One (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago

My vision left me about,
or nearly, when you showed.
Unable to turn,
or backwards glance,
just stand there,
sensing
you.

I struggled to reach for you,
in vain, as you approached.
Unable to rise,
these phantom limbs
just stay there,
as you
come.

Still sightless but I can see
acoustics, energy,
unable to tap,
only witness
sounds of you
when you're
near.


I don't think they'll clap for me,
but mock with walking feet,
with their failing arms,
with their strange ways,
strange custom,
watching
me.

But it's when we're together,
so close, so far away,
a healing embrace
like lotteries
I'll never,
ever
win.

A rogue wind brushes us by,
and I know you can feel
what it is I feel.
Although apart,
together
we're still
one.


All photos in all my poetry are original and taken by me and processed via app, except for one. Find the only poem where I don't use original imagery and win 5SBD! Just a fun way I can keep giving back to those who read and engage ;) put it in the comments! Remember: sharing is caring, and sharing this poetic post is the best way to show support.


Thank you for spending time here.

Other works:
The Cost is to be
Thinking Man's Prison
I, witness
Imagine Freedom
Starchild
Melt

Poetry Slam Challenge #3

Sort:  

So weird, I was just reading your post! Thanks for coming here and taking time to read this and share your hearts with me :)

I love poetry but too worried to write good ones . I am still learning.

@mammasitta - you just have to write it and release it into the world. No worries - just the freedom of expression. <3

That's why these challenges can be great. They force you to try something different and from that you can get more experience and start to worry less and just find that spot from where you can share your art :)

I like abstract art and poetry,keep it up.Welcome to check mine 2.https://steemit.com/origami/@dixonloveart/origami-art-walking-boots

Loving the layout!

Thank you! I was inspired to play with syllable/line counts and I really enjoyed wandering outside the box :)

Enjoyed, I liked the use of phantom limb, I once used that term in a poem about a one armed veteran who used his remaining arm to operate a sock puppet. upvoted.

Funny, when I think of phantom limbs I'm reminded of my navy time at Balboa Hospital, where the wounded warrior project lives and where I'd interact with people who were missing limbs, daily. Thanks for your comment :)

What a sense of sadness and longing in your poem!
I thoroughly enjoyed it and looking forward to reading more.

I tend to think that we all have a certain sadness or longing in us :) Thank you for commenting and being here

Great stuff and I am glad you said about the photos as i really like the images that you post with your pieces!! Is it imagine freedom that doesn't have original imagery?

I suspected this post would close without anyone trying haha! Sorry, that is an original taken at Grand Central station during a protest :)

And thanks, I try to capture interesting images that feel relevant to the pieces, and there's just no shortage of interesting objects and architecture in NYC :)

Yes you do have a rich vein of subject matter there!!! And darn, I though I had it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59590.12
ETH 2551.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54