Cassandra is screaming at us

in #story7 years ago (edited)
I was hurry, going around along the sidewalk of one of the main avenues of the big city, the flow was not too dense so the cars were circulating at a very good speed. I was thinking about Cassandra, I wanted to see her in the eyes, I wasn't feeling well. Someone told me that he have seen her recently, walking around a street corner, talking to the drivers that continue their way after crossing two words with her. I was also told that she was seen in her house, drugged, with petrified black fingers product of the ashes of her crack pipe; skinny, very skinny. She had been expelled from the small family kingdom for her tendency for criticism, for her great contempt for lying and deciduous ideals, for her love for life. She had the audacity to despise the God who had fallen in love with her since she was a child through the illusion of the father to make her a nun. I've been thinking that now she clings to her slow agony to reaffirm that love, to pursue with her crazy cries the conscience of her Punisher until her last day.

I had not seen her for days, so I had a bad feeling. The last time she was peaceful, we only smoked a couple of marijuana cigarettes and remained very calm. She didn't show that anxiety that shakes her when crack's effect begins to be needed. I remember that she didn't tell me any of her strange stories about that "horse pregnant with men armed to the teeth", those who would cause the destruction of humanity. It was very strange that on that day she didn't tell anything because the day before she had been screaming to the good ladies in the supermarket that the world is coming to an end. When someone came to stop her she began to scream that a man had stolen her, that no one dared to punish him. One lady felt pity and wanted to help and she immediately shout out that the wife of the man who stole her wanted to kill her. Then she threw herself to the floor and writhed as she asked everyone to flee, that she was seeing them dead at that moment, embraced by the fire, melting slowly, she swore by the god who had execrated her by spitting on her mouth that never gets tired to exclaim its strange warnings. Two supermarket guards managed to hold her and throw her out into the street.

I met her some time ago in these streets. She started to follow me. I was afraid that she would be a prostitute and had the intention to offer or maybe to steal something from me. I heard that she told me not to be afraid, that she only wanted to see my eyes, even when I was far away. I turned to face her, trying not to get too close and I asked why. "Here I am standing"; she said. "I just want you to look into my eyes". I didn't quite understand what was happening to me at that moment but my eyes noticed something certainly strange. I turned around thinking that someone else could be with her, talking. "Look at me", she said but I was already seeing and the words didn't come from her, at least not from her mouth and breath. I listened from within and all my attention was placed on her voice. "You are not going to die for some reason that I ignore. You will survive the huge bloodbath that is about to start." Even at this moment without even moving his lips she kept telling me. "I can see you going through the fire of the bombs that are about to explode, your flesh burns and is generated again in constant circles that are going to be counted for centuries. But you won't notice it". The only thing I heard from his lips that day was indeed "May you give me a cigar?"

I was looking forward to find her because our meetings had already become a habit. Never again told me that I would be immortal or something like that, but she kept telling me many strange stories of the wars that she lived and those which were to come. I never believed anything because she is really young even I don't get how could happened so many dark stories to her. I've been told that she has been assaulting the couples in the parks when she look that they love each other, "save yourself", shout at them, "make love and not war", and everyone laughs at her. I see a relative of her who walks down the sidewalk across the street and his turning the corner when I shout for him to come. "Cassandra is dead, she was killed by a guy's wife who said her husband desired her. The poor girl is already silent, she is no longer shouting her bullshit". He tells me in a serious manner and then he accelerates and gets lost by turning the corner. "Cassandra is no longer there," I tell myself as a headache breaks out.

I keep walking in the street with its fluid traffic, only my heart seems to be sad by the news of the death of whom I called "my sister". Everything seems quiet but suddenly the alarms start to sound. The traffic slowly stops leading the drivers start to get confused revolving into their cars. Two minutes pass without any earthquake or something like that happening and then a roar begins. We all started to see the weapons falling from the sky, there is nowhere to run, the warning came too late. At the first light, I remember with increasing clarity Cassandra's words, "they will all die by Fire", and when she once told me, "you will go through Time".

Now that everything around me is white I understand that I'm in that Time which Cassandra told me about and I don't know how long I can stand.



Lady Emma Hamilton, as Cassandra by George Romney
(Image source and information about the character)


Original image


Link to the spanish version of the text.

Sort:  

Happy Christmas!
Here is your article in Chinese! :)
https://steemit.com/cn/@deanliu/culture-vulture-for-cners-issue-12-12

Happy Christmas @Ygern!! I'm Grateful and excited to have this unique opportunity to see one this text in a language so distant to mine!!! Thank you very Much!!! I wish the best for this beautiful Project!!
Only Joy for Christmas and for the New Year!!!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 85%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Organization and coherence
- Personal sense of the text (Logic, complexity, understanding, what makes it interesting for the reader)

I appreciate your attention and review for this post!! It's encouraging to grow as a writer in a new language!!! A big Hug, @cessarespinozaa!!

thanks for using the DropAhead channels, it is our job to support a good content we will be attentive to your post friend : D

Thank you very much!!! :D

Thank you very much for your support, @mandolincarls and @dropahead!!
All the best for the project in the New Year!!! :)

Amazing work, @leveuf! This was quite a project to translate, wasn't it? I plan to read this story again because of its depth. I expect to see more with each reading!

I have upvoted and resteemed this excellent story as my daily post promotion for people whom I have previously curated.

Cheers!
@mitneb

Cassandra - represents someone whose accurate prophecies are not believed by those around them.

Thank You Very Much!!! @Mitneb!! I'm glad to know that you like it and find it interesting for a second reading!! Please, let me know if you find some corrections, or word suggestions to enrich vocabulary!! :)
I send you my Best Wishes for these Holydays, may Christmas bring you all the Joy and Love with your Family and Friends @Mitneb!! For me it has been a pleasure and an honor to meet you and to be Friends!!! The best for the Project in the Next Year, I know it will Grow!!! A Huge Hug!!
Cheers!!! :D

@leveuf, I will let you know if I have any suggestions, but I have to wait until after Christmas. Enjoy the holiday, my friend! Blessings and hugs to you!
Cheers!
@mitneb

@Mitneb!! Enjoy every moment with your family, don't be worry for a second revision, please, make it only if you have a good chance. I know you have a lot of work!!! I send my best wishes for you in these special days!! Have lots of Fun!!!
Cheers!!! :)

Thanks very much for your grace and affection, @leveuf! I might have too many things to do this week to get to it. I am starting a new job, and I have a lot of documents to create, plus wanting to get my Discord Server structure and focus developed. There are just not enough hours in the day sometimes!
Cheers!
@mitneb

I perfectly understand @Mitneb!! I send the best vibes for your new work and project!! You must know that you are the Best!!! A huge Hug!!! Cheers!!! :-)

😁😊😁
Cheers!
@mitneb

AS always great stuff .....

Thank you very much, @Navala!! I send you all the best vibes for projects and life in the New Year. Happiness, health and light always in your path!!! A big Hug!!! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by leveuf from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice pls check out my posts @perpz

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @leveuf to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Hw do I get dis?

This post has received gratitude of 2.55 % from @appreciator thanks to: @leveuf.

You got a 1.07% upvote from @upme requested by: @leveuf.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a [STEEM Witness](https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Congratulations @leveuf! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69