

Thanks for the welcome, happy to hear you enjoy my work.

Love it. It's simplicity reminds me of the poetry of Stephen Crane.

He was my earliest favorite writer, thanks so much for the amazing compliment. I love the beauty in simplicity

Roses are red
My poem is mad

I know I am bad

And now I am sad!

woot, comment co-authors!

Better go to bed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56373.71
ETH 2972.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12