Outwithye Olde, an Inn with a ViewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

cliffside

Scenery perfectly captured by Ian Schneider

The gentle winds blew rhythmically from the ocean onto the coast, stroking the soft blades of grass that covered almost the entirety of the land's surface. It carried with it the mellow sound of the rustling turf, which resonated tirelessly across the rolling hills. Dauntless waves pounded furiously against the rocky shoreline, but couldn't overcome the sheer height of the cliff face. The granite and basalt found near the top remained only slightly moist, if not completely dry, as opposed to the waterlogged bottom half, that had eroded and, over the years, have been slowly merging with sea.

The body of a man, who was unhurriedly regaining consciousness, revealed itself whenever the breeze forced the grass to part. He shakily opened his eyes, as he stretched his limbs and let out a long-drawn-out yawn. The color of the sky didn't help him at all with determining what time of day it was, as it shifted into different shades every time he blinked. He sniffled and rubbed his nose before he finally decided what time it was. It was time to get up.

The man's memory was fuzzy upon waking, and he hadn't fully remembered it, but his closest friends and enemies had affectionately called him Deux. It wasn't a sobriquet, nor did it have a marvelous backstory behind it, even though he often imagined that there was. "Deux" was simply the name given to him by the people that have birthed him into existence. He coughed, as he pressed his forearms against the ground to push himself up.

The patch of land that he found himself in was a complete mystery to him. Even though he had twirled around many times, surveying every aspect of his surroundings with each turn, the terrain remained unfamiliar. He squinted his eyes, trying to recall how he got there, but to no avail. Scratching his head didn't help one bit. He steadied his breathing, and decided to roam around.

There were no signs of life; no birds in the sky, not even insects hiding in between the blades of grass. Deux felt completely alone, and, in a matter of minutes, he had almost confirmed his hypothesis. He spaced out from time to time, trying to recall the events that lead him there. The memories rushed back like a raging stream, so he tried to grab onto the ones that was pertinent to his current situation.

Deux was garbed in a dirty, loose-fitting, white shirt and brown khaki pants, whose cuffs were worse for wear. He didn't have any footwear on, and he struggled to recall the reason why. The back of his neck ached, probably because of prolonged lying on the ground, and his right eye twitched every so often. He dusted himself off as he continued to walk around. It was only then when he remembered what his full name was. The other details still eluded him.

As he was straddling near the edge of the cliff, he caught a glimpse of a quaint homestead that stood dangerously close to the brink. He ran as fast as his barefeet allowed, panting heavily with every step he took. His sweat dripped down the side of his face and his back, and his heart raced with panicked fervor. There were no assurances that there was anyone in the house, but he had to try. The house seemed to move further as he felt himself getting nearer, so he let out a desperate sigh and picked up his pace.

As he neared the house, he caught a glimpse of a strange group of structures just beyond the horizon. The clouds above it seemed to be perpetually dark, no matter how many times he blinked, and lightning routinely arced high above it. He struggled to comprehend the geometry of the structures, but was completely fine in chalking it up as a hallucination, since there was no way he would ever make contact with it.

From a distance, he heard a rooster crow. The sky above, at the time, was tinted with a bright shade of blue, so he wondered if it was, in fact, the crack of dawn. He remembered that roosters had a tendency to do that, but more importantly, he remembered what a rooster was. If there was no one else living in the house, he would at least have the rooster as company, he thought. That is, until he becomes famished, of course. He wondered if the rooster had a hint of its impending doom. Deux thought that it was best to hold off on screaming lest he risked scaring off the fowl.

He stopped running as soon as he had a clear view of the rooster. It was perched upon a short wooden stick that had a T-shaped end, which seemed to form a cross, standing just in front of the wooden house. Deux labored his breathing while he stood in front of the door. The rooster shot a piercing side-glance at the strange man as it cocked its head back and forth, but refused to move from its post. He placed his palm against the door, contemplating whether he should knock or just open the door without warning. The rooster, in turn, belted out a defeaning shriek, which startled the man and forced his recovering heart to beat furiously anew.

The door opened behind him, and he was welcomed by a bearded, old man. Surprised by each other's presence, there was a moment of silence before any of the pair spoke.

"Hello," the old man greeted. "How ... How long have you been standing there?"

"N-Not ... long," Deux replied, still trying to catch his breath. "Hi. Hello!"

"Is something the matter?," the old man queried, looking visibly worried.

"N-No, it's ... I'm fine," Deux reassured. "Everything's ... Everything's fine."

"That's good to hear then," the old man followed, as he flashed a relieved smile. "Come inside, I'll fix you some tea."

"Is this ... Is this y-your house?" Deux asked, before he accepted the invitation to enter. The whole time he walked around the plains, he didn't spot even the faintest hint of any trees. He remembered that the wood the house was made out of would've come from trees. There were a lot of questions that flooded his mind, and he doubted that tea or stepping inside would provide him with answers.

"This is, in fact, not my house — you see, this place is called the Outwithye Olde," the old man answered, pointing at the worn out sign out front. "I'm just its innkeeper."

"Outwithye Olde? Isn't it supposed to be Ye Olde Outwith or Olde Outwithye, if the name's ... y'know, not negotiable?"

The innkeeper stroked his beard as he chuckled. "The name's a bit ... strange, isn't it? I had told the fella who suggested the latest change that, but he was very insistent. You see, I'm very open to suggestions, that's why the inn's name has changed ... I don't know how many times already. I'm an old man, and my memory's not sharp as it used to be."

"And, the owner doesn't mind that you're changing it without his permission?"

"I'm sure he does, but he hasn't even bothered to check the inn for quite some time now," The innkeeper retreated inside to fulfill his earlier promise. He lit the stove and proceeded to boil some water in a decrepit kettle. "Are you coming in or not?"

"Yeah, well ... Okay, so about the inn. How did ... How was this built? There isn't a tree for miles. Was this a lush forest that had been razed in order to construct this inn?"

"Ahh the questioning type. It's alright. Come inside, drink some tea, and I shall answer all of your questions."

"W-Why are you so persistent in making me drink tea? D-Did you ... Did you drug it? I mean, I'm a complete stranger, and I don't have the faintest clue who you are. I hope you're not offended but ... Trust issues, y'know?"

"I get it. No, yeah. Would you believe me that this isn't the first time I've been asked that? Now that I think about it, I have been asked that quite a lot. Must be something with my approach. Too creepy?"

"Uh, yeah ... a bit."

"Okay, so, my name is Peter. I don't have any intention of killing or harming you, and I don't really care if you have ill intentions toward me. I'm an innkeeper. I deal with strangers for a living. Heck, I've dealt with far worse people than you, I'm sure of it. Now come inside before the tea becomes cold."

The innkeeper poured him a cup, and sat down on a wooden recliner. Deux obliged with Peter's request, and did the same. They talked for hours, with the same pattern of Deux asking and the innkeeper answering. The innkeeper indulged his guests wondering mind with aplomb. With every clear answer, more and more questions popped up in Deux's head.

The more memories he recalled, the clearer and muddier his understanding of his situation became. It was a rather odd mix, as if he was stuck in a stalemate in a battle between learning and losing knowledge. He chalked it up to exhaustion, and since he had yet to fully remember where he was going or where he came from, he asked if he could stay in the inn until it was time for him to move on. With no money to his name, they decided that Deux would pay for his stay by helping out with chores. And, because of trust issues, he introduced himself as "Mil."

Days turned into weeks, and weeks seemingly turned to months, until Deux had lost track of time. There wasn't a clock anywhere in the house, and the color of the sky turned to night after several blinks. By that time, many of his memories had already returned, but none of the ones that he had any actual use of.

Of the endless questions that Deux had asked, the innkeeper always had a clear answer, even for questions that he shouldn't have had any knowledge of. He found it very strange, but thought about it second only to the fact that there haven't been any other guests that have checked in ever since he arrived. Deux had canvassed the entire island where the inn stood, but had found no other signs of life — only him, the innkeeper and his rooster.

Losing patience, he mustered up enough courage to ask about curiosities that he dared not mention before.

"Oh, h-hey, s-so," he stammered.

"Yes?" the old man inquired, as he was wiping a ceramic plate. "What is it you wanted to ask this time?"

"W-What makes you so sure that I was going to ask a question?"

"Because ever since you arrived, that's all you've ever done. Even the last thing you said was a question."

"Yeah, well ... Honestly, I actually don't remember how I got here, or where I was intending to go to. I was asking all those questions in hopes of jogging my memory."

"I figured. No one ever stays this long in an inn."

"I-I ... I'm at a loss here. I've ... I managed to remember, you know, quite a lot about my life, but I ... I still don't know where I'm supposed to go, or what I'm supposed to do."

"Things like that simply can't be forced. It just comes to you. Trust that it will."

"Maybe I'm supposed to go to that island," Deux said, pointing at the strange construct just beyond the horizon. "I mean, that's the only place I haven't gone to yet."

"Island?" the old man wondered, as he peered out the window. "What island?"

"What? Are you serious? It's right there. That island," Deux's voice started to rise out of frustration. From a distance, the constructs seemed like they were born out of nightmares. They stuck out from the sea like a festering pus, reaching for the sky with its otherworldly shapes that seemed to bend the laws of Physics. It had a menacing air about it, that gave Deux a sense of foreboding doom every time he caught eye of it. Fortunately for him, the island wasn't ever-present, and popped out only from time to time. "Don't you see?"

"It doesn't look like anything to me."

"Doesn't ... Describe to me what you see when you look at the horizon."

"All I see is different shades of blue. An undulating, darker one from the sea, and a calm, lighter one from the sky."

"Nothing else? Nothing out of the ordinary? Like tall structures that reach high above the sky?!"

"You must be tired, Deux. Get some rest. I'll finish up—"

"Wait, what? What did you just say?"

"I said ... get some rest, and I'll finish up—"

"No, no. Before that. W-What—"

"You must be tired?"

"Yeah, and then—"

"Get some rest. I'll finish up—"

"No, no. You called me 'Deux'."

"Yes, well, that is your name, isn't it?"

"I-I ... I never told you that."

"You didn't have to."

Those four words sent chills up and down Deux's spine. Memories intermingled with assumptions, thoughts collided with fears. How could the old man have known so much about him, and yet he seemed like a complete stranger? Deux's eyebrows furrowed out of frustration, fear, and every other emotion he had yet to remember the name of.

"W-Wha— ... How could ... Who the hell are you?!"

"I told you who I am from the very start. I'm Peter."

"That ... I don't ... That doesn't make any sense to me."

"You've asked a lot of questions, and yet you failed to ask the correct ones."

"W-What ... What do you want from me? Why am I here? Where am I going?"

"I don't want anything from you. I'm just here to help you grow, and to realize your true purpose. As for the other questions, it is for you to decide."

"Purpose? What purpose? Where the hell are we?"

"Some people have called it that, but I guess it's for you to decide."

A deluge of memories flooded Deux's mind in that instant, and the sheer amount of information brought him to his knees. The realization made it hard for him to breathe. He planted his palms to the ground, as he gasped for air. He had known the truth all along, but couldn't muster enough courage to admit it.

"Am I," said Deux, softly. "Am I dead?"

"Yes," the old man answered sternly. "Yes, you are."

"But ... Why? Why didn't you tell me?"

"It wasn't my place to say."

"H-How did ... How did I die?"

"I think you already know the answer to that question."

"This ... This all seems so familiar. All those memories that I've been having. Those weren't mine, were they?"

"As a matter of fact, it's all yours," the old man clarified. He helped Deux to his feet, and wiped the young man's cheeks. "Every single one of them. Do you remember now?"

"I-I ... I'm not ... I'm not sure what's real anymore."

"Everything is real. Every thought, every realization. This conversation seems familiar because we've had it more times than you can ever imagine."

"H-How .. How is that possible?"

"You've asked that to me 487,394,125,043 times now, which is quite remarkable, considering we've had this conversation exponentially more times than that."

"Who ... Who are you?"

"I told you before. This time, my name is Peter. You're still not asking the right question."

"Who ... am I?"

The old man smiled, and he placed his hands on Deux's shoulders. "If you don't know the answer, then you still have a lot of growing up to do."

"How do I do that? How do I grow up?"

"Well, put simply, you go back, and try again."

"You mean ... I come back alive? Is this all just some weird dream from a near death experience?"

"Not this life though. This one's done. You get to live your next one. Then we get to have this conversation again after six of your years. Oops! Spoiler alert!"

"Six? No, wait what? Next one? You mean ... reincarnation?"

"Now you're getting it! I swear, I'm still surprised how long you get it. Sometimes it takes an hour or so, sometimes it takes years."

"But, when does it end? How would I ... How would I know the answer if you wipe my memory every time I get re-born?"

"It ends, when you've lived all the lives that have ever been lived and will ever be lived. As for your memory, you'll understand when the time comes."

"You mean, I'm ... I'm my mother?"

"And your father?"

"I'm Abraham Lincoln?"

"And all the slaves he had freed."

"I-I ... I'm Vishala?"

"And all of the people she had tortured and killed."

"I'm ... all of humanity?"

"Why ... Yes, of course. This whole universe was built specifically to help you grow."

"Grow? And ... become what?"

"To become just like me."

"Are you ... Are you God?"

"Me? Well, no. I'm just here to guide you to become who you're meant to be."

Deux stayed silent. For the first time in a long time, he had ran out of questions to ask. There were more knowledge gaps that needed filling, but he had yet to possess the experiences that was needed. A strange calm came with the defeaning silence.

"Do you understand now?" the innkeeper asked. "Do you understand what you need to do?"

"I ... think I do," Deux answered confidently. He took one last glance out the window before he walked slowly towards the door. "Your name isn't Peter, is it?"

Deux turned towards the innkeeper but saw a Hispanic looking woman, who looked roughly his age, standing where the old man stood.

"And your name isn't Deux Mil Dekses either," the innkeeper replied. "Not anymore, at least."

They smirked as they bid each other farewell. Deux opened the door to find a black cat with gold streaks standing where the rooster used to be. He walked out of the inn and closed the door behind him.

A few moments went by before the wooden door received several tiny knocks.

"¡Hola!" the innkeeper greeted, as she unlocked the ligneous portal.


I hope you enjoyed my literary recap of 2016. Suffice to say, this is an original piece written specifically for Steemit. What a year, huh? This is probably my last post of the year, so I hope it performs better than my previous one. Hopefully 2017 starts out great. The story was inspired by the idiom "Out with the old, and in with the new," which I think is symbolic of what I tried to convey with the post. I know it was a long one, so I appreciate you taking the time to read it (and hopefully voting and commenting). Have a happy new year!

divider

Sort:  

Hello @jedau,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Oh, wow! :o This is the first time I've ever been chosen for this. What a huge honor! THANK YOU, GUYS! This means the world to me, truly. Here's to hoping I discover more great fiction and posts with you guys :D

Oh, and I hope that you guys consider my new entry worthy of support as well. The post can be found at: https://steemit.com/fiction/@jedau/a-day-in-the-clouds-original-novel-for-steemit-series-announcement

Happy trailing! :D

Oh, man! The wait is finally over and I'm honoured that this time I get a chance to comment to your work! And it was every bit of imaginative and awesome as I thought it'd be.

It's too easy to leave comments behind just to make people happy or just be to be nice, but believe me when I say from my heart that you need to create more! Feelings of when I read your mysterious short story. Could a relive each scene like I was there? Check. Could I connect with the characters you wrote? Check. Did I want to know more after reading the final few words? Check.

You clearly have so much intelligent inventiveness within as it simply pours out in this story. The air of mystery as to who Deux is? Who is the old man? How did he end up waking up on that grassy plain? What is that odd island far away in the distance?

You made that world, bro. And wove that place into existence to the point that I could envisage everything. And that is the magic that a good writer can wield! The story flowed steadily whilst building upon pace and narrative until the very chilling end. I got goose bumps when she turned into that woman!

You are an extremely talented writer (which doesn't come as a surprise to me, judging by your previous work) and you have so much greatness to offer to us! I'm loving this little group of authors we have formed and it's all because of my bro, @jedau.

Simply beautiful and a phenomenal comeback. Eagerly watching out for more to come from you, my brother. Pure brilliance!

Thank you for the kind words, brother! It's so strange to be on the receiving end of well-thought out comments. I don't ever want to get used to the feeling :D

I really love experimenting with stuff when I write, so I'm glad it translates well. Admittedly, it was longer than I initially intended, but this is something I couldn't divide into parts. I'll be unveiling my series two days from now, so that I can finally join you and @dreemit in that regard :) I just really hope it doesn't disappoint.

"Deux Mil Dekses" is roughly translated as 2016 from French, Spanish and Esperanto, because I just wanted to give the outgoing year a proper send off. I've peppered in tons of mystery in so that readers can just dissect the story and interpret it in whatever way they please. Reading all these praise from you ... I feel very undeserving, but I appreciate every single word, my brother! It's a huge honor for you to say those things :D

I really enjoy building groups and communities that support each other, so here's to strengthening our little group and hoping that we would reach for the heavens together in the coming year! :D

Hey brother, was scrolling down the page and read some of the comments below about how you feel writing and all for Steemit. You must believe me when I say that you have an extraordinary way with words. This little writers trio we've formed with @dreemit is something very dear to me. It no easy feat to convey your own personal thoughts to another armed with nothing else but the power of the written word. But you do that, expertly I might add.

I saw the movie clip was created for me in my mind's eye. You built that world for me and I got lost in it. How special is that? I consider that a special gift and one that needs nurturing and honing.

Give your articles time and consistently post. You will get the recognition you deserve without a doubt, but one thing is for sure. You'll always have myself and the lovely @dreemit spurring you on to do better and better.

Such artistic talent will not go without due merit and I cannot wait to see what new adventures lie in store within the pages of your upcoming book.

From a loyal fan, bro. Keep up the amazing work! :)

Man, these are such wonderful sentiments to begin the year. I'm truly grateful for the encouragement that you and @dreemit provide, my brother. I hope that we would all continue to achieve success together in the years to come! :D

I want to do you justice with my comment, but my brain is a bit tired today. I really love your descriptions, you create a setting masterfully and I love the philosophical nature of this, right up my alley :) I'm glad to see you posting. Also I've recently learned that the fiction tag is the one to use because they have people checking out everything that comes in there. And they can recommend authors to curating guilds ;)

Thank you for taking the time to comment, @dreemit! As you can see, comments come few whenever I post, so I appreciate every single one of them. I really wanted to encapsulate 2016 (which was the main character) in a one-shot story. It stretched far longer than I had hoped, but yeah. I threw in a lot of philosophical questions in there for the keen of eye, so I'm glad you already spotted some.

I've actually tagged it with fiction, but I don't know how much help it was. No curating guilds have backed it up yet, or they deemed it unworthy lol Anyway, yeah, this kind of turnout is what really discourages me from posting on this platform more frequently. That's why I'm a bit scared for the series that I'm going to announce soon. I guess I would spend way less time here once 2017 rolls in :)

I took a run down your page, and you have a number of well-paid posts...or at least to me they are, I don't think I broke twenty on any of mine yet. The trouble with not posting regularly is that you definitely have more of a chance of being overlooked. Actually the fiction tag has to be first apparently, rather than story which is what I've been using. It's a new thing, run by a few people, one of them is @baerdric so before you post your series you should write to him and let him know. Oh and if you tried to change your first tag to fiction, that doesn't work. It will look like it on your end, but I guess you can only change the other four.
But don't be discouraged, it's the repetition that will get you noticed. Make sure to use the same cover photo for every chapter of the series, like ezzy does, like I do now...I actually didn't in the beginning, then I changed it. Repetition once again :)
As for the comments, unless I make a post like the milestone, I rarely get a lot of comments either. I do more so when I comment on other people's posts shortly after I post mine, it makes them think of me or check on my page I'm guessing, but even that doesn't always do it. It seems like the only posts that get a great deal of feedback on a regular basis are the controversial ones or the ones that are involving the community like contests etc.

Thanks for the consolation, my friend. I really appreciate it :D I did have quite a few posts that earned well, and I'm very grateful for the success they received. But, that was when I was spending hours on Steemit. I was really putting in a lot of work then. Some might argue that it was too much effort with regard to the payout it received.

I'll keep the repetition advice in mind for the series. I've already created everything, actually. Though I plan to post it on a weekly basis to try and give them the best possible chance to individually earn.

My reputation has gone up a point because I had been 59 (or maybe 58.99999) ever since my last point lol! Maybe it just needed one more vote to put it over the edge.

With regard to followers though.. while I appreciate all of the followers, I'm very wary of that. Being in the software industry and dealing with analytics, I'm so used to thinking in terms of "active" users. Let's say I have 137 followers, but only 10 of those ever vote on my posts, then what's the use of the other 127 who don't even read my posts. It's even more disheartening considering that, as of writing, this post has only received 10 reads, many of which came from me. That means almost all of the votes were cast because users wanted to cash in, and didn't even bother to read. Which is a real shame.

My foremost wish is that people interact more, that's all there is. I guess I'm falling back on an old habit I (thought I) had kicked a few months ago. Maybe because I have been interacting on other people's post more often than before. This has happened to me several months ago, and I'm glad that you haven't suffered the same. Mainly, this is just anxiety born from doing things and expecting the same kind of treatment, which is a wrong mentality.

Don't get me wrong though, I appreciate each and every single vote I receive. I'm grateful for all the interaction I get, no matter how limited it may be. But, there's just a part of me that I can't shake, a part that thinks that my time would be better spent elsewhere. I'm not giving up, and I'm not even taking a hiatus like last time. I'm just going to spend less time on Steemit. Way less time than what I'm currently doing. I've spent too much time encouraging and appreciating others people's work, that I've been neglecting my own. It's a hard pill to swallow that my posts don't receive the same treatment.

Thanks for the pep talk, @dreemit, I mean it when I say that I appreciate every single second you spent writing it :D

I'd also like to point out that you have nearly triple the followers than you are following. That's impressive. You shouldn't give up so easy, even your reputation has gone up a point since we met, and that's without posting too much. If your wish is that you get on the trending page and make over a hundred bucks, I don't think I've ever seen fiction do that well, so you'd probably have to post non-fiction.

Immediately after I replied, @curie backed the post up and it has since picked up STEEM. Thanks for your supportive words, my friend. I shall keep everything in mind for the upcoming series :D

Nice!! Great to see that :)

I think that surge is going to hold steady as it is now, but that's okay. Thanks for the pep talk. I really appreciate it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33