THE ADVENTURES OF THE 24/7 STEEMHEAD – Episode 1 – AN ANGER BLACKOUT AND THE STEEMIT PHOTO CHALLENGE

in #story8 years ago

What happens to a person when they are consumed by STEEMIT, and live, eat, and breathe STEEM 24 hours a day, 7 days a week?


They become a 24/7 STEEMHead, viewing every detail of their life through the lens of how it can be applied to steemit.


This is a story from the life of one such individual, a 24/7 STEEMHead.

Whatever it is, it’s loud, and it’s getting closer. The heavy sound of serious machinery is vibrating in my ears, but I can’t see anything.

What in the world has just taken place?

Why is it so dark?

Why is it so loud?

There’s sirens now too. Voices on megaphones. Slowly I open my eyes. It’s bright; too bright for this time of day. I roll to my side, there’s blood everywhere.


What in the world?


I feel no pain, but realizing that it’s not my blood brings me no peace of mind. The loud sound is a cluster of helicopters circling me overhead. I recognize a few as being from the main local news channels. Channels 9, 6, and 7 hover over me, cameras fixed me lying on the ground, with reporters rattling off a fantastic story of what is unfolding just in time to catch the throngs as they return home for dinner.

The remainder of flying objects circling above are police helicopters. I’d recognize them anywhere. The extreme brightness is their high-powered spotlights, focused on me and watching my every move. So far, I’m not even moving much. I’ve got to evaluate the situation.


“STAY WHERE YOU ARE, OR WE WILL SHOOT!”


The threat booms down from on high. I can now see the flashing lights of the police cars closing in.

Obviously, I’ve had another anger blackout. Choppy pieces of recent events flash back into my mind. Suddenly, the whole picture is released from my memory.


Why did the people at the gas station have to call steemit a scam when I tried to tell them about it?


My time is short, but thankfully, I may be able to pull off what needs to get done. If I reach into my pocket, the helicopters may fire on me, but I’ve got this one opportunity to get a leg up on the rest of the steemians.

Slowly, I roll further onto my side, feigning an excruciatingly painful reaction to the movement. Beneath my body, my hand has already pulled my phone from my pocket. Trained fingers unlock the screen and pull up the camera. I inch the phone out from under my body, with the camera lens aimed high in sky.

I snap three shots quick, and review the photos.

The cop cars are beginning to park in a large circle around me. I lay down my head on the hard pavement and upload my favorite image. Moving ever so slowly, I write the link code in the blood in front of me.

My heart races as my time runs out. Any moment now, they’ll make their move. I’ve got no weapon and no hostage, so stalling will be difficult.

I must be pulling some free wifi from a nearby hotel or restaurant. I keep myself logged in to my steemit account on my mobile, so once I pull up the steemit site, it takes me to my homepage.

Frantically I open a new “Submit a Story” screen and type in SteemitPhotoChallenge 18 : 1st Entry – Transport for the title, and add in the hosting site image address scrawled in blood on the ground in front of me in the main section. My photo is an amazing and rare one, full of the incredible man-made transportation method known as the helicopter.

I excitingly type in “Helicopters” as a caption, and quickly add the appropriate tags to officially enter the photo in the contest.


“SIR, DROP THE DEVICE!!!”


Several local officers and deputies all have their weapons drawn and aimed. Situations like this are such an inconvenience when I’m trying to steem.

My thumb only has to move two inches to click the “Post” key, but a dozen scopes are already poised and ready for action, just waiting for me to give them an excuse.

I’m torn, once again. I know that no one will have a photo in the Steemit Photo Challenge that will even come close to mine, but trying to enter it may now cost me my life. There’s a lot of STEEM on the line, and a STEEMHead like me has serious trouble passing up an opportunity like this.

My voice is weak and it cracks as I reply to my audience, “I’ll set it down!”

Slowly I reach my arm out farther from my body, attempting to turn the screen of the phone away from the majority of the officers. I can still hear the helicopters and reporters above rattling as the situation escalates.

It’s a shot in the dark, but I guess with my thumb as I set the phone on the ground, tipping it onto its back as I release it. While I rise to a kneeling position and place my hands behind my head, interlocking my fingers I can see the screen on my phone changing.


My entry for this week’s photo challenge has successfully arrived on the new page.


I tip my head back and let out a sigh of relief as I look upwards and smile. Instantly I’m tackled by multiple S.W.A.T. Team members. Some of my own blood mixes with the rest already on the asphalt. The armor and gear covered bodies piling on top of me weigh heavy on my body, but my spirits are high as I dream of STEEM.

Handcuffed, I am locked in the back of a squad car by a friendly looking officer. Wait, squad car? Another mode of transportation and another opportunity. I’ll have to act quickly once again. Trying my best to look innocent and defenseless, I nod towards the officer, and he opens the back door a crack.

After a brief discussion, and an explanation of my anger blackouts and my obvious cooperation with the law enforcement officials once I came back to, the officer reluctantly helps me, and takes one last photo for me.


Steemit Photo Challenge payout, here I come!


Do they accept STEEM in the cell block?

The story that you have just read above is fiction and is not based on a real event, at least as much as I can remember, anger blackouts can be funny like that.

I hope that you enjoyed THE ADVENTURES OF THE 24/7 STEEMHEAD: Episode 1 – An Anger Blackout and The Steemit Photo Challenge.

Stay tuned to @papa-pepper for THE ADVENTURES OF THE 24/7 STEEMHEAD: Episode 2 – The Emergency Work Meeting, coming soon to a steemit near you!


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

Great fiction and the graphics really add to it. Cheers

Thanks, it was fiction.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it, and I do like how the graphics help!

That last one was really fun!


Haha, what does Señor Pepper think about while farming and running his rabbit ranch? Now the world knows.

Yes @anotherjoe, many, many thoughts are always up there, and once in a while, a few make it out!

Thanks!

Hopefully many more can enjoy it!

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 20 Nov 2016 - 03:14 UTC

THE ADVENTURES OF THE 24/7 STEEMHEAD – Episode 1 – AN ANGER BLACKOUT AND THE STEEMIT PHOTO CHALLENGE — Steemit

steemit.com/story/@papa-pe… / https://t.co/TC1kNpH85n

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

It's amazing what I would miss without your help!

THANKS SO MUCH!

...beep you're welcome bop...

LOL- thanks for that too!

ROFL - amazing story Steemhead. I don't get the anger blackouts but I've seemingly found a wormhole in space/time.

You made this logo, correct? I was going to use it in a post and wanted to give proper credit!

I did! It's free for anyone to use :)

I thought so, I just wanted to make sure to give you official credit, especially after your recent "proof-of-swine" post!

I was getting concerned reading that, pleased to read it was fiction you nutta lol enjoyed the read :)

FICTION INDEED!

Awesome, sounds like a fun kind of adventure.

STEEMIT can be be a wild ride!!!

Sounds like it, but thank you for the post it just gave me a creative idea that I'm now finally able to work on. I had that writers block the last couple of days and you'll see in the post the results. Might be leter tonight or tomorrow before I'm done with my work.

Glad to inspire!

Can't wait to see it!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $21.90 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Undervalued, but still appreciated!

Thanks @screenname!

Ah, this is pure class! Excellent stuff @papa-pepper!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54635.52
ETH 2893.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03