The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 16 (2 of 2) (My Original Novel)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Chapter 16 (2 of 2)

He placed an index finger and thumb upon his left temple. The constant pulsating ache beating against his skull began to take it’s toll, however he managed to concentrate himself back into a role of professionalism and placidity. Though they do say trouble comes in threes so there’s still room left for a little more, he thought.

“Mrs. Collimore.” he said in an upbeat temperament. “I do hope you’re feeling better. I was meaning to call you and…”

“Where is my son, Detective.” she interjected in a grim tone.

Somewhat taken aback by her unexpected question, he replied. “We’re doing everything we can to locate him, Mrs. Collimore. It’s only a matter of time until…”

“I asked you where my son is?” she said, interrupting him for a second time. With an emphasized malice in her voice to make sure her true feelings were unequivocally understood.

“I’m sorry. We just can’t say with any certainty right now. But again, we’re doing all we can.” he answered; already bracing himself for what he knew was coming next.

“Right. Well, I’m pleased to tell you that I’ve been discharged from the hospital today and have returned home. They say given a few weeks and I’ll be right as rain. The arm may need a little longer though. You know, for the bone to set correctly and all.” The coldness under her breath made him hesitate to console her any further.

“So given that I’ve waited all this time for you to come up with any useful leads or actually find my son, have you anything to show thus far?”

He sighed into the mouthpiece to express his frustration with the situation as a whole, in a feeble attempt to somehow empathize with her. “Sadly, the ones we’ve been chasing up on have lead us back to square one. I completely understand that’s not what you wanted to hear, but I’d rather say that than lie to you.” His voice had diminished into no more than a whisper. All he wanted was for this conversation to wrap up as fast as possible and rid his brain of the barrage of toxins that were invading it. Just a few hours of respite until the events of tomorrow played out, he begged in his mind.

“So what about the gas station?” she asked. “I heard that you had my son’s kidnappers surrounded there. So why did you allow them to escape right in front of your very eyes? I mean, whose side are you really on here?”

”I completely understand how upset you must be feeling, Mrs. Collimore and you have every right to be.” he replied, filled with regret of having given out his private number to her. “But we are dealing with an unprecedented situation and faced events that we were ill-prepared for. Please trust me though, when I say that we are doing the best we can to find little Nathan.” He glanced up into the living room window as the lights turned out. Gwen must have been well aware of him sitting out in the driveway but probably decided to call it a night, he assumed.

“Well, I called your police department this afternoon and was put it touch with your superior, Mr. Wallace. He informed me that the military are now involved, but you will still remain as my first direct line of contact. So you didn’t think to give me this vital piece of information, Detective?” She remained calm and concise in her responses, indicating to Drucker she was a woman who knew how to stand her ground and didn’t let emotions get in the way.

“Mrs. Collimore, I felt that it was irrelevant as to the information you need to know. The bottom line is we are handling this and doing all we can.” he repeated again.

“Well, I just thought I’d let you know that I’m disgusted at the way this case is being handled.” The venom hit home as she sunk her long fangs straight into him. Drucker could only listen and keep silent as the entire failure of the investigation so far was placed squarely on his shoulders. “If anything should happen to my boy in any way, shape or form, I want you to know that I’m holding you personally responsible. You can come up with all the excuses in the book, but the bottom line is that you’re in charge and my boy is missing. Do I make myself clear, Detective?”

“Crystal.” he said.

The receiver slammed down on the other end as his verbal bashing was cut short. Drucker raised his eyebrows in sullen reconciliation to how this evening was playing out. He leaned forward and looked up to check his bedroom window. Sure enough, the curtains were shut all the way but a dull glow filtered through the thin fabric. Still early enough to catch a couple of hours of “away” time, he thought with a heavy head. Drucker continued to grope for the ignition once more to catch the last embers of enjoyment from his local as time pressed on.

His mobile burst back into life, issuing another jolt to his already unnervy disposition. “In God's name, what the hell is happening tonight?” he muttered, expecting a third and final strike to cast it's savage hand. This was turning out to be one memorable night, but for all the wrong reasons.

He checked his phone again which lay on the passenger side seat. A sliver of a grin appeared from the corner of his mouth. It was Doug. He answered the phone in an ecstatic but muted enthusiasm.

“Hey, Doug. Man, I’m so glad to hear your voice?”

”Hey Druck, sorry to call you like this.” he replied back in his usual jovial manner. ”But my sister has been trying to ring me every three or four minutes for the last quarter of an hour. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out why she’s calling me at this time of the evening. You guys have had another bust up. Am I right?”

“Yeah, Doug.” responded Drucker in a resigned tone. “I tell you, I’ve had a horror of a night so far. First of all, as you already guessed, Gwen and I had an argument. A big one, at that. I just don’t know what’s happening to us. She’s become almost a shadow of the woman I met all those years ago. It’s killing me to see her deteriorate like that, Doug.”* Forgetting himself for a minute, it dawned on him that he was in fact confiding in the brother of his aforementioned unsettled wife. An awkward pause ensued, which was to be cut short by Doug.

“Look, I know you guys are going through a rough patch, but it’ll work itself out. She loves you but just feels you’re not there enough for her. She's going through a phase, that's all. A long one, I grant you that, but it'll pass. Now, I know first-hand how tough our job can be at the best of times. So whenever she rings me, I explain to her that’s just the life of a cop. It comes with the territory, so to speak. It’s nothing personal.”*

Drucker couldn’t help but feel a slight twinge of jealousy in the knowledge that she had to go crying to Doug about her marital problems, but hid his feelings well. “Well, I guess I have no choice but to put all family related issues on hold for now. I’ve got no choice, right? I mean, look at the case we’re on. Or unofficially on, more like. I gotta put my priorities first and as much as I love her, I can’t deal with having the blood of that child on my hands. Especially after the incident at the gas station. I’m taking the full brunt of the blame for that. Look at what we have to put up with at the station. And now with this new character, General Pactor. It's like one massive chain reaction. I feel I gotta prove myself more than ever now. You understand what I mean, right?”

He knew only too well Doug could have gone either way on this. “Sure, I hear you.” he chirped back over the earpiece. “Following this afternoon’s events with Rob and all, I guess you got no choice in matter now. Don’t worry, let’s just stay focused on tomorrow and I'll help you deal with everything else later.”*

”Thanks for understanding, partner.” said Drucker. ”Though the dumbass you can be at times, you’re a great colleague and brother-in-law. A real friend.” He could feel the smile on the other end of the line.

”Glad to know and the feelings mutual. I’ll always have your back, you know that. Look, I didn’t even speak to my sister before I spoke to you first. How’s that for loyalty. She’ll kill me if she found that out. I kept trying to ring you but all I got was an engaged tone. I was doing to you what she was doing to me.” he chuckled in his cheery, familiar manner. Sounds Drucker absolutely needed to hear at this time.

”The reason you couldn’t get through to me was because I was on the phone with Mrs. Collimore. She rang me soon after I left the house to go downtown for a drink.”

“Really?” Doug answered, somewhat shocked. “What did she want? As in, what did she want to say to you?”

“She just laid all her cards out in front of me. If I don’t solve this case, she’ll throw a suit at the precinct and me.”

“What!” he exclaimed. “Doesn’t she understand we’re just doing our job? Out there busting our asses, trying to get her boy back and not a shred of gratitude to show for it. What a bitch.” he mumbled under his breath.

“Don’t say that.” Drucker intervened. “Can you imagine the hell she must be going through?. You gotta see that everyone deals with problems in their own unique way and Mrs. Collimore is no different. Let’s just concentrate on the main objective which is getting the boy back. So, you all set for tomorrow?”

“What choice do I have? I gotta be!” Doug explained. ” Though I’m still panicking about going behind Wallace's back like this. We got a bit of credibility to gain but a hell of a lot more to lose if this all goes wrong. But hey, I see exactly what you see and already told you I’m on board.”

”And don’t think I’ll ever forget it." said Drucker. "Remember, you can pull out of this any time you want and I’ll never think any differently of you. We’ll always be family, regardless.”

”It’s my life and my decisions. I know full well what I'm doing and we're too far into with this case to give up now. Let’s just get it out of the way and move on with our careers. Agreed?”

The integrity and reliable brotherly love Doug had for him was a treasured gift. He never took that for granted, not for one moment. He was Drucker’s support structure in life, whether Doug knew it himself or not. A match made in heaven and at present , the best thing to come out of his marriage to Gwen. A bitter pill for him to swallow, but also the plain truth of the matter.

”Agreed, Doug.” he replied, in a complete reversal of mood. ”Thank you for everything. Now, let’s get ready to take down those damn machines once and for all.”


Hope you enjoyed this chapter of my novel, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)

The Symbiotic Protocol - Prologue
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 1
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 2
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 3
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 4
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 5
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 6
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 7
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 8
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 9
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 10
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 11
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 12
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 13
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 14 (1 of 2)
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 14 (2 of 2)
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 15 (1 of 2)
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 15 (2 of 2)
The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 16 (1 of 2)

Sort:  

Geez, everyone is piling it on Drucker. The general, his boss, his wife, the mom - he only has Doug and the hunter's tip of the location. Motivated to become the hero and get everyone off his back? Might be. Loving this tale, @ezzy - superb!

Bless, my bro! Yeh, it was a bad evening to say the least. Big chapter round the corner now.

Thanks as always for the great comments, buddy! :)

The upside of reading this masterpiece a day later? I don't have to wait days before I read the second part. The split-part decision is working out great, and you cut it at just the right moment. While the first part was pedal to the metal, this part coasted the chapter into a nice slow crawl.

I'm not quite certain but is this the most conversation-heavy entry you've uploaded so far? It's a great thing that the strongest point of this is the conversations then!

Drucker just couldn't catch a break. Man, I really feel for him. Though his relationship with Doug isn't one of my favorites, I'm glad he has a support system like that. I know it's conflicting to root for both sides, but I'm hoping Drucker turns and helps the synthetics soon!

Can you imagine the hell she must be going through?

Is it wrong if I don't empathize all that much? Maybe because I don't have my own child yet, but I'm really just hoping she cut ol' Druck some slack. I imagine it's hard for a parent to lose a child, but since we see that the child is (relatively) cared for on the other side, it kind of provides a sense of relief.

Great follow-up and amazing job as always, my brother. Every chapter you've written is a hit out of the park!

Man, I get the double whammy from you! Awesome, man! I don't think I've ever said this before, but you've actually made my day TWICE! :)

This was conversation heavy for closing the gap, I feel, on how close Drucker and Doug really are. They have a real comradre with each other and I wanted to get a little more of that across. Wherever Drucker goes, Doug is sure to be somewhere following behind him. Even if he at times doesn't prove to be particularity useful, lol.

Yeh, Jane Collimore. Stressed out mother missing her kid and taking it out on Drucker. I don't blame you for having no compassion for her, lol. She was meant to be harsh and that's exactly how she came across I feel. Unfair from our point of view, but I can't say anymore. Let's see where this all goes.

Well, my bro, I'm now entering the final part of my book. A few chapters left and the big finish that I really hope won't disappoint. I'm nervous and excited all at once since the end relies heavily on all the upcoming components. I'll do my very best and pray it comes out half as good as I think it will. But that's up to me and the crazy feedback I'm getting from you, man! I can't thank you enough again and want to get this done so I can concentrate fully to your masterpiece. Loving this and my Steemit circle of friends! All the best, my bro!

If that's how you intended to write Jane, then it surely showed! Man, you really have a gift that most storytellers such as myself wish we had. Doug is a great supporting character for Drucker, and I could see how he's a necessity in Druck's life.

Oh, and I heard that this modern classic is being turned into an audiobook?! Suffice to say that I'm supremely excited for that! I know in my heart that you're going to finish out strong! I can't wait to see how this epic unfolds, it'll surely be bittersweet. It's been great going on this journey with you. The ability to interact with the author as the story unfolds is truly an understated feature for Steemit fiction. I'm starting on Chapter 17 now. Bring it home, my brother!

Haven't commented for a while, as I can only say "Loving it" so many times. But just letting you know I'm still following along!

Hey @kiwideb! Much appreciated and thank you so much for commenting! Loving writing this book and hearing that kind of positivity from you is awesome. Bless... :)

You ARE following me...wait, you might have got here first, and to noname's first...I AM following you hahaha!! We have the same taste in a lot of things it would seem ;)

Yes, I think we do. Maybe we're sisters from another mother, even though we've only known each other a coupla weeks.

I think that's sista's from another mista' haha!

oh is that how they get round that? I'd only heard the brother version and incorrectly extrapolated...

Although I'm quite sure someone else came up with it, it popped in my mind without having heard it one day so essentially I made it up LOL

Pressure is building, it's great the guys have each other in this or it would probably be miserable on their end! Loving the brotherly love, and loving the story ;) Oh and it seems we have another mutual, awesome friend. @kiwideb is my girl ;) What did she call me today? Oh yes, a cheeky piccolo LOL

Hey, awesome @dreemit! Yep, they got a lot of history together. It's formed a strong brotherly bond between the two of them. Big reveal coming up in the next part. @kiwideb is very sweet, a real pleasure to have people like her on Steemit. We got a great little community going here! :)

He, man! Great chapter! Drucker is getting all the shit. Poor him. I'm glad he has an awesome partner in Doug. Together they make a strong team. Can't wait for the big chapter!

Hey, my bro! Thanks very much! Yeh, they are a solid team so the main problem being everyone else is against them, lol! Bless for the awesome comments, buddy!!

I have just discovered this now. I will have to read from the start. It looks interesting.

That's kool, @eroche! Thanks for the interest and great comments. Hope you like it! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.62 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks. I'm hoping that the situation changes soon, lol! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50